We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"ABSOLUTE CHILLAX"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"ABSOLUTE CHILLAX"”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

stayed here last two weeks sept 2012, flight transfers, ferry, and booking in, very efficient reception staff. this hotel is spotless and very well run, we loved the food lots of choice and very tasty anyone saying otherwise must be really picky all staff were friendly polite and proffesional (special mention for our waiter LEO), The hotel is 4 star however we felt our room though adequate didnt live up to this rating. but we understand the rooms are being re furbished . the hotel sits in stunning grounds with lots of trees flowers and shrubs they even grow their own vegetables to be used in the restaurants !!! the hotel is positioned on a private beach which is shingle so beach shoes a must . The beds at the beach are free and i have to say far more comfortable than the pool beds which were really uncomfortable.there wasnt really any entertainment in our fortnight im unsure as to wether this was because it was the last two weeks of their season (of which we were reminded by some staff not what we wanted to hear whilst trying to enjoy our Holiday) so if watching the tv playing pool and reading a book was your forte then you would be fine . less than ten minutes would take you to Potos or Pefkari the resorts either side of the hotel and well worth a visit .we took advantage of the spa ,thomsons offering a 50% discount on all treatments and it was definately worth it . last but not least i have to mention James our rep from first impressions his immaculate grooming friendliness attentitiveness attention to small details , love of the job and island and genuine interest in all clients was a rare experience these days . take note thomson his efforts should be aknowledged and rewarded he is an absolute credit to your company and his standards should be used as an example to all reps "THANK YOU JAMES" . In conclusion would we return "Yes Definately".

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akbukdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    256
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
264
326
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent 2 weeks here in September-12.
The hotel is spotless and very well run. The rooms are pretty good too.
My only gripe being the food (canteen style and fairly tasteless) and the beach (shingle and full of fag-butts!). To counter this, you can head to the adjacent village to a restaurant and hire a car to find a sandy beach
The main clientele are eastern Europeans who like to smoke 24/7, especially at meal times!
Apart from that, a good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spookyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a little gem of an hotel - Just spent a week of total relaxation - al aspects were absolutely perfect - staff friendly, helpful and charming - food excellent - room spacious and clean - the beach is clean and safe and bar staff fab! Would go again

Room Tip: We were in 'yellow' block and had evening sun and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyjomarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed September 2012, one week. Journey over trouble free, ferry timely, good views of island, a nice relaxing way to start holiday. An excellent hotel, in a lovely location. Staff extremely hardworking, friendly and efficient. Couldn't do enough to ensure a comfortable stay. Room large, very clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant, self service, plenty of choice, catering for all tastes. I defy even the most fussy not to be satisfied. Although the Island is quiet, there is still plenty to do, the sea was surprisingly warm, and crystal clear, plenty of lovely leisurely walks. Spa is (according to my wife), very relaxing and enjoyable. A very peaceful relaxing holiday, would most definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98Rjw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked this holiday with Thomson for my daughters 24 birthday her boy friend and my wife and 17 year old son. Flew with Thomson airways although very cramped it only lasted just over 3 hours so was bearable .Coach from airport to ferry then coach from ferry to hotel was on time and very pleasant,same on the way back.

Hotel check in was carried out in a few minutes and we were in are rooms.Rooms are a bit basic but very clean and fine for what you need them for.Hot water for shower or bath could some times run out about 6 o'clock but it still came through warm so not really a major problem.

The hotel and grounds were all kept in a lovely condition as were swimming pools.The sun-beds around the pool area were very uncomfortable and by week 2 i had to use the bar chairs to sit on.
The view from the hotel across to the sea was stunning at night and by day and was one of the most beautiful hotel settings i have ever seen.The island itself again is absolutely break taking and is probably one of the prettiest places i have ever been too.CAR HIRE IS A MUST.

We were on full board and the food was fine although after the second week it got a bit repetitive but there was always some thing tasty to eat.Drinks at the hotel were a bit pricey but know more than you expect from any 4 star hotel.

As mentioned on other reviews the inside dining area although ran very well and we never really had any problems getting a table was a lot like a canteen, you just ate your food and was gone.In my opinion this hotel mainly caters for eastern europeans such as Romania,Bulgaria,Serbia etc and i think every family had at least 2 children under the age of 2 and they did not cry every meal time they screamed the place down at every meal which made it a very loud and not enjoyable to eat food.
If you went outside to eat it was a lot more peaceful but nearly every table had at least one chain smoker on it , who would smoke all through the meal.
If you do not like screaming children or are against smoking at meal times you may have a problem here, smoking seems to be a national sport.

If this review seems a bit mean it is not suppose to be.We had a brilliant holiday here,the staff was excellent the food was good and the views breath taking.If the hotel wants to attract more customers from the uk (which may be they don't ) they need to have a much better non smoking areas and may be an adults only restaurant ,swimming pool and drinks bar.There was know where to go day or night to avoid very loud screaming children or chain smokers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ellis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic 2 week stay.

From the time we checked in at Gatwick everything went well.

On arriving we were met and without delay shown to our coaches for the short trip to catch the ferry over to Thassos, this is a very different way to start a holiday and allowed us to get a cooling drink and some sun on the 50 minute crossing. The coach then took us to the hotel where despite some 30 people all trying to check in at once this was completed with the minimum of delay. The restaurant had also been kept open for those on full board to have lunch.

the bedrooms are of standard hotel type and clean and comfortable.

The restaurant provided great choice of food with very little repitition, a lot of the fresh salads and vegetables are actually grown on site, a good selection of wines. We were looked after well by all the restaurant staff and in particular Leo and Dana.

In the evening you can walk in to Potos which has a small selection of restaurants and bars or do as we did stay and enjoy cocktails prepared by Tasos in the pool bar, I would certainly recomend the Mojito's!

The beach is made up of sand and shingle, mainly the later so a pair of beach shoes will certainly help and the loungers are plentiful.

James our Thomson rep was first class and has a real passion for the island.


In all if you want a great relaxing traditional Greek sunshine holiday then I cannot fault this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy5047148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely Location and Thassos is beautiful would definatley go back, but to another hotel.
It was our 1st wedding aniversary and we were looking forward to a relaxing & fun week with my parents. (also celebrating their wedding anniversary).
Room was standard, cleanish and tidy, we were on the ground floor with a patio and there was no privacy between rooms as the panel was metal mesh so most people were hanging towels up so you felt more comfortable to sit out in your nightie in the morning and a have a cup of tea! You could hear every noise from either side of the rooms and above, and the beds were rock hard. Both my parents and i went to reception to ask if we could be moved to a 1st floor room, somewhere with a bit more privacy, we were told they had nothing for a couple of days. quite a few other people complained and went via the rep James, not sure if they had any luck but we certainly didn't.

Could not fault most of the food as we were half board, but if you bought food and drink in the hotel other than what you'd already paid for it was expensive. Mythos beer and local wine was cheaper to buy, but if your a spirit drinker like me, you'll pay 7 euro's 50 per drink which was really steep, so we drank in Potos town or got are own from the supermarket. Defeated the objective of wanting to mingle with other people in the hotel.

I had a bad experince in the spa with my facial, paying 30 euro's for the special, (should of been 60 euro's) it was a quick cleanse, scrub and massage if you can call it that, then left me for 20-25 minutes with a mask on. I suggested that i could of done this in my own room!! I also had a small sore patch on my neck which i asked the therapist to avoid, a day later it had spead and was really sore and angry, i'm now left with a light patch on my neck. The therapist was rude and smelt of cigerettes when she came back to take my mask off, so she must of had a nice tea and fag break whilst i was paying for her time.

Did complain and the Customer relations manager was not that bothered, spoke to Thompson rep, James whom was lovely but explained it was down to hotel's discretion to refund me, which they did not. (they offered a bottle of wine or another treatment which quite frankly was the last thing i wanted to do.) The hotel was not interested in resolving and this really spoilt part of the holiday we booked knowing there was a spa there.

Last night before we left, loud music until 4am, a wedding was going on and there seemed no respect for other guests what so ever, even familes with small children. Quite a few people complained, but again they wanted to pass the buck.

Sad as it's a lovely hotel, in a beautiful location, but the feeling of the managment team in Alexandra Beach is that they have become complacent and really don't care about resolving an issue that potientially has dented your long awaited, and supposed to be relaxing holiday.
Sorry but would not go back, would rather pay less and get genuine, excellent hospitaility and made to feel that our custom is valued.

Not the Wedding Anniversay we had hoped for, but the company with my parents made up for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EmilyjoDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
4.0 mi away
Aeolis Thassos Palace
Aeolis Thassos Palace
#1 of 2 in Astris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort Potos, Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing