We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Aldridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our second 2 night stay in the hotel and as always it was wonderful. We stay in the romantic sweet which is of large size and very nicely decorated. The view from the room goes onto the village market place and you can see peaks behind that so it makes it that little more lovely.

The meals at night are superb and well cooked. I again enjoyed the steak which is well presented and the bar area is great if you feel like an afternoon drink or indeed a night cap. In winter it is fab as the open fire is always burning.

The breakfast in the morning is large and tasty.

I will look forward to staying again at some point in the future as Hartington itself has stolen our hearts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    237
    107
    79
    50
See reviews for
113
503
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Charles Cotton on Friday 18th January. The weather outside was very wintry, but the welcome inside was warm. Judy and Alan are very good hosts. We had lamb for dinner which was delicious and, although there were not many guests in the hotel that night, we had a lovely time chatting and having a drink. Our room and bed were extremely comfortable and looking out at the winter wonderland at the front of the hotel was truly majical.

On Friday 8th February we took a friend for dinner which again was delicious. However, that night there was an entertainer and we had a good old knees up, everyone joining in with the party atmosphere. A group of girls and ladies who were on a hen night turned up for the last hour and we had great fun.

Would recommend the Charles Cotton to anyone who enjoys fine dining in a lovely old Inn with entertainment thrown in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a realy lovely place with so much to offer. We enjoyed another lovely welcome from Judy and Alan (who seemed so pleased to be able to show us all the improvements since out last visit!). We had a wonderful evening meal, our room (4) had the best and most comfortable bed ever! We enjoyed it all, the food, the atmoshere in the bar and round the fire, the lovely restaurant and food. Breakfast was gorgeous too. Judy went beyond the norm in answering our questions and even managed to juggle lots of new arrivals all at the same time! I love this place, real get away, cosy and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suericks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had booked the 'Sunday Night Stop Over Package' in this hotel for my husbands 28th Birthday present (today).


• Welcome glass of Prosecco on arrival
• Afternoon tea in Charlies
• 3 Course Sunday dinner
• Full Derbyshire Breakfast
• Late checkout Monday (midday)


I had to ring the hotel for the confirmation of the booking a week before we were due to arrive as I still hadn't received this. upon arrival around 14:00pm (check in at 15:00pm) I was met by a rather rude lady on reception and was told that the room was ready so could we go for a walk/ get a drink in the bar, we settled for the second option as we had already been for a walk as we had a our dog with us. At 15:10pm I then went back to reception to check in to be told it might not still be ready let me go ask the cleaner, it turned out it was ready, the room was nice enough and was comfortable for the one night.

I had to ask what time we could have afternoon tea, we waited until we checked in and then had it, it was a Bramwell tart and a cup of tea which was nice (but not like the afternoon tea I'm used a small selection of Sandwiches and Cakes etc).I asked about the glass of Processco to which the waiter on the bar said that it would be served with dinner. We took a bottle of champagne with us to celebrate my husbands Birthday and asked for a Ice bucket and Champagne Glasses to which again the waiter was happy to oblige however the rude lady re-appeared and said there would be a surcharge I was a little shocked as every other hotel including those far grander at £300 per night are perfectly happy to provide for free, My husband asked how much the surcharge would be, to which he didn't receive a response, so asked again rather embarrassingly in front of a number of people, she finally decided on £3 which is quite frankly pathetic!!! we agreed we would pay it,

However when it came to dinner at 19:30pm we choose our options which were delicious compliments to to the chef but were told by the waiter that the manager said apologies but the Processco is not part of the deal and just hasn't yet been taken off the website yet disgusting! we tipped £5 because the rest of the staff were very helpful and the food was lovely and we made sure that only those on the bar got the tip and not the rude woman on reception. This morning we were greeted by a delightful lady who had reserved and set our table, it turns out she was the chef and her breakfast was scrumptious 5 Stars for that :) we tipped her £3.00, the other manager a gentleman arrived and he was jolly as soon as Judy appeared (seems she has a lot of complains about her on here perhaps it's time for a change of career!) the bar went cold. We then went for a walk with our dog and came back to check out, Judy was at the desk and didn't ask if we had a nice time during our stay just said that the guy on the bar has the bill, I asked for an itemised bill and sure enough there was a £3.00 surcharge on the tab!

By the way the rude woman Judy = The Manager such a shame!!! and no we won't be going back unless there is a change of management.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank designerangel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judydyer, Owner at Charles Cotton Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Daniella. Having studied your review I am responding to your comments re your Sunday £99 stopover with us . Firstly you mentioned not receiving your confirmation. Confirmations are usually sent out closely after booking with details of check in etc. You mentioned you checked in at 14.00 and was explained that your room was ready (did you mean Not ready) As you clearly stated check is at 15.00 as is stated on our confirmations, which gives us ample time to turn rooms around after our very busy weekend guests have checked out. Rude is what we are not at the Charles Cotton as it wouldn't really be in our interests and if you check out previous comments that is far removed from your perception. Our tea and cake are served after check in after our very busy Sunday lunches when the bar/bistro is a little more tranquil. Re your afternoon tea you stated that you waited until you had checked in, did you expect to have it before (not sure) (we normally serve it between 3 &5) and the bramwell tart was a Bakewell tart from Bakewell from the authentic famous Bakewell pudding shop and is a top quality product as is all our produce, no complaints have been received before! Also this is complimentary.
You also blatantly said you had brought your own champagne to the hotel and asked for a champagne bucket ice and champagne glasses to drink it from and complained that a small charge to cover this shocked you. My surprise is that we are a licensed business and could have charged you corkage and chose not to. I was more embarrassed that you asked me in front of all my other guests and was trying to save face for you.. You put my staff in a compromising situation. All our other guests that evening said what an amazing place it was and what a fantastic deal it was.. .You used the word disgusting re the prosecco.. Not sure on that one..
YOu keep mentioning tipping the staff yet all our staff tips go in the same pot for the staff and not to this Rude lady you keep referring to 3 times in all and even on Christian name terms. All in all we run a lovely establishment and thankfully have returning guests time after time who really appreciate the personal touches we offer. What a pity that you stormed out clutching your receipt without experiencing our genial hospitality.. Perhaps you would let us know which your £300 a night hotel was that provides free champagne ice buckets and glasses so we can check them out. In conclusion there will not be a change of management as the gentleman who lit the fire is my partner and we own the Charles Cotton and aim to do so for some time yet. In conclusion glad that you enjoyed your breakfast which was especially set up in the bar so you could eat with your dog. Yours sincerely Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed here for one night midweek to have a break from all our wedding planning, We were warmly welcomed by Judy and her staff.
We stayed in room 11 at the top of the hotel which has a 4 poster bed. The room was lovely and warm with a bath big enough for 2.

The Food was fantastic. We both had rare steaks and they were done to perfection.
We will definitely be booking a few nights later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggermadbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We arrived at the Charles Cotton on Christmas Eve, after a long journey from Australia. From the helpful correspondence we had already received from Judy and Alan, our expectations were very high. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we had amazing hospitality, food and service. All the staff are extremely professional and the food is equal to the best restaurants in Sydney. The room was clean and beautifully presented. Our only disappointment was that we could only stay for 4 nights. Hartington is a pretty village with a long history of cheese making, we particularly liked the Old Cheese Shop with it's extensive collection of local and British cheeses.
I would highly recommend the Charles Cotton to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life. We can't wait to go back.
Thank you
Emma & Colin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Booking as late as we did, we were very glad to find accommodation for two of us and our 4-year old at all. So it was a delight to be warmly welcomed and to find such comfort inside this building that had for some years only been known to us by its facade. It had been a long working day, and the comfortable ambience of the lounge/bar area was an effective antidote. My gratitude to the proprietors who indulged the resulting (non-alcoholic!) somnolence even after all others had gone. No question but that the Charles Cotton is on our list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughA-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
161 reviews
8.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Property: Charles Cotton Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing