We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We called in on spec after completing a lovely walk. The staff were very helpful.
We arrived at 3.30 and had Sunday lunch, which was first class. The food was really good, and great value for money.
The bar was most welcoming with a log fire, and a great atmosphere.
Will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Engadin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
There are newer reviews for Charles Cotton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 907 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was the 2nd time we'd stayed. We booked the Dovedale suite, their premier room, which was lovely, lots of room, decorated well and warm.
Shame there wasn't a shower but it's on their plan to do.
Pretty good vfm,
Food and service is excellent.

Room Tip: If you like a shower, check beforehand as not all room have one.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a two night stay at the Carles Cotton hotel which is set in the centre of the village. The hotel was welcoming, comfortable and beautifully decorated and the staff gave us a warm welcome when we arrived.The room was clean and comfortable not huge but adequate and nicely decorated with a view over the village square.
The bar and restuarant were very nice and the food was superb with a good menu choice. The bar had a good selection of beers and an impressive range of whisky. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back and would definatly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineanneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked the hotel at short notice after doing the usual search for hotel and the usual homework!
Helen assured me that the hotel and meal would be suitable for my partners Birthday treat.
She was right,we were very impressed with the whole package.
If you do stay i would suggest that you dine here too as the meal we had was very good and the service etc enough to make it special.
Afterwards at the bar area you have a lively pub type atmosphere.
I had the beer sample tray which is a great way to taste 3 beers for the price of a single pint-other pub owners take note?
We shall be going back!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the barn conversion
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcorsica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here a few times now , each time gets better, good food , beer, rooms and staff, judy and Alan make you feel very welcome , in this top class place.would definitely recommend .the cheese shop is the place to go , walks and bike routes on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughesy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an outstandingly good hotel in a great location.....it was excellent when I first stayed there forty years ago and the standard then has survived through upgrading and other changes but the welcome is the same now as then. It can be recommended wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Nothing useful to add here. our room was easily reached
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great Place to stay, Very beautiful scenery and location ! We took an amazing walk recommended by the staff (wellies Needed). The pub area and restaurant was very nice, the food was great,and we ate some lovely game dishes, and good local beer. overall a very pleasant stay, we will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
8.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.6 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
410 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range: $97 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing