We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Bank Top Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bank Top Farm B&B
Ranked #7 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Jane made us very welcome. We loved the 'olde worlde' feel of this lovely farmhouse. The room was spacious, the bed really comfortable, and although the bathroom, could do with a bit of an update, it did the job. Breakfast was a real treat and set us up for another day's walking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Bank Top Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had booked this B&B using a Marks and Spencer experience voucher so had expected a good standard. Sadly it was a huge disappointment. Room was very dusty, bin not emptied, dead flies on window sill, dead woodlouse on carpet, live spiders aplenty (the only creature lucky enough to have survived). The window in our room wouldn't open so asked to move but was basically told no. Such a shame as all it really needs is a little updating and a really good clean. Would not recommend this B&B or M&S gift experience vouchers because of this. A gift it certainly is not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Called into the farmyard for fresh scones and tea on August Bank holiday Monday. There were no prices displayed at all, you just asked for what you wanted and the friendly owner obliged. The scones were baked fresh from the Aga and the tea was real tea; however when we came to pay the bill and found that a pot of tea for two, two glasses of lemonade, three scones with cream and jam and one portion of chocolate cake came to £25, I nearly fell through the floor. We probably will go back but try and negotiate the price before we order!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Pinin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After walking 13 miles with friends we arrived at Bank top Farm to the warmest ever welcome. Log fire blazing in visitors lounge pot of tea provided,and later by a blazing fire in the dining room we ate the most delicious roast lamb dinner.Next morning the breakfast was just as good which set us up for another 10 miles walking.Every thing about this farm has an old world charm,with hosts attending to your every need,would HIGHLY recommend to anyone who appreciates a quality old fashioned service.

The Two Helens John and Roger Nottingham

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walking13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a one night stay this week and was disappointed to say the least. We arived at 4pm and the place was freezing. No heat on anywhere. We were shown the bedroom which looked like it had not seen a duster for months. All the furniture was old and very badly worn. We had asked for an evening meal (left 2 messages) but nothing was provided. Had a good meal at the Jug & Glass. When we got up in the morning, still no heating!! Went to look for the hairdrier and the owner who had been away the day before, did not know we were there!!. The day was saved by a really good breakfast. We usually ignore negative comments if they are a one off, but this needed a mention - sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a lovely weekend stay at Bank Top Farm as a much needed escape from city living. Between our family we stayed in the whole house which felt like a real home from home. Jane and her family were excellent hosts who welcomed us with delicious homecooked meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Perfect farmhouse setting with locally sourced produce which I would highly recommend for a countryside break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth_E_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Read a review recently and called this morning. The warmest welcome and the fresh scones fresh from the Aga simply the best I have ever tasted. Extremely good value and worth the trip. Well off the beaten track. Will be back to try out the cooked food. Just lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
1.9 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
907 reviews
3.1 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
410 reviews
12.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
935 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Top Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Top Farm B&B

Address: Bank Top Farm Pilsbury Road | Hartington, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank Top Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful farmhouse, built in 1859 and laiden with character. The grand en-suite bedrooms accompanied by a home cooked farmhouse breakfast provide a homely and comfortable holiday for all. Children are very welcome and there is a family room available. A guests lounge with television, DVD, Video facilities and a wood burning fire for those chilly evenings. The farmhouse also provide freshly baked scones and cream teas, and will provide lunches, dinners and packed lunches on request. This B&B is set in the magnificent Peak District, and just half a mile from the quaint village of Hartington. It is ideal for exploring the Peak District, visiting Chatsworth, the towns of Ashbourne and Buxton, walking in the Peaks, and it is also close to Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bank Top Farm B&B Hartington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing