We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Eva Palace
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife & I had a wonderful holiday between 26/8/13 & 9/9/13.After more than 40 visits to greece & her islands I can honestly say that this hotel was by far the best one we have ever stayed at.Reception book in was fast & efficient,we were shown to our room on the first floor by the same person who booked us in (this was a nice touch).Upon entering the room, the view was spectacular/large balcony/comfy chairs & because we had an end room amazing views to the front of kommeno bay & the Albanian coast & to the side over to corfu town & it's port.the room was a generous size with fridge/CD player/tea & coffee facilities/big wardrobe with loads of hangers & shelf space/drawer unit, bathroom with shower/bath/twin sinks/hairdryer/shower gel /shampoo etc.FOOD: restaurant with indoor/outdoor seating,food was hot(extensive choice varied daily).seating was always available& service was fast & friendly. Made 1 visit to a la carte restaurant,food & service was as good as any top class restaurant!!.BARS: the main bar was on the third floor with outdoor balcony seating area with spectacular views & indoor area with very comfortable couches/armchairs again with amazing views through the full length picture Windows.the staff were exceptional, helpful, friendly, efficient, very quick to serve orders & nothing was too much trouble.POOL AREAS: 2 pools accessible by 40+ steps from the hotel/plentiful Sun beds & mattresses/pool bar serving fast food or snacks for lunch or next door is restaurant serving good choice of hot& cold food at lunchtime.The only constructive criticism I have of the pool areas is that some of the surfaces around the pool are breaking up , look a mess & can be painful to walk across.(management please note action needed!.) BEACH: a short walk from pool down a gentle slope leads to the beach/beach bar, Tara is very clean with clear water & lots of sun beds.GOING OUT: the hotel is quite isolated but is very relaxing because of it. Hotel bus to corfu town daily at 10am/returns 2pm.There is a super taverna approx. 250m up the hill from reception serving authentic greek food in sizeable portions, again this has spectacular views over the bay.WASPS/MOSQUITO'S : not a problem at all the hotel has put out large quantities of wasp traps after recent criticism & these seem to be working very effectively ,they even provide plug in MOSQUITO repellents & supply the tablets for them in the room( this is something I have never experienced at any other hotel) if you take adequate precautions in addition to this(we find jungle formula max roll on 100% effective!) SUMMARY: if anybody can find fault(other than constructive) at this hotel they are either impossible to please,looking for faults or are serial complainers!!.

Room Tip: All inclusive(called premium plus at hotel) is a must as drinks can be quite expensive & it incl...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAVSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
There are newer reviews for Grecotel Eva Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a week on the Thompson majesty and it was just as we expected .we knew we were in a quiet location which was fine as we wanted to chill out. There are some nice walks if you want to Ventura out you can also walk to the bus stop bit of a trek for the bus to corfu town 2euros or catch the hotel bus at 10euros return.
On arrival the reception were very professional and showed us to a lovely room on the fifth floor with wonderful views of the bay and the sea.
Lots of steps as already noted lovely pool area no problem getting a sun bed. Some areas are a bit smelly but soon worked this out. We tried the beach one day can be quite shady and as we are sun people preferred the pool.
You definitely need the all inclusive package as this is an expensive hotel for food and drink. The staff in the bar and at the pool were great and soon got to know us. We were a party of eight and ate in the a la carte one night to celebrate my birthday we had a lovely meal and a cake delivered to our room and at the meal. We found the hotel house wine to be of very poor quality but there was plenty of other drinks available.
The entertainment at night is there if you want to watch a musical duo or something of that type not that good.You are a bit stuck at night for good entertainment unless you go into Gouvia the next town or have an early night although the views from the balcony are stunning.
From the reviews this hotel is what we expected the food was good nice location .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roseDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

On arrival spent a bit of time filling in forms, this was the only downside to the holiday.

Room perfect, everything you are looking for at hand.

Staff couldn't do enough for you.

Lovely pools - private beach down a few stairs.

Recommend you take the drinks package, not that expensive.

Saves time with payment later.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Higher floor will provide bets view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank THOMAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in the Grecotel Eva Palace in mid September. We had just come from five star accomodation in Santorini and Mykonos...

We were disappointed.

Put simply it is a 3 maybe 4 star hotel. The check in was standard and they sent us to the pool to wait for our room to be ready, but when we got there there were no towels available! The bell boy was gruff and unfriendly. The pool area seems nice at first but the smell from the nearby bins is a bit strong! And there are alot of wasps! (To be fair there seem to be alot of wasps everywhere in Corfu).

There was only one lift on our side of the hotel which meant a wait everytime. The gym facilities are sub par for a hotel of this size.

We rented a car (thank god!) and couldn't wait to get out of the place on arrival, (highly recommend getting a car as you really can't see much without one, we paid €50 a day for a convertible nissan micra).

Our room was clean and the bed looked nice (not as comfy as it looked unfortunately). We initially asked if there was an ungrade available but were told the hotel was full.

Breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice but again the service was ok but nothing special.


All in all it is a big resort hotel with a decent pool area and private beach. The breakfast is good and the rooms are reasonably sized and clean. But if you are expecting great service and 5-star accomodation, look elsewhere. The hotel is old and it shows.

Room Tip: Our room 530 had a view over the front of the hotel and we could hear all noises in the corridor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratos M, General Manager at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guests,

We were very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Grecotel Eva Palace!
We understand that you had to wait for your room upon arrival. We are sincerely sorry about this but the official check in time is 2pm (internationally) and during periods of high occupancy, we must wait for the previous guests to depart before we can prepare the room for the next arrival. Pool/Beach towels are provided in all guest rooms but not at the pool area. All you needed to do was ask and we would have been happy to provide some towels whilst you waited for your room!

Please note also, that if you had informed us of your arrival time prior to arrival, we would possibly have been able to offer you earlier access to your room. This is very useful information which assists our planning and room allocation.

Regarding your request for an upgrade to a sea view room, we are sincerely sorry that we were
unable to provide one on this occasion as all the higher categories had been previously booked by other guests. Admittedly it is very seldom that we are not able to offer any alternatives in other room types but the hotel was indeed extremely full during your 4-day stay at the hotel.

We accept your comments about the service and accommodation and take your criticism on board with the very best intentions! We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in future and offering you a more satisfactory experience in general!

Sincerely,

Mr. Stratos Mavralexakis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Amazing hotel and surroundings, we had a very warm welcome from the staff when we arrived at the hotel and were shown to our room.
The hotel was so clean and rooms were spotless, the view from the room was very pretty!
We hired a speed boat for the day from the Eva Palace Water Sports - 160 euros from 9 am 6 pm including the fuel, we stopped at all different parts of the Island and went swimming in the clear crystal shallow waters.
I would recommend going into Corfu Town in the evening it really comes to life and had a lot of atmosphere, one restaurant I would really recommend is 'TO MIKE' it does the mot amazing food ever and is up a side street with a lot of character and the service was fantastic!!!! We went there twice and got the same thing. One thing I would say though - the hotel is quite isolated and with me and my boyfriend being 22 & 24 we wanted to explore Corfu town in the evening but the taxi fair is a standard 50 euro return so hiring a car might be a good option if you want to explore different areas.
The food and drinks were top class, you had a good selection and quality of food!
The cocktails were outstanding and of very good quality, the service was fantastic in the Bellini bar and pool bar.
We would return but next time hiring a car!
Thanks Eva Palace!!

Room Tip: A sea view room on the 3rd or 4th floor will give you the best views!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMB-11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Eva Palace and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Arrival and check in was very smooth and I like the way you are taken to your room where the workings of the safe etc. are explained. Our room was very clean with a wonderful view. We were on the end of the row so had views to the front and to the side.
We arrived quite late but managed to get down in time for dinner, and were made very welcome by all the staff. The restaurant staff were wonderful, we never had to wait for a table and never had a dirty plate on our table. The quality of the food is good and varies from day to day. We used the a al carte restaurant once and were very impressed with the food and service and I can recommend the fennel soup.
There is a very nice bar for evening use where you can sit either in of outside with very friendly staff and entertainment on some evenings. The drinks menu is good for all inclusive, and if you ask you can get popcorn instead of nuts.
My only criticism of the Eva Palace is the number of steps to the pool. My husband is waiting for a hip replacement, so when I booked I had checked for this and only read about 'gently stepped paths through the gardens, going down to the pool', not very steep uneven steps with plants growing over the hand rails. Luckily lunch is served near the pool area so my husband only had to do the trip once a day. There is a sloped path from the pool area to the beach which was easier and worth the extra effort. The beach is beautiful and the sea very inviting.
If my husband gets his hip sorted we would almost certainly return to the Eva Palace. We did suggest that they provide some sort of help for guests who have difficulties with the steps, i.e. a golf cart.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daphne565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 6 September and had a fantastic break.

On arrival we were upgraded to a Deluxe Bungalow that was handily positioned between the pool and the main restaurant. It was spacious, clean and also fully air-conditioned, which was useful as the weather was touching 30+ degrees centigrade each day.

Great selection of food and drinks from the restaurants and the pool bar. We found the all inclusive package (premium plus) to be remarkable value and would certainly recommend it.

Hotel staff were brilliant - friendly and helpful, and we always had service with a smile.

No problems getting a sun lounger at the pool or the beach which was also a big plus.

In short, a great holiday. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonLB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
11.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
12.9 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
635 reviews
7.3 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Eva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Eva Palace

Address: P.O. Box 57 | Tzavros, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range: $140 - $1,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Eva Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grecotel Eva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Eva Palace Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Corfu/Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing