We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing place for a holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very relaxing place for a holiday.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

this being our first trip to a greek island i wanted a relaxing holiday for a change so i picked thassos. after the plane, coach, ferry and then coach again trips to get to the hotel we were glad to finally arrive at the hotel. first impressions were good, after seeing where others were dropped off. it's a very clean hotel, seems to have been refurbished at some stage recently, and ideally positioned right on the beach. our room, which would have my wife and i, a 16 and 22 year old in one room, was spacious and the beds were big enough for us. only shock we had was being advised on the coach that you can't put the toilet paper down the toilet! as the drains aren't large enough. the rooms are cleaned everyday which is needed for the toilet bin. the grounds are really well set out and you always see the gardener working around the area. the restaurant is well set out (just be careful when there's little kids running around at busy times) and you always find a table to use. one thing we found was the plates under the domes by the food are very hot so use the serviettes nearby to carry your food. there's a wide variety of food at meal times, but spag bol seems available at all times! at breakfast it gets busy after 9am and evenings after 8.15pm. the pool area is ok, but at times there's not enough sunbeds and they're not very comfortable (the ones on the beach are better if you have a back problem like i have) even though they say you're not supposed to reserve the beds, people do. it was worse the second week as there was more kids arrived. the pool bar service at night is slow, we waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive after ordering with the waitress and 3.50 euros for a beer which isn't a pint. there's some entertainment here but very basic. the upstair's bar is ideal for some quiet time and some beautiful sunsets and service is a lot better. the private beach is well set out with pontoons to take you over the pebbles and urchins (need beach shoes if you want to walk into the sea as these urchin's spikes will get into your feet) the sea is deep enough to dive in off these. never had problems getting 4 sunbeds at the beach at anytime of day. we used the spa at the hotel (you get half price vouchers to use when you check in) and had the steam baths, the girls can't do enough for you here and are very helpful showing how to use the various baths and showers. there's also a basic gym in the spa too. the staff throughout the hotel complex are very curtious and happy to help in any way. the only problem we had was that on the morning of checking out, the receptionist gave me a bill for 18 euros from the pool bar. as you can give your room number and sign the bill and pay at the end of your holiday, but we paid for every bill with cash so as not to let this happen and i didn't pay it. to the left of the hotel is an appartment hotel and i saw people form this coming through the gate at the bottom coming into our complex, it's too easy for one of these to just give any room number if they order something. so i'd recommend you to go to reception the night before your checkout and make sure you don't have a surprise waiting for you!! the area of potos is not recommended for teens as ours were getting bored most nights, good job you have wifi throughout the complex! i'd say if you want to go here, then go out of school hols and you will love it. plenty of souvenir shops and bars in potos (10min walk away) best one we found was the boomerang bar, alex and his son ab make you feel very welcome and you get a decent pint of mythos beer here for 3.50 euros.

Room Tip: if you have the money get a villa, these have own pool and views to the sea. room 632 has south faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berty-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    273
    78
    19
    13
See reviews for
276
343
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just returned from the lovely Alexandra Beach
We stayed for two weeks at the end of July beginning of August
We generally holiday in all sorts of places from Greece and islands, to Dubai to the US/Caribbean and Italy. We like a variety of places so I think this is balanced review.

The Alexandra beach is in a fantastic spot where every morning you can eat breakfast outside looking out over the crystal sea and at night the same restaurant has the view of the sunset. The breeze was just right as the restaurant sits up higher than the beach level and so you really have that eating outside holiday feeling. Those people that say they couldn't get a table outside must have been holidaying somewhere else. We had a table outside for 14 days morning and evening with absolutely no waiting whatsoever, and in the height of the season....

The welcome here is as warm as the weather and I would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. The staff are all so accommodating and Barbara one of the managers is delightful as she welcomes you to dinner each night.
The food is hot fresh and a good choice but not so much that you pile everything on your plate. I personally do not like buffets but this was different. No queues and all very tasty. We just went along, looked at the choice and then put together the components to make a lovely meal. We did eat out at Piatsa Michalis in Potos twice but only for a change, the food was so nice there really wasn't any need. This is coming form someone who really does not like the whole concept of buffet on holiday, so its saying something!

There are Wifi masts everywhere and we got reception easily in all places. Theres a small book exchange....(we read 14 books between as it was so relaxing)!
The roof terrace bar is very chilled and the pool bar equally as nice with good waitresses. 3.50 euros for a large beer and the frappes are 3 euros. A bottle of sauv blanc with our dinner each night was 11 euros in the hotel which I thought was very good and perfectly nice.

The beach was peaceful and you pressed a bell for the beach bar staff to come within minutes to take your order. The pool was a little too crowded for us but once we had got our spot on the beach we just didn't want to change! Pool towels free from reception.
There was no loud guests or big groups while we were there, that sometimes make your holiday a little uncomfortable....seemingly nice families and couples of all nationalities in my opinion.

Yes the beds are hard but how does this spoil your holiday? I mentioned it to Anne our Thomson rep in passing one morning and by the afternoon we had a mattress topper.
Thomson tour operations as usual very good. Transfers seamless even with the ferry ride.....The airport at Kavalla is small and its so quaint to be the only aircraft on the tarmac!
We did the Discover Thassos trip to see the island and got some great photos. Its not got anything astounding to see but we enjoyed the places we did visit and felt like we knew Thassos a little better by the end.

I loved it here and would definitely come back. Its a refined Greek haven, not stuffy, or too big (only 200ish rooms) or even fancy.... but perfect.....Little touches like nuts and crisps with your drinks, the waitress remembering that I only liked a little sugar in my daily frappes and the welcome at dinner each night.....these things matter on holiday even if you don't realise they do!
We even got a bottle of wine for my husbands birthday on arrival and two cocktails on our anniversary....superb
It had all the ingredients to make our holiday very special and I would come back any time!

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade or ask for a complimentary one to a superior as I believe these were newly decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelgirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Right. I never write one of these normally but I feel I must write something as some of the comments on here are so negative and completely unfounded - so this is a reply to those people to in some way balance the review. Some people clearly have no idea what they are saying and it's frightening that people might take advice from their reviews! This place is brill. Not 5* luxury (which it never claims to be) but brill all the same... The rep left us on the way to the hotel (driver seemed pretty capable, being greek and all!) with the resort rep meeting us there. Rooms are what was expected, it has all the usual stuff. Clean...and i for one don't need a good range of english tv or marble flooring to have a nice holiday. Try going outside perhaps and looking at the wonderful views.

The rule of trousers for men is explained on the website,brochure and was explained when we arrived and frankly is the same as every other single hotel I have been to. Basic manners.

The restaurant has a great range of varied, local food ("unfortunately" not catering for those 'where's the english food and burger and chips?' People very well!...even so there was the usual stuff to tide them over whilst the majority try the greek stuff! but hey,1500 miles from home I guess we can forgive them) Food fresh from the hotel kitchen garden...brilliant. I can honestly say it is some of the best food out there. Staff couldn't do enough for you, never fought for a table and if I wasn't sure what something was on the menu...well we just asked the staff!

Beach really nice. Wrong side of the island if you want sandy beaches. But I guess you can see that in the brochure. The pontoons are a great touch and seemed a really popular way of getting over the rocky section. Jumping off was great! Yep they do move up and down with the sea...but then again as they aren't the forth road bridge I guess we can forgive them.

Roof bar a must at night with great views and atmosphere.

All in all well worth the visit. I shall be going back next year, this time for two weeks. Hopefully the whinging lot on here will find their merry way to benidorm or somewhere equally touristy that will give them sky tv, burger and chips and above all else they can sit in their shorts and eat to their hearts content. If you are looking for a nice spa hotel, comfortable and clean rooms, great views, eager to please staff, off the tourist track with real greece, well this is the place for you. And it will probably save you a grand in price on that plush 5* hotel that really doesn't give you much more...apart from marble floor tiles and sky tv!...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank wannabeingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having read some of the recent reviews I find it difficult to believe that they were staying at the same place. This was without a doubt one of the best family holiday resorts we have been to, and was chosen on the basis of a recommendation from our neighbours who were delighted with their visit last year and we were equally delighted.

The room was ideal for our needs, easily fitting all of us in and the beds were perfectly comfortable, yes the TV is limited but we hadn't come away to sit indoors and watch it. Anyhow there is free WiFi available if you want to keep up with news from back home.

We had requested a quiet room, high up and it was exactly that. We slept brilliantly throughout the two weeks we were there.

The staff are remarkable and find that difficult balance between being attentive without overdoing it and are great with the kids, they also add to the atmosphere and make you feel truly welcome and at home. This combined with a cosmopolitan clientele makes you feel like you are abroad rather than in an England in the sun

The food was varied, plentiful and well prepared and both our boys ate well throughout, enjoying the opportunity to try things that were unfamiliar to them. The grounds are full of fruit trees and the vegetable garden is wonderful.

Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel and again a good variety of options, cocktail happy hour was a bargain.

The beach is pebbly but the pontoons overcome any issues with getting in and out of the sea and provided my eldest with a great place to push me into the sea. Excellent for watching the fish from too.

To summarise, a great location, staffed by excellent people with the ideal balance of calming relaxation but enough to keep the kids happy. You really do have to look hard to find any problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SimonLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic two week holiday to Thassos with our 2 children (daughter aged 14 and son aged 10). Really enjoyed the ferry transfer from Kavala to Thassos, a great start to the holiday! Hotel immediately exceeded our expectations. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Family rooms are large enough to accommodate a family and include proper beds for the children. Free fridge and kettle also available. In walking distance of Potos where the local shops, supermarkets and bars are. However only went twice due to the evening entertainment provided at the hotel. The variety was good including traditional Greek dancing. Cocktails at the Rooftop Bar are lovely, especially in happy hour when they’re only 5 euros. Its great to watch the sun setting from up there. Fresh water pools are limited size however the beach makes up for it. Free sunbeds are available at both. Animation team were fantastic. Really enjoyed the aqua aerobics and keep fit sessions, even the kids got involved! The football, tennis and volleyball competitions were great. Beach location is excellent although it’s mostly shingly so beach shoes are recommended however the jetties are great fun and avoid the sea rocks. Kids particularly enjoyed these. Did paragliding and Ringos with the water sports company, definitely recommend them! Worth hiring a car for a day to explore the island. Nice to see the quaint villages. Restaurant was great. A wide variety of food is available at each meal. We were upgraded to full board for an extra 56p so had lunch too. 5 courses available for lunch which was a bit too much. However breakfast and dinner were buffets so that was better. Youngest child enjoyed his birthday at the hotel. The animators sang happy birthday and helped him celebrate. Had a great family holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel. Great value for money, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank y0rkshire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is special. The rooms are bright and spacious, we upgraded to a superior room which had a sea view. The gardens are fantastic and they grow most of their own fruit and veg which is used in the restaraunt. The food is really good and the staff are very helpfull. Make sure you take some long trousers as you will not be allowed to dine in shorts or three quarters. The beach is private but it is pebble and some sand so buy some beach shoes. The sea is crystal.

Room Tip: upgrade .... special rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southyorksGlynKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Travelled to this hotel with my husband for a week on 4th August 2013.

On the way there, the rep left us halfway and so the driver took us for the rest of journey.

We were allocated to our room and our cases arrived about half an later.

The room smelt of drains as we entered which wasn't pleasant but this did eventually go away. It is the most basic room I have ever stayed in! Do not go thinking you are getting something even slightly comfortable or luxurious!! The beds are as hard as can be and do expect to have a bad back at the end of the week. I don't know how anyone goes on if they stay for 2 weeks!!! The room itself though was clean.

There was a ridiculous rule of men having to wear long trousers in the dining room, which we were not made aware of beforehand and therefore my husband had only one pair of jeans with him (that he had travelled in) that he had to put on to eat his meal and then back to the room to take them off as he was absolutely sweltering. Ladies and children however could wear what they liked!!

The food was varied and strange! Salads nice, lots of choice; mains not sure of at all; desserts nice. Very glad I was only there for a week as there was noway I could have gone for breakfast and dinner in there for 2 weeks.

We did not stay in the hotel after dinner as the entertainment seemed a little strange. Not sure who organises that!! We walked in Potos, about a ten minute walk away. There are lots of bars and restaurants. It was very crowded though and a lot busier than we had expected. We were told that there was a Serbian Football League taking place and so most bars were full of men watching the matches.

We did find a great place to have a drink - Boomerang. Alex and his family are lovely and made us feel very welcome throughout the week.

The hotel also claims that there are enough sunbeds for all guests and that guests are not allowed to reserve a sunbed. This was an absolutely non-existent rule!!! Whatever time you headed down for breakfast you could see the majority of sunbeds around the pool already reserved with towels and no-one lying on them!!!!! The pools are small and by mid-afternoon very crowded and noisy. We didn't get to lie around the pool once in the whole week we were there.

The hotels beach was in easy walking distance and very pleasant. Again though, a lot of sunbeds had been reserved so if you are the kind of person that would like to lie on the front row by the sea, you had no chance as every bed had a towel on it even by 8.30 some mornings. We did always manage to get a sunbed further back though. The best thing about the beach is "Honza" - he will bring you drinks all day, very efficient, tell you jokes and is very funny.

Overall a lovely place to travel too and I would definately go again, just would not stay at this hotel! Thomson definately need to rethink!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lillybird19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 89 in Thasos
372 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#1 of 10 in Limenaria
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Potos
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olympion
Hotel Olympion
#6 of 9 in Potos
22 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort Potos, Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing