We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food and nicest hotel owners”
Review of Akhavan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kerman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akhavan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kerman
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The brothers Akhavan are the nicest owners you will possibly meet in Iran. They can help you with what you and the wifi is working in the lobby. The rooms are well equipped and the beds are good. The door to the balcony is jammed, but that's no problem because my room faced a very busy street. Kerman is not so small anymore. The only downside is the bathroom, which is outdated. The douche was ok, but didn't look very well.
The food is served in the basement. If they change lighting it would be an huge improvement, the food although is probably the best you'll get in the city and the quirky waiter you serves very nicely. The lobby is nice way to sit down and relax after your diner and you'll be served tea, coffee and the nicest cookies you'll taste. It is also full of placates from their travels to Mekka, where they help in the hotel for Iranian guests there as well. The oldest has already been there 10 times.
So, if you're in Kerman be sure to check in here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank math1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after failing to find a decent cheapr option that wasn't full. We paid 600,000 R for a decent if not modern ensuite twin room including breakfast.
The staff were fairly friendly and welcoming and the wifi works at least in reception.

They can arrange day trips to Mahan, Rayan and Kaluts which seemed quite reasonably priced. They told us they couldn't orangise an overnight camping trip to Kaluts so we organised it with someone else only to be later told that they could have organised cheaper (why didn't they say so at the start!).

The location of the hotel is quite inconvenient and you will need a taxi to reach the bazaar It is however quiet at night.

The food at Akhavan Hotel was very good and they had some non-kebab options if you are looking for variety (meal for 2 including drinks 160,000 R or 200,000 R when we had the buffet which they offer when a group is staying there). The breakfast is also excellent nd theyhave coffee. They also srve it early which is good if you want to make an early start.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the owner and this friendly atmosphere was present throughout our 2 night stay. The rooms are a bit dated, but they are large and airy. Our bathroom leaked but this wasn't really uncommon during our travel through Iran. There was no English language TV, but the wifi worked really well. The breakfast was very good. The room wasn't serviced which was a bit odd, but no real problem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel has a good restaurant and very good service. After all, Kerman is not on the crossroads of the modern world. The rooms and furniture are tired, and so, certainly, is the plumbing. There is a PC at the reception that you can use for Internet: just ask. Wifi did not work. The hotel is very safe: my roomlock jammed when I was inside, and it took the staff 20 minutes to get me out! I was not pleased, as this happened on the 2nd night, and I had warned the staff of the jamming lock several times.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanderva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a fairly new basic hotel, not much character but it's comfortable enough. Not a great location, but it seems to be the closest option to the great bazaar (one of the best in Iran). The owner is very helpful and can book a car and driver for you at a fair price (better than you could yourself probably).

The food in the restaurant was ok and there does not seem to be many other options in town as small town Iranians eat at home.

If the owner reads this: changing the lighting in the basement dining room would help a lot. Flooding with white fluorescent lighting does make not a pleasant environment! It feels like a hospital ward.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The Akhavan brothers have a warm and friendly welcome, the rooms and corridors are tastefully decorated (no bling), and the food in the restaurant is superb. No need to find a "traditional" restaurant, good Iranian food is on tap here. This was one of the best hotels we stayed in in Iran. Thouroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Our room was large. Cleanliness was hit or miss.
Beds were suitable for one nights stay, wouldn't want to sleep on them for many more nights. Fridge in room is handy for snacks we brought along.
Bathroom is one of those where when you take a shower the whole room is going to get soaked due to poor design and no shower curtain.
Bars on the windows are kind of a bummer, we didn't have that in any other hotels during our Iran trip.
Breakfast was orange "juice", eggs, flatbread and tea and coffee.
Internet (one terminal) was down while we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akhavan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akhavan Hotel

Address: Shahid Saddoghi Blvd, Kerman, Iran
Location: Iran > Kerman Province > Kerman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kerman
Hotel Class:4 star — Akhavan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing