We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire Arms

Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hartington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had excellent quality food and drinks at the Devonshire Arms. The landlord was extremely friendly and welcoming. There is a good selection of well above average pub food at very reasonable prices. Also a great selection of well kept real ales and good quality wines. The pub has a great atmosphere and is well worth a visit. Booking a table would be recommended at busy times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jal13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    172
    37
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one.....!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Devonshire Arms, really impressed. I had the lamb shank in mint gravy, wow! Succulent, tasty, good sized portion and just fell apart; little uncouth I could not resist the chips which were cooked to perfection, crispy, tasty and a great sized portion. So full afterwards I could not face one of their puddings which looked great too! My wife ordered the Devonshire Chicken, again great sized portion really tasty with leek and blue cheese sauce! My wife had a little more class than I and ordered mash potato and side veg, which comprised carrot, red cabbage and mange-tout! Couldn't quite finish her plate there was that much! With large glass of wine and two Pedigree beers came to £43 so great value too! Just need to watch the food availability times, weekdays 6 to 8.30 and weekends 6 to 8. Well worth though! Don't miss this one out if local!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a pint and ended up having a fantastic meal and wine. The staff are fabulous and obviously well used to being busy even during the mid week. If you are in the area then this is well worth a visit. Best advice is to book in advance to avoid disappointment or be at the door at 6pm! Brilliant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome and dog friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were made very welcome by the friendly landlord who directed us to the bar as we had a dog.
The bar had a fire and was very cosy and our meal was excellent. The landlord gave us lots of local information which was useful as we intended walking in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly landlord , Cramped table”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were greeted warmly by the landlord as we had booked a table. Unfortunately the table we were given was very small and very close to the table beside it, and as the lady on that table was leaning back in her chair, her head was overhanging our table which made it a rather unpleasant experience in which otherwise is a nice establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonshire Arms also viewed

Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing