We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
onesti
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our trip from 1 to 5 of May 2014 was our second time at Alexandra Beach. We liked very much the accomodation, a large, nicely decorated room at the groundfloor of a bungalow. Very clean and cosy. The surroundings also very beautiful with lovely roses, orange tree with hanging fruit, rosemary, lavander, thyme, basil etc. The food at breakfast and dinner was very good, plenty of choice. Minuses? The cofee was awful and the cakes at dinner were not very good (type green and pink filling). The reception very elegant, the pool clean, the beach not so reachable for a person that has some locomotion issues. The staff was also very nice and helpful. Maybe everything was so nice and clean because it was the openning time of the season, I don`t know. As a conclusion, it was a nice stay and we intend to return the next year, for the same period, as there is a cycling race we attend whenever we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elenadinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    262
    75
    18
    13
See reviews for
267
333
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is our second time here and enjoy every minute of our holiday, on arrival we meet a lot of people who were here last year great to see them all again.This hotel has a family feel and once again we chose a bungalow with its own pool everything was in place for our arrival and all requests granted. Food is always good and the restaurant staff are fantastic looking forward to coming back to this hotel will be sorry to go home Thanks again x

Room Tip: Private bungalow and pool expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

When I go to an island I want to go to the best beach and this hotel does not have the best one on this island. Other than that it's a well run hotel, beautiful grounds and facilities and also walking distance to Potos. Limenaria and other nearby places are worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElenaEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleshill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

2nd time we have stayed for a fortnight. Head receptionist remembered us from the year before. Rooms had had a fantastic makeover and we received a complimentary bottle of wine. The views from the hotel are superb and because of its westerly aspect every evening you are treated to a fantastic sunset. The food and service are very good in a spacious and air conditioned restaurant. Everywhere in the grounds is kept immaculate and the vegetable garden for the kitchen is amazing you see that on the walk down to their private beach which is stocked with sunloungers umbrellas and 4poster sunbeds their is a buzzer system on umbrella poles to call a waiter for drinks and snacks so relaxing you just don't want to leave. The resort of potos is quaint and bijou with a lively nightlife but not too hectic. The island offers a different beach everyday with stunning views as you drive around the island. Will definitely visit again a greek island not to miss. 5

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ajsaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you like 1970's formica built-in furniture then this is the place to be!
Room 214 almost entirely built from it - the wardrobes, the bedhead, the bedside drawers, even the bathroom door.

The brochure (Thomson)states tea & coffee making facilities - true in as far as there are sockets in the room. Firstly - you have to request a kettle from reception, secondly - you go to the poolbar to collect cups (don't forget to ask for a spoon as well - not offered), thirdly - you have to go to the mini-mart or into the village to purchase tea, coffee, milk as the hotel does not supply these!

In-room safe. Charge of 2 euros 50 cents PER DAY - really!!! In what is supposedly a 4* hotel.

Sun beds - by pools - extremely difficult to lie on for more than 5 minutes at a time.
Sun beds - on beach - cheapest on the market, very uncomfortable. Buy an inflatable li-lo and use as a mattress.

Bed - Might as well have been a camp bed. Mattress approximately 4" thin - you can feel every spring.

We arrived back at our room at around 11 in the morning having been to the village to get the daily paper (always a day out of date despite being printed in Greece) and some bottles of beer to re-stock the 'fridge. When we opened the door a strong smell of beer greeted us. When we put the key in to activate the lights we then saw broken glass from a beer bottle.
It transpired that the mini-bar boy had been in to check, had obviously broken a bottle but then left. Luckily we had no children with us, given their habit of running everywhere & very often barefoot this was a disaster waiting to happen.

The cleaners had not 'done' our room but were close by and helped to clear up. One of the ladies telephoned through to report the issue. When the person on the other end spoke to us all they said was that they knew we were not responsible! No apology from the management or re-imbursement was offered.

Restaurant - Rename as Canteen. Very brightly lit, bad idea as paper peeling and grubby, paintwork chipped and not very clean.

Food. Where to start!

Breakfast - One toaster, long wait!
- Eggs poaching in grey water, no individual cooking.
- Coffee all but undrinkable.
- Hygiene procedures not obvious!

Lunch - Thankfully we were only half-board.

Dinner - Very poor. Not much choice and poor quality. Soups were the best option.
- Wine list limited, poor quality and expensive.

Reception - OK, apart from smell of urinal blocks floating through!

Lounge/bar - dominated by pool-table, not to be expected in 4*.

Spa - Usually the first place I go to but so disappointed with standards of hotel didn't even bother. In 2 weeks neither of us heard anyone say they had been, despite being given 50% off vouchers on arrival.

Best part of the room/hotel was the small terrace outside our room. We had a lovely couple in the next room and spent many early evenings chatting to them.

We ate out in the village several times during our 2 week stay but!!!! the quality of food was still poor. Resorted to pizza & chips one night, even at that the pizza was awful!!! It would appear that despite being alongside a harbour fresh fish was not on anyone's menus!

Best bits of the holiday - Weather, excellent. 15th to 29th September.
- Ferry trip from & to mainland.

All in all so disappointing, stayed on Santorini & Crete in 2012 and they were fabulous. Do not waste your hard-earned money going to Thassos and certainly not this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Bibblebobble45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife & I returned 2 weeks ago from a lovely fortnight at this well-run hotel.
Good food, clean and well-maintained room, a wide choice of places to sit, lounge, read, sunbathe, etc, really nice freshwater pool - oblong so good for lengths with a decent-sized kids pool, plus another pool too - no need to "bag" a sunbed. (We were there mid-Sept so very few families). Fantastic views over the sea, lovely walks northwards to other small coastal towns & vllages plus 10mins walk south into Potos for touristy shopping, bars, restaurants. (Loved the Aussie bar!) It's own private beach with bar/snack bar - just ring the bell for service on your sunshade! (No charge for sunbeds either.)
Negatives: by far the worst aspect of this hotel is being subjected to non-stop cigarette smoke on the outdoor dining patio and bar/entertainment areas. The only option was to eat indoors, which we ended up doing for breakfast, or move to another table. Big shame. Lots of other guests felt the same way. How about a smoke-free outside zone guys? Also not much in the way of entertainment, but it met the (Thomson) description ok, so no surprise.
Best point: the staff, especially the waiters/waitresses, reception desk, and the guy in the shop who found my frisbee! Sincere thanks to you all.
Overall: excellent value and a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a car park view at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex , England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I will recommend this resort to anyone wanting an unspoilt town with a beach. Whatever you need is within reach, including towns for essential shopping, lunch and nightlife.

The resort is very comprehensive and the facilities (including the spa) are good enough. The fridge is well stock. You can ask for an iron and a kettle, but best to take your own. Watersport /scuba diving are available at Pefkari, about 15 minutes walk to the left of the resort.

At least 80% of the rooms in are in blocks and it will take a few days to get your bearings right. The rest are villas with private swimming pools. Children and senior citizens will enjoy the hotel evening entertainment.

The resort grows vegetables and the food is well cooked. Apart from the Feta Cheese in salads, no Greek cuisines were served. So I am disappointed about that.

For essentials and night out, Potos is the closet town - about 10 minutes walk to the right of the resort. You can buy all your essentials, each lunch and have nice bar dance if you like. There is a supermarket just a few yards away from the kebab store. You are better-off buying all your Greek snacks in that supermarket.

The best town to visit in Thassos is Panagia. An excursion trip around the town will give you a good feel of Panagia (only one of many coach stops) but you need to spend a whole day there another day Panagia. Limenars is the municipal town of South Thassos. You can do you banking and post your postcards.

Public transport around the town is available for under five Euro one-way and you really need to study the timetable carefully. The reception staff are very informative - they will help you out with that.

Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Objective_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#21 of 89 in Thasos
356 reviews
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#9 of 89 in Thasos
371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#1 of 10 in Limenaria
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olympion
Hotel Olympion
#6 of 9 in Potos
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort Potos, Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing