We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting palace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palace of Godollo

Royal Palace of Godollo
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.75*
and up
Sisi Tour from Budapest
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Godollo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We live in Vienna and are bombarded with the Austrian interpretation of the Habsburg empire, so it was very interesting to visit this palace and glimpse the Hungarian perspective. I was also intrigued by the room that discusses the palace in modern times, and especially the bit about how it was used as a Soviet military installation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    121
    37
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As good as baroque palaces get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Cafe is fine, cakes and coffee excellent; garden recently renovated, very large, but the museum itself is wonderful. 20 years ago it housed Soviet troops, now it is in fine condition, with many examples of period art and costume.
Plenty of regular events, particularly good at Xmas for craft fairs, drinks, and music.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nicely restored but not really spectacular visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to Budapest (less than an hour) Overall a nicely restored castle highlighting, of course, the history of the wife of Franz Joseph I, Empress of Austria and Queen of Hungary, Elisabeth of Austria better known as “Sissy”

It’s a pity that there are so few authentic objects exposed in the castle. As I said, the buildings are nicely restored (though not exceptionally good) but the waves of lootings since the end of the Second World War left it in decay and emptied of its content. After 1945 the palace, like many other buildings in Hungary, fell into decay. Soviet and Hungarian troops used the building, some of the rooms were used as an old people's home, the park was divided into smaller plots of land. The damage and neglect were repaired but the palace lacks authentic content.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peetersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Doing a great job with the renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I went for a walk on my own there earlier today. You can enter the rear gardens for free by just walking straight though the main entrance hall. It was a beautiful sunny day and I spent 2 hours there just sitting in or walking around the garden. They have a small garden centre in the gardens which I believe was previously used to grown palms. Nice little cafe and toilets can all be accessed for free. In general, the entrance prices to the exhibits were broken down with additional payments to see different things. Each one on their own wasn't so high but when you factor in all the 'attractions', it could work rather more than you planned, so my advice would be to check out the prices before you commit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went in that place 18 years ago, it was almost ruins. The refurbishing is succesfull, the place is Nice, the atmosphèere of Sissi is présent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Attila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace of Godollo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Royal Palace of Godollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing