We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highly enjoyable beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grecotel Corfu Imperial
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have just returned from a highly enjoyable holiday at this hotel. The location is fab and the staff extremely helpful. I was slightly concerned after reading some of the comments here but relieved to find the negative comments certainly didn't match our experience. It's a hotel beside the beach in a popular holiday location and it's unfair to compare it to the likes of The Dorchester as some reviewers appear to do. The description of the hotel on the website (and the price) is an accurate indicator of what is offered. If you want a comfortable beach holiday with stunning views, good food and friendly service then this hotel is ideal. Should any issues have arisen the army of guest relations staff (as others have commented, Sophia is top class) would no doubt have promptly addressed them. We don't usually do return visits but we are planning to return next year and take our toddler with us for his first overseas jaunt. Our only slight niggle was the wifi strength - it was weak but I was still able to get a signal in our room and on the beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 908 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

I do love Corfu and particularly Kommeno bay and the area around the hotel which indeed is probably one of the better choices in the area . Try to spend as little time in a hotel as possible.

Let me start with good things :

(+++) Access to/from airport and Corfu time - up to 30 mins
(+++) Well managed water sports team, very supportive and friendly guys, lot of activities
(==) Do rent boat and try to spend day in the Bay - sailing close to Berbati and Pt St Stefano - there are some amazing, turquoise water swimming sites.
(---) 95% occupancy with Russian guests - with all it takes unfortunately
(--) Bfast is generous but again, with hoards of Russian guests it reminds a wrestling competition
(---) I could not believe hotel rooms prices they advertise on their web - rather went through agent who came in with a substantial discount (with some of the water front villas it was rather well worth to rent house with staff)
(--) Room maintenance and cleanliness below expectation
(---) Wifi access worked only in the reception room area

Room Tip: Take the cheapest room, do some skiing and rent boat for days trip. Eat out (dinner and lunches), co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Guests,


Thank you for your Review of our hotel, the Corfu Imperial Grecotel Exclusive Resort, on Trip Advisor. Although your opinion of our resort is not positive, we appreciate your point of view and thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

Fact: We are a short drive from Corfu airport. This is a benefit if long transfers are not your thing.

Fact: We are lucky enough to have one of the best Watersports facilities on the island!

Fact: It really is a great idea to hire a boat and explore the islands' shoreline! If you are not the adventurous type however, the Guest Service team will be only to happy to arrange a boat with a skipper instead.

Fiction: The hotel has never had a percentage as high as 95% of guests of one nationality! We are proud to have a very well balanced and varied guest mix. We welcome guests of all nationalities and are grateful to all of them for choosing the Corfu Imperial and Grecotel for their holidays.

Fact: Our Breakfast buffets are generous and extensive. Visiting the Buffet is a tasty & pleasurable experience. It is nothing like a 'wrestling competition'! For those who prefer to enjoy Breakfast in the privacy and comfort of their accommodation, we can offer a rich breakfast
served to the room.

Fact: Our guests can obtain competitive prices when booking through a Travel Agency or Tour Operator, especially if booking a flight, transfer and meal inclusive holiday. However, special offers and discounts are also available when booking directly with the hotel.

Fact: A private villa holiday (self-catering) may be cheaper than booking a room, suite or villa at the Corfu Imperial. The question is: Will the private villa holiday offer the luxury and level of service that is provided at the Corfu Imperial? Doubtful.

Fact: Our WIFI Internet connectivity is not the best or the strongest, but it is adequate for basic activities of our holiday guests. Improving the quality of this facility is an important priority for the future.

Fact: The Corfu Imperial is not the obvious holiday choice for active and adventurous guests who enjoy a lot of sport and exploration. It is perhaps more suited to people who are seaking a relaxing and luxurious holiday experience with comforable guestrooms & facilities, top quality dining options, comlemented by friendly & professional service.

Thank you again for visiting and for contributing on Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

The Management Team
Corfu Imperial
Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 day vacation at Greotel Imperial in Corfu and I have to say that on the whole we had a pleasurable stay.The staff is friendly and helpful, but there is a girl named Chloe who with her wide, bright smile made us forget any minor shortcomings of the hotel.If it hadn't been for her we wouldn't have had such a memorable holiday for sure!

Iris from Romania

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank iris_ia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review!
Your words about our service and employees are very rewarding and encouraging!
We are lucky to have lovely Chloe on our Guest Relations team and are happy that you enjoyed interacting with her! We will pass on to her your compliments and she will be pleased.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Corfu Imperial very soon.

With thanks and best regards,

The Management Team
'Corfu Imperial
Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Honest review - just returned from Imperial, Corfu (July 2014), Terrible experience. I live in London and travelled the world, this is the worst hotel I've ever been to. There is No Wi-fi in any of the rooms (even the most expensive ones), impossible to dial-in to a conference call (from any phones, you need to go to the reception to call work), Wi-fi is VERY slow, lots of people use rude words when they try to connect from the reception - the only place. 4 beaches don't exist - tiny, no spaces, snakes on the beaches. Hotel stuff is very rude, spoken english is poor quality, low water pressure in most of the rooms, ANTS are in the rooms - don't stay in the main building, bungalows are full of ants too. Food is OKish, but nothing special at all, cheap champagne at breakfast, no decent wine selection; no pram for the kid (need to order several days in advance!); Been to Eva Palace too - you need to be a goat to go up and down numerous stais from the beach to the restaurant/lobby, no thanks! Entertainment program is OK. Please do not go there, go to Peloponnese where for the same money staff in white gloves will be serving you a wonderful dinner and breakfast. Travelled with 4 year old son and my mother, then joined by my husband who's still in shock! Spent 3.5 weeks in there. Never been to the pool because we were there to swim in the sea, we have swimming pools at home :-)

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel alltogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guests,


Thank you for contributing to the profile of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry to read your strong words of disappointment with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. Of course our primary aim and objective is for our guests to depart from the Corfu Imperial satisfied and relaxed from an enjoyable and fulfilling holiday. We accept that this cannot always be the case but we are very keen to know which ‘pieces’ of our facilities and services package do not please and fail to live up to our guests expectations.

The Kommeno peninsular is dotted with small sandy coves, with quiet and protected waters. Long stretches of beach in Corfu can only be found along the West coast of the island. When the Corfu Imperial is full, our beaches are also well occupied and although there are enough sun beds and umbrellas to cover the needs of our hotel residents it is sometimes necessary for one of our beach attendants to assist in finding a suitable spot.

With regards to the WIFI access, we offer our guests complimentary connectivity throughout the hotel’s public spaces and in all accommodation. During times of peak usage and especially when all users are handling heavy software the speed can sometimes decrease. As an island we are still also largely dependent on the quality of our provider. We are currently working on improving this experience for our guests. This is a priority for us!

Snakes are not friendly creatures but they are a fact of Greek nature during summer. Most of them are totally harmless, they avoid the sand and tend to be present in long grassy areas (we have very few such areas in the hotel). We take all legally and environmentally permitted measures to keep them at bay and these measures are effective.
Ants on the other hand, are attracted by fruit, sugary foods or crumbs that may be left exposed in one’s accommodation, especially when windows or balconies are left ajar.

We are not clear from your review as to whether you consider the food at our hotel to be ‘OKish’ or ‘horrible’. These are two very different adjectives. We would have appreciated some further explanation about what did not please you, in an effort to improve our quality for the future.

'Grecobaby' is a very successful system whereby guests can pre-book baby facilities such as strollers, changing mats etc. As we do not have an endless inventory of these goods, it is advisable to pre-book in advance in order to ensure the equipment is in your accommodation when you arrive. We are sorry that there were no prams available when you requested one, although we have no note of your request.

We cannot help but feel puzzled and surprised that during your three and a half week-long stay, you did not find a moment to mention any of your concerns to a member of staff or management. We have no recollection or note of your complaints on file and we keep a detailed log on a daily basis. Mentioning these issues would have given us and your family the opportunity to communicate and explore the possibilities of improving your experience.

We have 5 Guest Relations representatives who are constantly talking to our guests and are always available for discussion. On the 3rd day of your stay, you received in your accommodation, as do all our guests, a letter of encouragement to mention any possible concerns or requirements to our hotel’s customer service team. Sadly, we received no response to this either.

Normally, when we read a guest review on Trip Advisor, we know exactly who was written it.
This is one of the very rare situations where we are really unable to determine your identity!
We are sincerely sorry, once again, for failing to satisfy and exceed your expectations.
We apologize for the total lack of communication which, we feel is the ‘root’ of your disappointment.

In retrospect it is almost impossible to change your negative impressions.
We can only hope that you will consider returning to the Corfu Imperial or another Grecotel in future, so that we may have another chance at showing you the service and hospitality for which we are proud.

Sincerely,

The Management Team
Corfu Imperial
Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We just spent six days at this hotel, and it was indeed as marvelous as other reviewers have suggested. This is clearly one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. As some others have noted, while our room was not really of five-star quality (furniture a bit rustic and bathroom quite basic), the rest of the hotel and the surrounding grounds well make up for it. The views from the hotel are beautiful, and the beaches are nice. The pool is quite large, with a lovely area around it. Our bungalow had a private balcony overlooking the hotel gardens, with a view of the water in the background. This added significantly to the pleasure of our stay, relative to an ordinary hotel room. We were also happy to have chosen a bungalow with a garden view rather than a beach view, as the bungalows looking out onto the beach seem to offer no privacy.

As other reviewers have indicated, the staff at the hotel is exceptional: extremely pleasant and attentive. We especially appreciated Chloe and Aleko in the main building. We ate at the poolside snack bar on several occasions, enjoying the great views, good food, and friendly service. The breakfast buffet was also impressive. We also had a romantic dinner one evening at the Yali fish restaurant, which is right on the water. The restaurant is expensive, but the view was spectacular and the food was excellent.

Following the advice of other reviewers, we bought bottles of water and drinks at the little shop in the hotel, which significantly reduced the cost relative to using the minibar. We also walked three or four minutes up the hill from the hotel to a snack bar/restaurant, where the prices are cheaper than at the hotel and the view overlooking the bay is lovely. In addition, we discovered some more snack bars with different, but equally majestic, views just a couple of minutes past the entrance to the Grecotel Eva Palace. To get there, take the road to the right just after the Paradisos snack bar.

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is in a secluded location. This can be a disadvantage, in that there is no immediate access to shops or restaurants upon exiting the hotel. At the same time, the hotel’s location lends itself beautifully to a wonderfully relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pjscz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORFU_IMPERIAL, Manager at Grecotel Corfu Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for reviewing the Corfu Imperial on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel.
Thank you for commending us on our service and friendly staff!
Your kind words are a great boost of confidence and energy, motivating us to keep smiling through the busy months ahead!

We hope to welcome you back to the Corfu Imperial for another holiday very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management Team
Corfu Imperial
Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent 8 days at the end of June at this fabulous hotel perched on a peninsula with unbelievable views of land and sea. The staff are all friendly and ready to assist throughout the hotel - even the chamber maids made an effort to make you feel on holiday. The facilities at the hotel are good especially the main pool which is perfect to accommodate all the guests. The spa treatments were a little disappointing but we learned that the facilities and treatments were being reviewed. The shuttle service twice a day is very welcome as it takes about 20 mnutes to get into the town centre where you can do some shopping or just walk around and sample some of the local bars and restaurants. It's always nice to have a town nearby to visit and explore just for the changement de decor. The food at the hotel as many reviewers have said is excellent with a wide choice at the breakfast buffet (with excellent seating facilities) and in the evenings at the main buffet restaurant or at the a la carte restaurants. The latter are not cheap but the quality is excellent and worth paying that bit extra for. Our favourite was Yali situated on a deck with a fantastic view on the bay - you can also have lunch there or by the pool two excellent choices with healthy food for those keeping an eye on the old waistline. We had booked a bungalow near the beach in front of the hotel and were all in all pleased with the accommodation although Wi-Fi in the bungalow was almost non-existent and there was no stand up shower which we had expected when we made the booking.This made us hesitate to give the hotel 5 stars but when considering all the pros with this hotel and management's commitment to make imporvements going forward we felt obliged to give the hotel such a rating. We combined our holiday with a sailing holiday this year so we had a week of sailing and a week of pure relaxation at this hotel a choice we do not regret at all. We'll be back !

Room Tip: If you wish a little bit of extra luxury the bungalows near the beach opposite the main building are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 23Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in late June. The service is absolutely fabulous. All the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient without being too over the top. A particular thank you to the guy who runs Yali during the day and the girl with the dark hair who works at the pool bar - both went that extra mile!

Room - we had a double on the 3rd floor. It was clean and pleasant with a huge bed. The view directly from the balcony was fabulous. To the left hand side it looked a bit rough but we did book a standard room after all.

There were 3 private beaches which were just a bonus for us. The views from these were amazing. Water sports are available. The weather was glorious.

Food. We were bed and breakfast. Breakfast had lots of choice and again the staff provided excellent service. The first night we stayed in the main restaurant for our meal. It was ok. Another evening we booked the Italian. Again the service was great and the views fab. I had the veal it was fatty and my partner did not enjoy his either. I expected pasta dishes but it seemed to be mainly fish. We avoided Yali as I don't like fish so I was a bit limited in the Italian too. One evening we had room service which was lovely. The rest of the time we ate in Corfu town. We don't mind paying for nice restaurants but like to enjoy the food. We found the prices of the drinks too expensive.

Entertainment. There is enough to do at this hotel. Water sports, table tennis, tennis and a gym, the World Cup on a big screen for my partner! We found the evenings a little quiet but chilling.

There is a bus provided to Corfu Town which is very handy. We went there several times and sometimes got a taxi back. There isn't really anywhere to go directly outside the hotel, but if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, in a lovely hotel, with great service and beautiful views then you then this is the place to stay!

I would definitely recommend this haven of a hotel. We can't wait to try their others!

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the suites near the beach if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,438 reviews
11.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Dassia
13.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Corfu Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Corfu Imperial

Address: Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range: $188 - $1,854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Corfu Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Corfu Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Corfu Imperial Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing