We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming B&B with good facilities in a perfect location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A welcoming B&B with good facilities in a perfect location.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a super stay here, in this beautifully converted building. The Stable Room was a good size with all the facilities we needed, including scones on our first day. Jane was friendly and welcoming and full of information about the area, which helped us plan our days. The breakfasts are a real treat - with plenty of choice and use of local products. There is just a short walk to the pretty village centre and the Devonshire Arms, which we also thoroughly recommend, for food and drink. The countryside is, of course, stunning and the Hayloft is ideally placed for walking and sightseeing. We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Trish
Thank you for your all round lovely review of The Hayloft. We are very well situated for the village and all it has to offer, so glad you enjoyed everything. We look forward to having you to stay another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The B&B is a working farm and situated in a lovely village with restaurants at the local pub and hotel (5 mins stroll) and fabulous walking on the Tissington Trail and High Peak Trail. From the welcome we received on arrival from Jane, the owner, to our day of departure, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was very good with lots of variety where Jane was ably assisted by Rachel who made us feel very much at home. We stayed in 'The Shepherd's Rest', a room that was comfortable, very clean with views of the village.
Being a working farm and in the lambing season, Jane had felt it necessary to advise us in advance that there could be some activity on the farm. Well all I can say is that although they did work through the night delivering lambs we never heard any noise. What we did have in the morning, however, was the opportunity to see lambs that had just been born and that was very special.
We booked this B&B because we wanted somewhere a little off 'the beaten track' but in a nice village, where we would be looked after and this was perfect. We plan to return later in the year but alas there will not be any lambs in November.

Room Tip: I can recommend The Shepherd's Rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks Bruce for your lovely review which is encouraging for us all at The Hayloft.
You did visit at a very busy time on the farm which you clearly enjoyed.Hartington is indeed an ideal village for exploring the area, with good pubs close by.Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottm
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We would definitely recommend staying here. Very clean, lovely original features and well decorated. Fantastic breakfast and very friendly owner. Really short walk to local pubs where you can get a tasty evening meal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Mark
Thank you for your recommendation and comments,we do try our best. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Nicely decorated and spotlessly clean accommodation. Jane very friendly and helpful. Only negative was noise from room upstairs due to wooden floors - very little sound insulation. Other than that a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthiePoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Very pleased with your positive comments about your stay recently at The Hayloft.We do have sound insulation as per building regulations, however I suspect it could be more to do with inconsiderate guest(s) returning back from a local wedding.Thank you for your comments, they will be considered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just spent two lovely days here, beautiful room (Hayloft room),superb breakfast, a warm welcoming host and all smack bang in the middle of the village - a 45 second stroll from the village pub,couldnt have asked for anything better! Will definitely be back here for another weekend break,highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay and found that we were well situated for local amenities. Our locally produced sausages have just won another award (gold this time ), so we are glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and welcome. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very difficult to find any negative's - Almost perfect position just off the main square within 1 minutes walk of the Devonshire Arms (Evening Meal) The room was clean well appointed with a cottage style, homely feel. The bedding was fresh the mattress firm, would have preferred a bath to the shower to soak away's the days walking aches but there was acres of hot water at a decent pressure; the TV was also of a decent quality and the price about right.

Jane the host was helpfulness itself, she provided a prestigious and well cooked breakfast along with a wealth of local information. The food at the Devonshire was excellent, the surroundings were not that enticing and were a little dated, ultimately that should not put you off as the food was so good, although I would recommend pre-booking if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your super review after your walking holiday. We were very pleased that you found our facilities to your liking and that we were in a quiet but central village location. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent a weekend here with some friends earlier this month. It's a lovely place with very comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfasts. Jane was lovely - very helpful and welcoming. Hartington is a great place with loads of walks to do locally. We had two great evenings out - one at the Devonshire Arms in the village and the other at Carriages in nearby Newhaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a super review, it was our pleasure to have you to stay with us and have a relaxing break. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast , our locally produced sausages are not only delicious but award winning as well! Hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.1 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sennilow Farm | Church Street, Nr. Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 OAW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing