We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday in a near perfect setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just wanted to add my comments to what everyone else has said. Stayed at the Alexandra Beach early June. Great hotel! Good location, nice beach, great restaurant and good food. Staff were really nice and helpful .

A BIG thank-you to the delightful lady on reception, who turned nurse one evening to remove sea urchin spines. A big hello to Despina, the manager in the Spa, who was an absolute delight.

OK there are some very minor points, but these aren’t worth mentioning; remember this is a Greek 4 star rating. But any minor issues are far outweighed by the really good things in the hotel. One person who should get a mention is Alan the Thomson rep. - very professional, polite and approachable and always seemed to be around and a good source of information.

Potos was 250 metres down the road one way and Pefkari (much quieter and a nice beach), 250 metres the other way. We hired a car for a couple of days. We visited Chrisi Ammoudia on the east coast which was really pretty. We also drove up into the mountains and visited Maries (and its lake – and although pretty was nothing special). However the island of Thassos is stunning, very green with some amazing vistas. We also did a boat trip booked through Thomson and although a little on the expensive side, it was a good day out.

So if you are looking for a good, clean, friendly hotel that serves great food (great mojitos by the way!) in a beautiful setting, the Alexandra Beach fits the bill perfectly.
Like other people I tend not to go back to places I have visited, but this place would be the exception!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view and take mosquito repellant!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clacton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 807 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Second stay at this hotel it is just as good as last year , we cannot recommend it enough . Staff excellent property clean difficult to fault in any way just go and enjoy. We were given a complementary bottle of wine as return visitors , which was a nice touch .

We stayed bed and breakfast this year which gave us opportunities to visit some of the local tavernas which were all good value and excellent quality .

Room Tip: Be careful if booking the trip to main land it's a long day Kavala lovely but caves closed due t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect: overlooking the sea and mountains on the pretty island of Thassos, a short walk into Potos town.

The public areas were really lovely and make this the best package holiday hotel I've been to. The swimming pools, spa and gym were all great and very clean. The bars and restaurants were good, serving tasty food. There were waiters/waitresses to bring you drinks and snacks to your sunbed, when it's too hot to walk yourself! We particularly liked going to the roof top bar in the evening, which has been recently refurbished, and they serve yummy cocktails.

One criticism is that the sunbeds around the pool were very uncomfortable. We sunbathed on a lower terrace, a bit away from the pool, where the beds were better. There are various sunbathing areas, including the private beach.

Also, I think it might be nice to have one pool for adults only. There were lots of children/families in the pools towards the end of the week, lots of splashing and ball throwing, and it made swimming in the pool quite difficult. I suppose the hotel caters for adults and families alike, but as there are two pools a suggestion would be to give the children their own pool.

We stayed on a half board package so had buffet breakfasts and dinners. They offered a wide variety of salads, hot and cold meals and desserts and the food was mostly very nice. I think the hotel should label the desserts as there are so many of them, all looking delicious, but little clue as to what any of them are.

We did get a bit bored with the canteen style eating after a few nights so went out to one of the restaurants on the beach. I suppose the hotel restaurant lacked ambiance in a way, as it was very busy of course with guests all eating evening meals. There's no way around that and the views are stunning, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Our bedroom was adequate. It seemed tired and dated compared to the rest of the hotel, to be honest. We were in a twin bedroom with garden view. The hair dryer in our bathroom was useless so I would strongly recommend taking your own. The bed was quite comfortable but not luxurious. We had a nice balcony and the air con worked well.

For anyone considering going to Thassos for a holiday please bear in mind that it is a very long day on arrival and departure days. We had underestimated that. Our flight was at 6am from Gatwick. We landed at about 11am local time (9am UK time). We got on the Thomson coach after collecting luggage but didn't leave for about 30 minutes. There was a coach journey to the ferry which I think was quite short, maybe less than an hour, but getting the timing right with the ferries must be difficult, so we had about 40 minutes wait at the port before getting on the ferry. Luckily we had a bit of time to walk around the town, get a drink etc. The ferry crossing took about 30 mins I think. Then 45 minutes on Thassos to get to this hotel. We arrived at the hotel at about 3pm and we were wiped out for a couple of days. If I went again I would go for 2 weeks as it's not an easy hop skip and a jump away!

We did one Thomson excursion called Thassos Treasures which was really good, the guide Ioannis was very knowledgeable and interesting. Unfortunately it rained the day we went out, but it was still a good trip!







Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank sallyhawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I never usually leave reviews but felt compelled to do so on this occasion. Just returned from an 11 day vacation on the 12th June. Without doubt the staff in this hotel have to be some of the most helpful and friendly I have ever come across. The hotel and the rooms are clean. The mix and variety of food in restaurant was excellent. If you want to relax and come to a beautiful location then come here. I loved it, and if I return to Thassos, and I dearly hope I will the island is beautiful, them I will not look any further then this hotel, its the best!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our first time at the hotel, and there were many people who had been two and three times before....easy to see why. Lovely hotel set in beautiful landscaped grounds which lead down on to its own section of beach. Very contemporary feel, smart, clean and well run. Free wifi throughout the hotel.
We went half board which was excellent, buffet style food was extensive and catered for everyone.... Different choices each night and always well presented. Fantastic outdoor dining venue with views of the sea and awesome sunsets. There are terraced areas upstairs with sea views nothing short of amazing.
We booked superior room, which was well worth the extra. Big room, flat screen tv, hair dryer mini bar...air con etc etc and very comfortable bed and furnishings. Lovely bathroom too with a great shower and complementary toiletries etc.
the hotel also boasts a spa ( a one hour massage around 50 euro) and a small gym.
Hygiene cleanliness and standards were top knotch.
The hotel staff are delightful, welcoming friendly and very professional.
By far the best hotel I have stayed at in Greece .

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed but the 80£ per week supplement for a sea room was worth it for sur...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Returned from the alexandra yesterday (1/6/14) and can't wait to write this review. We have been spending our holidays at least twice a year for the last 25 years around the greek Islands and this hotel has to be the best we have stayed in to date.
Everything you desire from a holiday is here. Beautiful hotel, lovely spacious comfortable rooms, exquisite setting , delicious food and wonderful staff.
The beach is not the best on thassos but it's private and very well maintained. We didn't use either of the 2 pools as we prefered the peaceful setting at the beach but other guests loved them. Everyone here was very friendly including all of the staff. The cleaner's worked very hard from early morning to early evening keeping the whole if the propery spotless. I could go on for hours gushing about the Alex beach but would probably bore you.
My last comment is just to say that we are so impressed that we are already looking to return here in the near future and we never go to the same place twice. If you are considering it don't hesitate book it.xx

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank sammal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

May 18-25 th was our time to relax and recharge the batteries, This place was recommended to us, Now having been there ourselves and experienced the Island, People and cultures we would definitely recommend this to others and find it hard if they didn't experience the same, This was by far the best short break we've had to date and anybody going there a must visit to the Boomerang bar and a meeting with its owners Joe and Abe Tokatlidis and say G'day from us. When we go back this is the place will be staying at thanks all for a unbeatable holiday, Mike and Val Cartwright Plymouth

Room Tip: Your on holiday its what you make it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#13 of 89 in Thasos
411 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
402 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#6 of 9 in Potos
58 reviews
11.3 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range: $73 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort Potos, Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing