We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sittwe Shwe Tha Zin hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shwe Tha Zin Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shwe Tha Zin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Sittwe B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sittwe Shwe Tha Zin hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Probably the best in Sittwe at this present time.
It always seems to be quite busy even though the charges are 35-40 US dollars per night.
Fairly basic rooms which are quite small. I've stayed here about 10 times over 3 trips to Sittwe.
They bear no relationship to their other hotel in MraukU which is much better. The staff are not particularly friendly. Bathrooms OK with hot water most of the time.Bed lining is clean and beds fairly comfortable. Reasonably located for walking the town. When I was there last in January 2012 a new hotel was being built next plot so it should be open now.
Unfortunately Sittwe and MraukU are still off the map as far as foreigners are concerned due to the ethnic troubles. It could be like this for years. Advise from the Burmese Embassy in London is to contact agents in Yangon for news updates.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same. Higher up is near the roof restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sittwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    42
    27
    17
See reviews for
8
57
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Gallen
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

First you need to consider where this place is. It is in a country that is slowly opening up to tourism. It is in a region that has not seen many tourists yet and it is in a city that has very recently seen a lot of violence. And most of the tourist that did and will come through here only want to move up to the touristy city of Maruuk O

This is one of two places in this town where westerners would stay. It is no where close to western standards but if you are looking for that, do not even bother to come out here.

So – English is hardly spoken with one or two exceptions. Rooms are very simple and not comfortable, but of course you do not travel so far to stay in your room all day – do you ☺!

If you like continental breakfast – it wont be available – if you like Asian style breakfast, you will be happy. But the best place to eat will be the RV Seafood restaurant that serves very good food – not only from the sea.

The room has AC and a TV – both which I didn’t use. It has a fridge with cold beer so when you come back from a hot day out, you will be refreshed.

The rooms are cleaned daily and what you get is actually quiet respectable. I paid USD 45 per night which is a lot, but the alternatives do not exist.

Room Tip: all the same :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

accommodation is about on par with the nearby Nobel hotel but I found it cleaner. The bathroom is fine, plenty of hot water and everything works. Basic toiletries even provided, sheets and towels are immaculate. WiFi is turned on from 8 to 11 pm, but internet connection only flickers on for a few minutes at a time. Top floor breakfast is ok but nothing to shout about. Staff is incredibly nice, but then so is everyone in Myanmar

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Much is made of the Shwer Tha Zin 's top floor (4th UK, 5th US) restaurant but of course there is no lift. On my first visit I asked for a room on the first floor as I have problems with stairs but the three flights up to breakfast were too much effort and I now try to get a room on the 2nd so I am halfway in either direction.
For some reason this is the highest rated and most expensive hotel in Sittwe but my colleagues all rate its rival up the Main Street as better. Which may be why the Shwe Tha Zin is always the last please still to have rooms when all other places in town do not. Now that the river route to Mrauk U is off limits to tourists, this may change. It is set back a little from the street which reduces noise.
It has 24 hour power, running water (warm) which has better pressure on the lower floors, air con, TV with four channels of which the sole English one is HBO with mostly appalling films, a basic bathroom (if you are not careful the shower soaks the toilet roll) en suite and complementary water in the mini fridge. Beds and pillows not the best and the furniture is scant and depressing, almost shabby.
Once you have got over the long climb and the depressing ambience of the restaurant, the food is really rather good (the tempura squid is my favourite) and portions are large. Large bottles of cold beer.... Breakfast is poor and even though it was included in the rate I almost prefer to have a nescafe and a pork bun in the pavement cafe next door.
Laundry is well done but thick things take two days to dry and it not always returned to the original owners - do check it immediately you get it back as the other person who has yours may be leaving early in the morning.
Amazing sockets take UK three square pin, European two round pin, US two flat pin and (I think) Australian - three flat pins at an angle - plugs.
English is barely spoken but everyone smiles.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 are luxury/double sized with balconies above the street, 2-4s have tiny balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humanitarian-Loggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
502 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

One night in this centre town hotel. Deluxe room on 4th floor 25m2 and bathroom 4 m2. Facing the main street with small balcony. Breakfast room on 5th floor and higher is roof terras with 360 degrees view over town. No elevator.
In the trees opposite the road hang flying foxes-bats who start screeming near dark when crooing crows want the branches to land on. The process is reversed early in the morning when the foxes claim the branches back, which may wake you up around 5:00 hrs, but by then you are awake anyhow because you are bound to retire by 21:00 hrs.
No road traffic at night.
Can make hot water in an electric thermos to make your own tea or coffee if you bring these.
Although 4 satellite dishes no international news channel.
Blankets are heavy chinese acril and cause sweating. Shower does not get warm (very refreshing).
Two nice seafood restaurans next door with good fish dishes. Also many other small shops.
Breakfast is cooked with noodles but simple.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep after 05:00 hrs, ask a room on the rearside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Shwe Thazin for one night in November. This hotel is very good for the simple and remote location it is in, in my opinion.

My room was not large, but complete, bed was good and firm, and the aircon worked well. They have a generator so there's 24-hour power which was welcome in the hot and humid town.

Hot shower was working well. Cleanliness was OK and comparable with my other Myanmar hotel experiences (overall clean, however the floors don't get mopped with soapy water, just dusted it appears; I noticed this in other hotels in Myanmar too). Service was friendly and good, no complaints.

There's no lift (presumably as lifts tend to be by far the largest consumers of power, and with the wobbly power situation in the town, it would not be practical), so if you can't walk stairs too well you may want to ask for a room on a lower floor.

The breakfast was very basic (like in most hotels in Myanmar) and nothing to write home about.

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here with my aunt. The building was decently maintained. Cleanliness was hit and miss, but as with everything in the country when I traveled, this is not something that should surprise you. When you get out of the main cities or tourist hot spots of Yangon, Mandalay and Inle Lake service levels begin to drop towards local standards. Don't get me wrong, the place is still well maintained, but don't expect to find a Sheraton or anything like that. When you travel countries like this it is advisable to bring a sleeping sheet and towel yourself. Both can be very lightweight and compact, this will ease the minds of travelers used to more western style accommodations.

We stayed here just one night and we were able to go up on the roof and watch sunset and an awesome display of fruit bats and another local bird species dueling it out over some trees across the road. Food in the restaurant is alright., beer is cheaper around the corner in one of the little shops.

Room Tip: The same tip applies for all of southeast Asia, if you a looking for quiet, as for an "inside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittwe
0.0 mi away
Noble Hotel
Noble Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sittwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Memory
Hotel Memory
#1 of 8 in Sittwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shwe Thazin Hotel
Shwe Thazin Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kiss Guest House
Kiss Guest House
#3 of 8 in Sittwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vesali Resort Hotel
Vesali Resort Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mrauk U
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Tha Zin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Tha Zin Hotel

Property: Shwe Tha Zin Hotel
Address: No.250, Main Road | Kyae Bin Gyi Quarter, Sittwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Sittwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sittwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shwe Tha Zin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and JovagoAsia so you can book your Shwe Tha Zin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing