We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”
Review of Devonshire Arms

Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hartington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had the steak and ale pie which was really very good .We shared the cheese board as the amount of cheese was to much for one person, this is served with a good glass of port.
We enjoyed the meal so much we booked again for the next evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    178
    39
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pub Grub and Atmosphere at its best”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lunch - Wide ranging menu for every palate and pocket, taste and quantity excellent. Attentive and helpful landlord and service, in pleasant village pub environment. We shall recommend and return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoraJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
186 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Generous portions of homecooked food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A traditional country pub in a pretty village which is a good base for walks in the surrounding countryside. The home made lamb & venison casseroles that my wife & I had were both very good and served in generous portions. Service was friendly & prompt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank André l'Anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good menu selection, reasonable quality”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a comfy pub, with the somewhat upmarket grub that is becoming the norm, done competently but on my visit no more than that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have lunch here while visiting Hartington and what a great choice We were given a warm welcome after finding a table We both went for the Sunday roast - I had the beef and my partner the pork Both plates were pretty full with the vegetables in a separate dish and proved to be very tasty I forced myself to have a pudding of treacle tart and custard which was also very good The service throughout was friendly and at just over £30 including drinks good value

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonshire Arms also viewed

Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Monyash, Derbyshire
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing