We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to see and explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sagaing Hill

Sagaing Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$276.00*
and up
Private Tour:Explore the Wonders of Mandalay Including Lunch on Boat
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Sagaing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lots to see and explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited here as part of a day trip from Mandalay and its worthy of further exploration. There are nice vistas and lots of interesting buildings and places to explore.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    65
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
510 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Panoramic views from the top of the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

There is a little bit of fitness required to get to the top of this hill. The effort is worthwhile as you have a panoramic view of numerous other pagodas and monasteries as well as part of the Ayarwaddy river.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow,Russia
Level Contributor
626 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Better than Mandalay Hill. Awesome views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place is not so turistic as Mandalay Hill, but minimum level of physical training is requared to go up the long stairs. When you reach the top marvelous views will be your prize. Its so magical, so calm and relax place, one of the best in Myanmar. Feel it walking around. Its a part of the tour of 3 ancient cities. Enjoy your time in Myanmar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MSK-RUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dha Kya Di Tar Convent is quite charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

At the foot of Sagaing Hill there is what we understood to be the largest Convent/Nunnery in Sagaing, Dha Kya Di Tar I think it was called. Many Monasteries and Convents in Sagaing do welcome visitors as long as they are small groups not whole coach loads and as long as the visitors are quiet and respectful. Our guide recommended this Convent to visit and I must admit that we (4 of us) were very pleased that he did. Partly because a Nunnery made a nice change from a Monastery of which we had seen many in both Myanmar and Thailand. But also because it definitely had a softer and more feminine feel to the place and was far prettier than most Monasteries.
There were a lot more flowers around the Convent as well as everything being ultra clean and fresh. The various buildings were also pleasanter and we were particularly taken with the lovely ordination hall with its very high ceilings and at one end a very tall seated Buddha made out of bamboo – a type we had seen a few times before but none so attractive or large as this one. We also loved the charming small hall where we came upon a group of young Novice Nuns undertaking chanting lessons/practice around a series of Buddha images in a central plinth. They were clearly well disciplined as they only gave us a few short glances rather than being totally disrupted by our visit.
As we were leaving the Convent we were lucky enough to meet the Head Abbott/Abbottess of the Convent who was returning from a visit. She was gracious enough to stop for a couple of minutes to makes us feel welcome and at ease. A very charming lady.
An enjoyable visit and a nice change of pace from our hectic schedule.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ToyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I wish we had more time to explore the area, there are multiple temples and pagodas , and combined tour is just not enough time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagaing Hill also viewed

Sagaing, Sagaing Region
Amarapura, Mandalay Region
 
Sagaing, Sagaing Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Sagaing Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing