We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Even on a Sunday, Lile Bite menu available. Food well served and presented in lovely bar area and well behaved dogs welcomes under tables! The 6 mile walk had worked up a thirst and hunger well taken of in this lovely, large village pub. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judydyer, Owner at Charles Cotton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your response. It is most appreciated..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    236
    107
    79
    50
See reviews for
113
500
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful night at the Charles Cotton hotel on the Sunday stopover deal. Everything from the room to the service and good food was first class. Hartington has a mix of shops and is a good base with lots of lovely walks in picturesque countryside. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

From a warm welcome to the excellent cuisine and fine wine served by pleasant friendly staff to clean and very comfortable beds and plenty of hot water we thoroughly enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed one extra day and we fully intend to return to a fine hotel in a beautiful village

Room Tip: any superior room or suite very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room No 7 Manifold was spacious - the bed was huge ! Bathroom lovely - only criticism - no shower only a bath with hand held shower attachment. Breakfast - excellent again both choices of veggie and full English. minor point - would prefer pot of coffee left on the table rather than waiting for waitress to top up. All the staff helpful and smiley - we will be back ! All in all fabulous nights away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our reason for being in Hartington was the annual Ashbourne Shrovetide Football Gamel This isonly a busride away and the Cotton provides a welcming return Our room for three adults was spotlessly clean and comfortable The breakfasts were superb And we enjoyed the battered haddock one evening All the staff were keen to make us comfortable Ray

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was a return visit to the hotel and once again it did not disappoint.
Great food, a welcoming bar with log fire and a perfect village setting made it an ideal base for walking and exploring the beautiful countryside. Judy and Alan were great hosts and the live music night proved an added bonus to complete an perfect weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Second time at this lovely hotel on 16 Feb. We stayed on a Valentine's break. Meal £25 each and B&B £60 for the room which was a superior one. We enjoyed locally brewed beers in the bar - lovely ambience - nice to see dogs in there two lovely working collies. The evening meal served in the beautiful dining room later was truly excellent - scallops for hubby (small supplement), ravioli for me as starters, then lamb rump (which was the best lamb I have ever had) and the ribeye steak my husband had was also delicious. For pudding it was battle of the brulees ! Baileys for him and cappuchino for me which was an art form served in a coffee cup with froth on top of a perfect caramel layer with two amaretti biscuits. We also had an Italian rose pinot grigio which we enjoyed - not too sweet. The room No 7 Manifold was spacious - the bed huuuge ! Bathroom lovely - only weeny criticism - no shower only a bath with hand held shower attachment. Breakfast next day - excellent again both choices of veggie and full English. minor point - would prefer pot of coffee left on the table rather than waiting for waitress to top up. All the staff helpful and smiley - we will be back ! All in all a fabulous night away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAnne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Property: Charles Cotton Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing