We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodation, peaceful setting”
Review of Mousses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Marina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mousses
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in Villa 3 (Eliterpe) for 1 week in June 2012. The villas are very nice, 2 very good sized bedrooms, a well equipped and clean kitchen and bathroom, altogether very pleased. The pool area is much larger than expected, which is great, as the kids tend to congregate in one area, leaving the deep end free for the adults to swim! Plenty of sun loungers and tables/chairs, so easy to bake in the sun or hide in the shade. As a resort, it would have huge appeal for families with young children (pool, creche etc), but as two single friends seeking a super-relaxing week in the sun, it was spot on. The only niggles (and they are small niggles) - the beds are super-firm, and you have to sleep with doors open, as the air conditioner is on the landing. Also, take mosquito repellent!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BexieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Mousses during the first two weeks of June 2012 and have to say it's the most relaxing holiday we could possibly imagine with kids. We were in Villa 8, Thalia, which is detached and really lovely

Our two boys (6 & 3) couldn't wait to get to the Kids Club each morning. They enjoyed many different activities including painting, treasure hunts and playing games. Even though the Simply website says kids are split into different age groups, the two boys were able to stay together and the girls running the club were really relaxed about this. I was worried about booking them in for the two weeks as had no idea what to expect, but it was perfect. Not only did the boys have fun, my husband and I felt like we had a very relaxing holiday.

Mousses is very basic accommodation, but plenty of space and had everything we needed. The beds are firm, but we prefer that way and the place was really very very clean. All the staff were very friendly and the BBQ night is worth attending.

The swimming pool is a lovely area and never crowded. We explored the island a bit and found the only sandy beach was just before arriving at Aghios Nikitas (on the right hand side of the road you'll see a sign for 'Zimmer' / 'Rooms' - just park here and walk down.) The waves were quite big but it's a lovely beach.

Will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been to Greece (different islands and mainland) many times now (9+) and I can honestly say that this accommodation is the best standard of self catering I have experienced in all that time.
If you are a regular Greek traveller, you will be very pleasantly surprised.

If, as previous reviewer says, you are looking for a 'home from home' or are used to the all inclusive style of travel, its worth considering whether this is what you are looking for.

The staff are friendly and accommodating, the gardens and layout of the villas is very well thought through and picturesque, the pool area and bar is clean and well maintained with shady areas for those who require it. The food menu was limited (though a kids menu too) but we tried many dishes and they were all home cooked and delicious.

Each 2 bed villa has the same layout (we went in a couple) and a slightly different colour theme to the soft furnishings. My friend commented that the villa was bigger than some of her friends flats! This is not usual for Greece and was very welcome. We found that we had an ample kitchen area that was well equipped with microwave, grill, sink, cool wall toaster, kettle, crockery of all types, glasses and cutlery (including can opener etc), bread board, large fridge/freezer etc. Teatowel and washing up liquid was provided - a rare experience in Greece. The only thing we didn't have and would have liked was a bread knife but that was a very minor issue for us!

The sitting room area was equally well equipped with large corner sofa (my friend and I had a brief siesta on this one afternoon and two people could easily sleep on it), dining table for four, small table with four different chairs in addition to the dining furniture. A television with tv box, stereo etc was provided, and there was a bookshelf well stocked with books left behind and a first aid box. We listened to Radio Kosmos for most of the week - lovely blend of 'chilled' music of different styles!

The bathroom was downstairs, and had the best Greek shower I've ever experienced!!! Yes you had to wait a few minutes for hot water, but it never ran out and was really powerful with an option to have the attachment free or up high. Towels - both shower towels and beach towels - were provided. Another bonus.

Upstairs (stair gates provided) , there were two bedrooms. A twin and a large double with toilet and sink ensuite. Furniture is all traditionally made and solid. Take normal precautions when walking around it!!!! (many moans about bumping into beds in the holiday book - seriously?!). Beds were very hard but we actually found that our backs felt better for it once we got used to it. This is the Greek style- they practically sleep on concrete! Ample wardrobe space provided with a fan in each room.

The air conditioning was provided without any extra charge. Again, this is a bonus for Greece, I have previously had to pay separately for fans and air conditioning.

The patio area had a laundry airer, small tables and some chairs. Each patio had the lovely 'privacy screen ' of bushes and a plane tree.

Location was great. Off the beaten track and a 20 minute walk into Lefkada town. Only a 30-40 minute transfer by car from Preveza. There's a mini mart and bakery 100/150 yards to the left of Mousses. We were a party of friends, but for those with kids the couples with children (babies to 6 years old from what we could see) the provision was great. A kiddies pool, childrens food menu, creche/kids club etc.

Lefkada town was really chilled and lovely. A good sunset down at the bridge/marina area, then stroll up into the main square but be sure to explore the side roads where there are some jewels of tavernas and bars. Some good late night cocktail bars too, you can sit and watch the world though the service can be slow.

As for previous comments saying that Lefkas is 'not a pretty island'... I am stunned and see my pictures to make your own judgement. If you have a car - and you probably need one unless your intention is to flop by the pool with the odd trip to town - you can easily find a range of stunning beaches, some of which can only be accessed by steps. Egremini (350 steps down - and up in the beating sun!) and Kathisma were my favourites. Vassiliki was great too though more rocky and windy - a great place for watersport. I believe all the good beaches were on the West coast. We never went to the local beach! Hire a boat from Trident at Nidri and island hop to Meganissi and Scorpios (we moored at Meganissi for lunch and then a little beach at Scorpios) - stunning scenery.

Overall, this was an amazing week away at a very good price. If you want five star comfort, go to the Caribbean and pay their prices!

Room Tip: All rooms are same apart from soft furnishing covers, and all located in easy reach of the pool. 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zoglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just returned from a week at this accommodation and have to say I could not fault it in any respect. Large two bedroom villa with ample space and downstairs too, great shower and facilities within kitchen area too!. Beds were firm as were sofas but found no problems getting comfortable and asleep....having been on several Greek isalnd self catering holidays I have to say this was the best and was certainly value for money with Simply Travel!!

Great location for getting to airport in 20 minutes or so, and all aspects of the island can be reached in just over and hour if you are happy to drive.

I was in a party of three 30ish ladies and this accommodation was mainly for young families all of which seemed to be having a great time!!!

If you are the kind of traveller that wants a 'home from home' don't go here, its Greek but well appointed and has a great pool and pool bar for snacks and light meals....would go again and would recommend to friends....

Room Tip: All seemed to be equally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helsbels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed in Villa Erato. Mousses is slightly inland , probably 15 mins walk to beach. Drive 2 mins to beach, five mins to Lefkas town.
Due to the small number of villas it was generally peaceful, of course children make it lively but only 10 villas and a huge pool meant plenty of room.
Easy to become familiar with your fellow holidaymakers, seems many return. Nice atmosphere due to small number of guests. Felt sure that everyone had an eye out for all the children, and not just their own.
Villas are mostly two storey, bedrooms upstairs with loo, Open plan diner lounge kitchen and bathroom downstairs. Not particularly modern but equipment such as kettle, toaster and mini oven all worked well and were fairly new. Only small issue was waiting for hot water in the shower, which took some time, but we managed and did not complain. We were perfectly situated within 10m of the pool which meant could sit on the patio whilst listening to son and friends at the pool! Large garden areas great for children to run around. Felt completely safe day and night. We got a great deal considering we had a two,bed house for our holiday and hire car.
Easy driving. Third trip to Lefkas, for me it's small Greece, far removed from 300 room hotels. Plenty of restaurants in Lefkas town and lovely resorts to visit in hire car up and down the length of the island.
Easy drive from the airport.
Wouldn't recommend the restaurant outside the airport if it hadn't changed since last summer. People check in luggage then wander over for drinks and food. Unfortunately I felt it was the most run down, dirty place I had encountered all holiday.
Loved Mousses and Lefkas -you might also you fancy something fairly quiet,small and laid back.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the detached villas, or go for the separate villas with their own pool if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We first visited the Mousses in early July 2010 when our youngest was 5 months and eldest was nearly 5. Having travelled quite extensively to far flung destinations and stayed in both basic and luxury accommodation, I was quite choosy about somewhere that would be suitable for young children, We loved it so much, we went back again in July 2011....and I never like to go anywhere twice. I cannot recommend it highly enough if you have children. We arrived to find our fridge stocked with basics, such as coffee, tea, milk, fresh bread, feta cheese, tomatoes and cheese. The villa was in a typically greek style, so yes, the seating area is hard, as the cushions are placed on a concrete base, but it's authentic. The beds do have lethal edges, but I could not fault the size of the apartment or the cots which were mothercare and were in excellent condition. We could pick fresh lemons and oranges from the fruit trees in the morning and the pool area was fantastic, The pool is large enough so that all villa occupants can get a bed if they are all there around the same time - never happened! It was a gorgeous setting and very easy to make friends with fellow holidaymakers. As for Lefkas, I found it to be a lovely Island and it was nice to see it hadn't been ruined by the tourist industry. If you're looking for bars and restaurants selling english breakfasts etc, Lefkas is not for you. Lefkada town comes to life in the evenings and the ice creams are to die for! Beaches are plentiful and although not the fine golden sands that many seek, they are still lovely. As Simply Travel normally include car hire, it's a must to get out and about and explore. Finally, we only used the creche a couple of times as for us, and it was good, but I did think it was expensive, if you don't book it before you come out. The staff were excellent and it did give a short respite from our eldest! All in all, if you want a lovely child-friendly holiday in a destination that is more greek that many greek destinations, then choose the Mousses.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We went for the last two weeks of May 2011 and were very impressed. We stayed in Villa Castor and had our own private pool. So clean and tidy everywhere, very well equipped and really comfy beds. Would recommend doing the BBQ night as there is a huge array of foods on offer all prepared by themselves and all delicious!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loulou2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.4 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#14 of 76 in Lefkada
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ionion Star Hotel
Ionion Star Hotel
#37 of 76 in Lefkada
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portofico Hotel
Portofico Hotel
#6 of 12 in Vasiliki
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Villa Elia
Villa Elia
#2 of 330 in Lefkada
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pansion Filoxenia Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mousses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mousses

Address: Agia Marina 31100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Agia Marina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Agia Marina
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing