We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Bicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trip back in time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The reception staff were very welcoming, cheery and helpful. This is also true for the staff in the breakfast room. The girl behind the bar on arrival, couldn't even raise a smile and seemed quite disinterested in us being there. We therefore did not use the bar facilities again but instead went to the pub across the road were the welcome was friendly an cordial.

The room and the facilities therein was very good indeed.

I felt the outside ambiance of the hotel was spoiled by the very modern high visibility. Outside area in the front of the hotel. I felt it could have been more in keeping with the age and beauty of the hotel and the village.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    233
    106
    78
    48
See reviews for
113
494
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

did the equivalent of groupon deal with this hotel but booked direct . . stayed in stable block. thought £10 per day charge for dog excessive. found staff fine ,efficient and owner seemed friendly. breakfast was quality and room better than expected. very central for peak district. if you can get a deal - go for it . we will certainly return when the next offer is on

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexonfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff were pleasant, breakfast (vegetarian and meat) was good but the room was yet again what we have come to expect from groupon offers- tiny window overlooking a grey flat roof, high ceilings and blank walls. it was nice and clean but really depressing and claustrophobic . Fortunately we were not forced to be in it much, going up to the youth hostel for a drink and sitting in their lovely garden in the evening. If you are vegetarian, Hartington is not the place to eat. We ended up in the youth hostel which had at least one veggie option and it was nice.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 2. Tell them you don't want the room with the small window overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandorapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited the restaurant whilst on holiday in the area. The food was fantastic. Presentation matched the quality of the food. Staff were very attentive and friendly. I recommend this restaurant perfect for that special meal out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_K8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Driving around Derbyshire we came across the picturesque village of Hartington and after a walk around and buying cheese from The Cheese Shop decided to have a cream tea.
We sat outside this Hotel on a lovely summers day but found tables littered with cups etc.
The waitress was not polite and said 'OK - I'll bring it outside' not in a friendly way.
When the tray arrived the coffee was spilt in the saucer (no apology was made) and the coffee was not good and many dregs were in the bottom of the cup. The pot of tea and the delicious scones made up for the sullen attitude of the young waitress.
This is a lovely spot to sit and while away an hour whilst watching the tourists and walkers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Food is very high quality I have not found better for price. Really up and coming chef. Great flavours look and taste. Staff are great and attentive, I recommend this hotel as a place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAP893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely sunny day and we fancied a pub lunch.

No staff outside so went into cafe part of pub to find someone - approached bar area and was promptly ignored by a flustered and distracted member of staff. When she finally came back to see us, there was no smile, no hello and a distinct lack of enthusiasm to help us. After asking if we could have a table, we were then immediately asked what we wanted to order. We hadn't even been given any menus! We were then told there would be a wait as she was busy and she had things to see to first.

We sat down with our menus and decided on a ploughman's. Sounded great - local pork pie, huntsman cheese, fresh homemade crusty bread - £8.95. We ordered two.

After a wait, our food arrived. Enormous platter style plates - looked good from a distance! Up close and personal - a different story unfortunately.

Good things first: the small piece of pork pie was good quality and fresh - just not much of it. The piccalilli was homemade, tasty and fresh.

The bad: the cheese portion was extremely small and hadn't been kept cool so it was sweating and paste-like. There was one small mass produced pickled onion. There was a quarter of a small apple, cut into paper thin slices and fanned out to look bigger. There was a small pot of tropical style coleslaw which seemed to contain coconut (odd in something advertised as traditional!). Finally - and the worst of all - the bread was a small dry and dusty brown roll that tasted like cardboard - absolutely as far from homemade crusty bread as you can get.

We were very disappointed, to say the least, not only over the quality of service or the food, but also with the lack of respect from the chef, staff and establishment to produce good wholesome food with a smile. We were willing to pay a price leaning towards expensive for a good lunch and we got the opposite.

Such a shame that this pub didn't get something so simple right. We won't be back to try anything else on the menu .

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ooohsopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Property: Charles Cotton Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing