We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a quiet relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I'd love to tell you this place is crap and then you won't come here and we'll have the place to ourselves but I can't,
If you want a quiet relaxed and chilled out break this place is ideal.
Very clean, good size rooms, good selection of food at dinner, all good, stonking breakfasts. Attentive and helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Two nice pools, great beach, and a spa and a gym.
Really friendly environment. Potos village has a few bars and restaurants for a break from the hotel 10 minutes walk away but if you go half board there really is no need

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tattooed-oik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    255
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
261
326
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Ups: on beach
Down: beach is small and pebbly

Up: good food at restaurant
Down:drinks are expensive

Up: simply thassos trip and BBQ cruise trip were amazing
Down: massedonia trip was horrendous, serious rip off can't stress enough DO NOT DO IT WITH THOMSON the rep Couldnt care less when a coach full of us said the trip was rubbish,

Up: thassos and the hotel
Down: Dont go with thomson you will be dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I was so looking forward to this holiday but it wasn't what I expected. Firstly they charge a fortune for the rooms which were very basic. I stayed around the pool area as the beach was too busy and couldn't find a beach chair that was free. The service was terrible, and the staff were rude, as if they didn't want to be there. It took forever to get served and when you complained about the time it took to get your order you were treated with a bad attitude from the woman behind the bar. The buffet was beautiful I must say the food is the best bit. One disappointment though, on BBQ night the bees were landing on the meat which was exposed and not covered and when we complained to the cook he said it was 'good for the meat'!! The manager said the same! How can you say that bees around exposed meat is good for the meat! Hence to say I never ate any of the meat. Entertainment needs to be improved as well. Nothing much during the week, a Greek night with some middle aged singer that can't even speak English no movie nights, so there was nothing to do at the resort at night. The pool shut at 6pm which is ridiculous so you can't swim anywhere after 6pm when it's hot. They say it's to clean the pool but that's a poor excuse. It was hot so I wanted to swim and couldn't even swim at the beach as it was very dark there at night. The young trainee waiters were very nice but they couldn't speak English. Obviously employed for 'cheap' wages, what's the point if they can't understand what you want? There was a kids section which had lots of great food for kids I thought that was fantastic, but I didn't go with children. I went to the day spa and found the staff were okay they showed me through once and I had to try and work out where to go and how long to go into the steam room jacuzzi etc. I couldn't go into the pool as there were two men there cleaning it and putting chemicals the whole time I was there so what was the point? Couldn't they do this before the spa opened in the morning? The wifi was terrible I couldn't get any signal it went down for two days their excuse was there were too many people logging on and there was nothing we could do. Bit hard when I'm trying to check emails from work - they charge a fortune to stay there and can't even get their wifi to work properly. It's a great place for kids but not to go with friends as it's really noisy and hard to find somewhere quiet. I went to Poto during the day and in the evening to find some peace and quiet. Overall, it was a nice place but they really need to improve their service and entertainment.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank AussieTraveljourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Having travelled to Greece for many years we know not to expect to much from our accomodation, but the Alexandra Beach is an exception to the rule!
On arrival we were a little underwhelmed until we made our way into reception. We received a very warm welcome and were efficiently given all the normal info and given our room key. The reception was very light and airy and really set the tone for the rest of the hotel.
There are numerous 2 storey blocks of rooms all around the resort so it had a nice village feel to it. We were really pleased with our room, unlike most Greek hotels it was really quite modern in decor and well equipped. The air con (free) was well received!!

The hotel is right on the beach, and is meant to be exclusively for hotel residents (the loungers and umbrellas are free). There is a security guard at the hotel entrance and we did see him turn some people away although some resilient beach goers did make it on through an alternative route, but this did not happen very often.

The beach is sand and shingle. Entrance to the sea is very rocky so sea shoes are a must. It isn't really a child friendly beach in that respect. We did a good bit of snorkelling - lots of fish to see.

We are not generally ones to sit around the pool, although do like to have the option. The 2 pools were very small and got very busy. For the size of the hotel, the pools were disappointing.

The food was excellent. The main restaurant is buffet style (in the evening men must wear long trousers) but you can also forego your evening meal in the main restaurant to dine at the hotel's taverna for half price. The quality of food in there is really high. It is worth paying that bit extra for a treat. We also ate in the taverna and snack bar at lunch time. Both were good, although we found that wasps were a bit of a problem during our stay - not sure if they were attracted by the pine trees. By the end of the 2 weeks we have finally become accustomed to them and thankfully we avoided any stings!!

Drinks were a bit on the pricey side but comparable to prices in resort. We think it was just a case of the pound being so weak that things seem more expensive than usual.

Evening entertainement was good and both the poolside bar and the rooftop bar were good on an evening for relaxing although there was only one waitress serving in the rooftop bar so service was slow. Some of the views from the poolside bar were amazing.

We used the spa a lot. Every treatment we had was fab and the girls there are great. Expect to pay similar prices as you would in the UK. For a Greek hotel we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the spa and its facilities.

We chose Thassos as we like quiet beach holidays with not so many children. Although we travelled in peak season the place was not over-run with children. I don't know if the idea of a ferry ride to the island puts some families off from booking, but for us it was all part of the trip. Thassos is like Greece used to be, 10 years or so ago. If you're looking for night clubs and bar after bar, this is not the place for you. Having said that, the nearby resport of Potos does get a bit lively later on so those looking for a bit of action will not be entirely disappointed. Equally, if you want a really chilled out evening there are places to suit you as well.

Car hire is a must. We had a car for 4 days (you can travel round the whole island in about 2.5 hrs!) and got to see some fantastic places and some great beaches. You can see why its popular with Greek holiday makers when you get out of resort. The Jeep safari is also a fab way of seeing places a bit more off the beaten track.

All in all, we had a great time at the Alexandra Beach and would definitely go back. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help and the hotel was lovely. Food and drink was good and there was plenty of sun - what more could you want?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joandmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

This review is just my opinion of the Alexandra Beach - I appreciate that everyone has different expectations from a holiday and that their views are probably very different to mine. We stayed at Alexandra Beach from 5h to 19th September and flew from Birmingham.

Getting there : absolutely no problems at all. We booked with Thomson only two weeks before we left (a previously booked holiday was cancelled). The transfers were so smooth and relaxing, from airport to ferry to hotel and back again - I think the best we've ever experienced. Michael, the holiday representative was excellent.

Hotel : Firstly, please do not confuse four star at home with four star in Greece. The location of the Alexandra Beach is superb, not just for the beach, which is mainly shingle, but for the local villages of Potos and Pefkari - just a ten minute walk away for both. The setting is and views are superb with attractive gardens - and some excellent sunsets. There are, however, issues which I think could do with some serious rethinking. They are mentioned below :

Restaurant : I cannot say the food is bad food, it is not, but very monotonous. Breakfast is breakfast - there was always a very good selection from hot to cold. Dinner, however, is a different story - we just became very bored with the second week being an exact repeat of the first. I read an earlier review - submitted by Miles (we were obviously there at the same time) and he mentioned the episode with the wine. We also witnessed this (in fact the wine was confiscated until after dinner and the guest said he was made to feel like a naughty schoolboy) - the hotel should really supply wine by the glass, surely this is not too much to ask. When a complaint was made, reception were apparently not interested. Also, this is the only hotel we have ever stayed in where filtered water was not available in the restaurant unless you bought a 1.5 litre bottle for 2 euro. You can buy six bottles from the supermarket in Potos for under two euro. It became a principle in the end - we did not buy drinks in the retaurant. Also, there was an upset one morning at breakfast when a guest wanted to take her coffee outside on to the terrace so that she could have a cigarette - she 'was not allowed' and ws told that if she wanted coffee outside then she could buy it from the pool bar - very petty! We had a late lunch in the taverna on the day we arrived, which was ok - cannot go wrong with a Greek salad though. We chose not to eat in the Taverna at any other time as we felt that even with a 50% discount, a charge should not be made at all. Most other hotels, when either half board or All Inclusive, offer an alterntive eating area at no extra cost - as long as you make a reservation. At the beginning of our second week, we went into the restaurant (more like a canteen) for dinner and almost everything was tepid in temperature (the soup was actually cold). My husband complained, but there was no interest at all with him being told 'this is the Greek way'. I don't thinks so! However, the next evening the food temperature was very different and you could not actually pick up the plates without almost burning your fingers - someone must have heard! After this, we ate in Potos a few times - the atmosphere was great with tavernas on the beach, followed by a drink or two (or three!) at the Boomerang Bar - Alex and Abe are fantastic hosts.

Rooms : our room was a ground floor room with a garden view - big enough for two, with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. It was obviously a family room as we had two couch type beds, which would suit young children (under 12). Very clean and towels changed every day - with only one exception. I had the worst two weeks sleep ever - I have NEVER slept in such a hard bed. Also, if you want to read in bed (or at any time after sunset) please take a torch. The lighting in our room was appalling - very gloomy. No way could I put my make up on unless I was in the bathroom, which is fine but increases the time getting ready as I had to wait until my husband had finished showering. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom, which was ok for me as I only have short hair. If you have long thick hair I would recommend that you take your own hairdryer, or you won't get to dinner before 9.30pm, as it lacked any serious power. Airconditioning worked well, there is a large fridge, which houses the mini-bar (2.50 euros for a can of coke) but you can just push this to one side and put your own drinks in the fridge. These were NOT confiscated!

Facilities : we did not use the facilities, with the exception of me making the most of the 50% discount from the spa for one treatment and having a pedicure, which was excellent. The pool area looked good with the pool bar area and terrace being very spacious with lots of seating. Baguettes (sorry, soggy bread rolls) are available from the beach bar at four euros each - certainly NOT to be recommended! There is mini golf for the children - only six holes and a charge of five euros per person per game - a rip off. There is also a charge for beach towels unless, apparently, you have a superior room. This should be mentioned in the Thomson brochure as the charge is one euro per towel per day. We bought a couple of towels from the village - uncanny really, as this is the only time we have not taken our own beach towels, thinking that with a hotel of this supposed calibre, beach towels would be freely available. Do take beach footwear, to wear when swimming, as it is very difficult getting in and out of the sea from the beach as it is so rocky. Swim from the pontoon, which is better. We did one excursion, booked through Michael, which was the jeep safari. One to recommend and well worth the money - an excellent day out.

Overall, we felt the hotel lacked atmosphere and did nothing to encourage guests to stay there after dinner. We don't go on holiday looking for entertainment as we usually find our own but there did not seem to be much for those guests who wanted to stay around. Maybe, we didn't look hard enough! A good mix of guests - at this time of year there were very few children around - mainly under four. I would like to repeat that this review is based on my opinions only - the holiday was value for money, even if we did eat outside of the hotel a few times. Would we return - only if we could book on a bed and breakfast basis and I could have a new matress! Would I recommend it - everyone has different ideas and expectation for their holidays but I would not tell anyone to avoid Alexandra Beach. At the end of the day it is individual choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsChris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORTHING
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

This is our second visit to this Hotel. Last time was late August 2008. Hotel has improved since last time with a better beach and new improved Taverna. Food as good as before and Restaurant staff are excellent. Roof top bar still has slow service but pleasant views. Pool bar is best with attentive staff. All in all a good all round family/couples Hotel where you can certainly feel safe. However a lot more expensive this time due to Greek taxes. Car Hire is a must as Bus Service is almost non existent, good thing though no traffic lights! Local Boomerang Bar in Potos is best value for drink prices and have free Parasol and loungers for customers. They also have Live SKY footie. Best Beaches are on East Coast with Paradise and Golden Beaches being our favorites. Thassos Town worth a visit with plenty of places to eat and drink. This Island is a very quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

There are some really good reviews before me.

So the service and cleanliness are superb; location - Thassos is not the best place in Greece for sure - next time we will choose Halkidiki or any other southern island for sure; food - good and tasty (can be better, can be worse), the hotel tavern is more expensive than the Potos ones ; beach - it is a little bit rocky with lots of sea urchins, but the water is crystal clear (mind that the floating dock mentioned in previous reviews is removed in late September).
If you insist on visiting Thassos this hotel is a perfect choice!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.2 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
12.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
10.3 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort Potos, Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing