We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Alexandra Beach Hotel with my husband last week in September following recommendation from a colleague. It certainly lived up to expectations. The hotel is perfectly situated on the beach with stunning views from it's extensive grounds. The range of facilities is superb, food varied and well cooked and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff are, without exception, friendly, courteous and extremely efficient. This was our first visit to Greece and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    256
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
264
326
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a brilliant hotel, fantastic location wonderful views over the Aegean to Mt Athos. Rooms were clean spacious and comfortable with a lovely restaurant with a good choice of food. The hotels' main asset are its friendly and helpful staff. My husband and myself are well travelled and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The negative reviews must be written by people who have never actually stayed there.

Room Tip: No really noisy areas. We went with a tour company and ended up with a four bedded mini apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Alexandra Beach, and before writing this review I read some of the more recent reviews and was amazed to see some negative reviews for this hotel.
I have stayed in numerous hotels and I have to say this has been one of the best. From checking in, all the staff at all levels, we came across were friendly, very helpful and all greeted you with a hello or a good morning.
We were staying half board and both the dinner and breakfast, are buffet style, the food selection was excellent, hot, well prepared and presented. Again all staff in the restaurant, were courteuos and chatty. As some have commented with the meals being buffet style, at times we did experience it being quite busy, especially at the early part of the dinner 7pm more notably at the weekend, however as the week progressed it got less busier, there is a good window for the meals 7 to 9.30 for evening meal and 7 to 10 for breakfast, we found the later you go the quieter it is.
The beach area was excellent, where there is a bar which you don't even have to leave your lounger to order. As some have mentioned the beach is a bit stoney, generally the last 2metres before you get to the water, there are pontoons that take you out to about 8ft deep, there are rocks in the shallow area, but the pontoons take you beyond this.
The main pool was good and at the time we visited was fairly quiet, but can imagine in the height of the season it being busy.
The only criticism I can make was the roof bar, a lovely position overlooking the pool and the bay and ideal spot to watch the stunning sun set, but, the music which was being played seemed to be more for young staff who worked there, rather than the clientele, on the occassions we visited there seemed to be a constant house music which appeared to be on a constant loop, for the half hour we could stand it, was monotonous and too loud and spoilt the whole ambience of the area, in fact one time we were there we notice a lady sat with tissues in her ears to mask out the noise, a shame for a lovely bar. Similarly the Beach Bar was playing loud music the first time we were there, however we able to move away from the bar, again spoilt the ambience when swimming out in the bay, however later in the week the music appeared to havebeen turned down, so did not spoli the holiday.
The room we had was well maintained, big, plenty of storage and cleaned well everyday, with a change of towels daily, the cleaning team worked hard and did an excellent job.
We did not witness any litter anywhere and the gardens were well looked after too.
The hotel is located between Potos and Pefkari, about 10 minute walk beyond Pefkari was Limenaria a safe walk along a footpath above the sea with stunning views.
Overall a great holiday and we shall be returning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Alexandra Beach is idea, for sun, beach and relaxation, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the restaurant is well served, with a variety of food. Potos, is near by by with plenty of bars and places to eat. The staff are friendly and the resort is modern with an exclusive feel to it. The beach is private to the hotel and the sea is clear and warm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Well... We were disappointed with just about everything on this holiday. The hotel itself needs a massive refurbishment it is below average! The rooms were basic and we had a superior room so god only knows what a basis room was like! We had alot of insects which I know can't be helped but it wasn't great when u were asleep to find them crawling over you! The beds were rock hard and the mattress topper was a duvet ?? Which personally to me made no difference.

The food was only to be described as awful! Breakfast was edible and evening meal was edible but lunch was terrible! The taverna on site was nice and served nice food and we thought reasonable priced for the amount of food you received.

Potos town itself was very run down with not much there and the walk you would have to do from the hotel to get to potos was dangerous! Walking on a main road very little lighting as two ladies on their own we did not do this and took a taxi for 4 euros however it is not worth bothering with anyway!

As the previous review said we also asked for a cheese and tomato toastie to be told "not possible"?? Why it's only a tomato! Surely that's not to difficult when we have paid to stay here!?

Also on the last night there was some sort of wedding / party for the Greeks there were security guards there so they must of been important people but you felt like you were intruding somebody else's party! You couldn't get served at the bar as they were too busy tending to there important guests and the entertainment was focused around the one table and nobody else.

Leading onto the entertainment... Or the lack of it there was 2 Greek night ( one was put on for the wedding party and not the guests) and a band night! Both were equally as terrible!

The staff in the whole complex ranged from very friendly to rude! The waiters were nice some of them were completely rude!

The sunbeds were very uncomfortable around the pool the sea ones were alot better.

My mum had booked a surprise room upgrade for me, a private pool room which she was paying €600 extra for!! Luckily they had messed the booking system up so we never had this room this was a blessing after seeing the rest of the hotel it would not warrant the extra money! Also it says sea view.. You would not be able to see the sea from the pool rooms so that is clearly wrong!

Overall save your well earned money and spend it on a decent hotel in a decent location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juiceluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in September 2013 and can only agree with the review that this hotel is only average, no more than a 3star. I found the hotel to have no luxury feel to it apart from the location which you couldn't fault. Food was warm. The lunch experience was horrible, I chose Greek salard and was given what seemed like yesterday's old salard the lettuce was all limp and there was sweet corn in it not very Greek! Beds were rock hard, rooms dated, entertainment one night of Greek dancing, pool very small with a metal bar to separate shallow end, very unsightly. I also asked for a cheese and tomatoe toastie but they could not accommodate even though the hotels private guests had a party there and it seemed they could have anything. potos not great, small with tourest shops and bars, you can go around it in one night then theres nothing else to do. On the whole a very dissapointing experience. I must add that the trip on the ferry was a pleasant experience and the Thomson reps were well organised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel spa was very nice staff very friendly rooms nice and spacious, food was excellent but if your full board then lunch menu is a little to much 5 courses but you only need to pick what you want of the menu. breakfast was great more than enough to keep it interesting for 2 weeks. evening meal buffet was also very nice but maybe a few more traditional meals. drinks were reasonably priced. Pools were nice maybe a little busy but it was first 2 weeks of August but the beach was perfect and relaxing but take beach shoes with you as the sea was very rocky the 3 jetty were great fun for jumping off and having a chill.

the rooms are quirky and clean don't worry about the tv as you don't go away to watch tv. aircon was perfect, yes the mattress was a little hard but I had 14 excellent nights sleep.

either side of the hotel was 2 villages both 10 minutes walk the one to the left was Pefkari which was nice and quite a nice place for a quite drink. to the right was Potos which was a really busy little town with lots of bars and places to eat all over looking the beach and sea. the coldest beer on the Island was in a bar called Boomerang bar run by some very friendly Australians.

Yes I agree that there are a lot of Russians Lithuanians and Romanians but I didn't go on holiday to make friends so they were no issue to me and my family. all in all well worth a visit and rent a car for 1 day at least and see the Island

Room Tip: we wanted a upstairs room with 2 young children as we got there and had a ground floor room and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
4.0 mi away
Aeolis Thassos Palace
Aeolis Thassos Palace
#1 of 2 in Astris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort Potos, Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing