We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire Arms

Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hartington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great welcome, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

As the title says... Highly recommended. Go there when you're hungry! The portions were good and everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. I'd go back next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    172
    37
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Friendly traditional local, good value lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We lunched here after a wet morning's walking with the dog. Friendly staff welcomed us in the side bar with a tiled floor, no problems.

Customers were a lively mix of walkers and locals, there was a choice of 3 real ales and main course lunches were around £10. Although a bit pricey, this is the norm for a tourist trap village in the Peak District, and it was justified by the quantity and taste of the food (not always the case in other pubs)

A really good lunch stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wide choice and presented skillfully. Very much worth a visit. Meals looked and tasted great. Service very good too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely bar for a swift drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped off at the bar for a quick drink before supper. There was a lovely roaring fire, perfect!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fionips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pub Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've eaten here several times and never been disappointed. Excellent food with a good menu choice (you might have to choose between starter or pudding!!).
A true English pub set in a lovely village, A roaring fire greets you on a chilly day.
Hearty portions with a good beer selection. Friendly staff and always a warm welcome from "Mine Host" David

You're best to book and our recommendation is book a table in the lounge bar. The larger back room doesn't have the atmosphere unless in a large party.

If we lived nearer we'd be there more often!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scuba_diver100uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonshire Arms also viewed

Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing