We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous position and very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White House Restaurant

White House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Kalami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Horrabridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous position and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely place to eat, book to ensure you get a table outside on the quay, beautiful view across the bay and very romantic. The staff were very good, efficiant and unobtrusive and the food was excelent. We ate here four times during our two week stay, tried something different each visit and we were never disappointed. The wine was probably the best we had in the area. Half a caraff of house wine was only 500euros and was very good. All in all a lovely dining experience. Make sure you visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    123
    44
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ordered the garlic prawns as a treat on our last day, what a disappointment, covered in a gloopy, tasteless, grey sauce and prawns over cooked and hardly fresh!
When we complained the manageress was not prepared to listen to us, her attitude was almost as if we were fortunate to be there.
Very much living on the glory of the Durell name. Grudgingly knocked a small sum off the bill.
Having said this , the male waiter was superb and the setting was glorious.
Give this restaurant a miss for meals, only great for coffee and drinks. Other tavernas in the area are far better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welshstar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely place to eat as looking out over the sea. Food was delicious and plenty of choice. Also very good service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
285 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Great food, dreamy location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

More restaurant than taverna, the White House is in a fabulous waterfront location at the southern end of Kalami beach, all very impressively and expensively lit with LED spotlights.

You can dine on a charming terrace overlooking the sea, or at the tables dramatically perched on the edge of a quayside with the water lapping about you.

The food and service were both top notch, and while it's not cheap, we were surprised to find the menu prices slightly lower than Thomas's Place, the next taverna along the beach.

On the Monday night we visited, there was a steady stream of customers right through until 10pm - pretty much all Brits. Even one of the waitresses is British!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The White House restaurant Kalami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate 4 times here during early September 2012 and we found the food and service very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The general ambiance and views over the bay were very special. They also offer a free pick-up and return to your villa if you are staying nearby. This was particularly good as a lot of the villas are remote and not an easy walk from the tavernas. In our opinion, this is the nicest restaurant in Kalami and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing