We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here with friends for a weekend recently and we were all very impressed. The welcome we received was great and both rooms were clean and furnished to a high standard. Breakfast was great and we, as veggies, were very well catered for. I would highly recommend this B and B and we are sure to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for making such positive comments about your stay at The Hayloft.
We enjoyed having you to stay, you and your friends and would welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very little to say, other than to agree with all the glowing comments made by recent contributors. This is an first class B&B which we've only "downgraded" to 4 stars for value because "Excellent" value for the visitor probably means the owner is undercharging, and we reckon Jane has got her prices spot-on! The off-street parking and the proximity to the village centre (and the Devonshire Arms) is a big plus as several of the other Hartington B&Bs are actually some way out of the village. We did notice the noise from the power shower in our top floor bedroom, but it certainly didn't bother us, and we'd happily recommend the Hayloft to any of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks to you both for a lovely review of The Hayloft. We do find that our guests enjoy the benefits of our location and parking etc. Your recommendation is appreciated, you were both interesting and enjoyable guests to have to stay and if you are ever in Derbyshire again.....remember us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We would highly recommend the Hayloft as an ideal B&B for exploring the Dove and Manifold Valleys. Quiet, friendly - Jane made us very welcome - and within walking distance of pubs, shops and tea rooms.With plenty of parking space to leave the car, we enjoyed a lovely, relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyr_and_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation we are glad you had a relaxing stay. The Hayloft and Hartington is a good base for walking /cycling / touring etc. Many thanks and we will give you a warm welcome if you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Booked into upstairs room and arrived early to see if we could park our car at the B&B , do a short walk and then check in at the agreed 4 PM. No problem parking and Jane gave us the key to our new room ( Shippon ) on the ground floor as our original room had a problem with the shower. The room was excellent - large king sized bed , modern wet room type shower, and very quiet.
Jane was very friendly and made us very welcome. Breakfast was at 8.30 ( although it may be possible to negotiate an earlier or later time ) . Cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt, full cooked breakfast, toast and tea/coffee were as good as we had come across although the option of porridge would have been nice.
Hartington is a really nice little place to stop with The Devonshire Arms pub close by for evening meals.

Room Tip: Ask Jane about the wi-fi access ( which we didn't ) - it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay for your walking holiday. I have noted your comments for future guests. Please remember The Hayloft with it's thick stone walls does sometimes struggle with the wi fi connection. Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our upstairs room was very comfortable and well furnished. The bathroom and the breakfast were excellent and the location was ideal for our needs. There was somewhere to store our bikes. But there was a problem - in our room, at least - the noise from the hot water boiler, above our heads, which wheezed and whined (and woke me up) every time anyone ran a hot tap anywhere in the building! - which was intermittently until 2am, and again from 7. Please get a silent hot water system, so people can sleep! (Maybe this has been addressed since our stay, which was way back in October 2012.)

Room Tip: Take a downstairs room, to avoid the noise from that boiler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeThePedant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Many thanks Mike for your review, with your many positive comments. However I am puzzled if there was a problem with your stay it was not mentioned at the time. We do always ask on checkout and before, rather than you waiting 20 months to post a review. Many guests have stayed in and requested that room with no issues. The central heating boiler does not run through the night. We do have a pump to provide a (power) shower, however this is always turned off at bed time. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay fully and hope this answers your question. We do hope that all guests enjoy their stay and inform us of any issues at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I took a journey back in time to where I was brought up, from primary school to the army.
What a terrific experience! All my friends and villagers remembered me, people I hadn't
seen in almost 50 years. My wife Lynn loved every minute as well. The Hayloft is a superb
B&B, and even though John and Jane were very busy with the lambing season, they still
found time to make our stay memorable. This is the first place that has ever defeated me
at breakfast, I just couldn't manage to eat it all, a wonderful, wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayFearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much Ray and Lynn for writing such a lovely review of The Hayloft and Hartington itself. It was good that you relived old memories with your friends. We are glad you you enjoyed your stay and our breakfasts. Don't leave it so long to visit Hartington next time (50 years)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding in Hartington and the Hayloft was recommended. A working from in a lovely setting. The room was perfect, comfortable and with all the animal noises adding to the stay.
The room was well equipped and the bed was quite comfortable. Great shower. The breakfast was a full English if that what was required. We were made to feel very welcome by Jane with lots of recommendations within the village worth following up. A great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Hayloft. It is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay with us while you attended a local wedding. It is especially nice to hear you enjoyed staying on a working farm. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.1 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sennilow Farm | Church Street, Nr. Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 OAW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing