We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards Maintained”
Review of Devonshire Arms

Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hartington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Standards Maintained”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a gap of some months we returned to the same friendly welcome to savour a lunchtime ploughmans in the lounge bar. We were lucky to get a table and the food was of the same standard as before. If I were to be hyper critical, menu does not seem to change - will not bother you if you seek good pub grub - and this time no specials on the board.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    188
    40
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Near High Wycombe/Marlow
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice first night meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great choice, friendly atmosphere, good wi-fi connection (important to know in this area) - puds looked great but sadly we were too full to sample.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Wooburn-Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Food shame about the dog”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First time we visited we enjoyed Lovely food in a lovely cosy atmosphere. Second time a different story. Because they were busy we were giving seats in Bar area which was fine that is untill they allowed a couple bring their wet smelly dog in. We had not ordered our food so decided to leave. They lost a family of five and gained a couple, a dog and a bad review. In Ireland if we eat with animals its called a picnic. When we go out to dinner and pay hotel prices in a pub we expect a lot better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaudieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Somethings changed”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My partner and I visited here several times whilst holidaying in the area in 2012. We loved the area so much we decided to holiday in the area again and were looking forward to some fantastic pub food.

At first aesthetically nothing had changed, the cosy atmosphere and the bar were unchanged and we thought it will be as good as before. Sadly we were wrong, we were taken to the dining room which was cold and uninviting with people smoking E-Cigarettes. These may not cause health problems for me but I felt extremely uneasy and this carried through the whole meal.

The food was OK, but whereas we had home cooked style meals with tonnes of flavour and local ingredients we got the Gastro Pub favourites which didn't taste or feel the same.

We were gutted to say the least.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celtic_K8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely village pub!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Lovely village pub with friendly and welcoming staff, fantastic high quality food and good ale! highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ukred_sox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonshire Arms also viewed

Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Monyash, Derbyshire
 
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing