We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for family trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dethick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Ranked #1 of 1 Dethick B&B and Inns
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location for family trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We needed a stopover on way to and from a family wedding in Leeds and chose this via Alastair Sawday's guide to B&Bs. Booked all but 1 room for a combination of generations, including 86-year old great grandma, newlywed couple, going-on 16 teenager and 5 year old skallywag! Very off-the-beaten-track location with extremely pretty and well-appointed rooms. A warm welcome to die for (including refreshing cup of tea and most delicious lemon drizzle cake) and the best choice of breakfast enjoyed in a kong time. It was a real shame that we could not enjoy the place as much as we would have liked, but we'll definitely be going back to relax and explore. Many thanks to Gilly and Simon for creating such a lovely haven and for taking the strain out of a potential stressful trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The room (Hayloft 2) was large, en-suite and clean. Bedding and furnishings were good. A tea tray with biscuits etc., and a kettle were provided.

Bathroom had a toilet and good quality shower with plenty of hot water. There was a temperature control on the shower which could be overridden if you really liked it hot!. Plenty of towels and bathroom accessories were provided.

Food was excellent and freshly cooked to order at breakfast - with several choices.

The hosts, Gilly and Simon Groom were very knowledgable about the area and were very helpful with directions to local attractions.

The house is very old and listed as Grade 2 and has history!.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed here with our 7 year old daughter. We were welcomed by Gilly with tea and cakes! Went to the local pub in Lea (The Jug and Glass) via the woodland walk from the farm. Took about 10 mins, quite steep in places and a good few steps to walk up and down. Good food and good prices.

BreaKfast was lovely in the grand kitchen lots of choices.

They treat you like one of the family.

We all loved it and hope to go back for a longer visit this summer for my husbands 40th birthday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were referred here by Gilly's friend and neighbor, Joyce, because Hearthstone Farm was booked. It might have been our second choice, but it isn't second-rate. We had a huge room with an adjoining sitting room. It's very quiet. There is a pub and restaurant (http://jugandglasslea.co.uk/) in Lea that is withing crawling distance. Across the pasture, a couple stiles, through the woods, across a bridge, right turn and a couple doors down. Maybe ten minutes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

A lovely weekend here. Great location, quiet, with superb walks on the doorstep.

Manor Farmhouse is beautful inside and out and Gilly could not be a better host. Nothing too much trouble. We''ll be back!

Room Tip: Hayloft room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at Manor Farm for Easter 2011. We received a very warm welcome and were delighted with our beautiful en-suite room. The house is in the most glorious location and great for exploring the Peaks. Extremely helpful and friendly owners, Gilly and Simon made us feel very welcome. Gilly's breakfasts are absolutely superb and enjoyed in the most beautiful room. Gilly made some excellent recommendations for dinner and walks. We felt this was incredible value for an absolutely 5* B&B. Beautiful - we cannot wait to book again. We would thoroughly recommend Manor Farm.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a absolute gem and we can't wait to stay again. We stayed in one of the hayloft rooms which was both huge and cosy I was initially disappointed about a lack of bath but overall the bathroom was lovely. Gilly had left a bottle of wine in our room which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was fantastic - roasted tomatoes on toast (delicious!) and smoked haddock with poached egg as well as the usual farmhouse cooked breakfast etc. It's superb value for money and if you are looking for a romantic place in the heart of the Peak District highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dethick
2.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Farmhouse Dethick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Farmhouse Dethick

Property: The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Address: Nr Matlock, Dethick, Matlock DE4 5GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Dethick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dethick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and historic Tudor farmhouse. Once the home of Anthony Babington, whose love for Mary Queen of Scots cost them both their heads. Wonderful views in peaceful tranquil location 20 mins from the M1. Close to Chatsworth & many popular visitor attractions. 4 lovely bedrooms, all en-suite, all with big comfy beds, 1 twin. Delicious breakfasts, all diets catered for and served in original Elizabethan kitchen. Friendly hosts, offering caring, superb service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing