We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up with the flying foxes”
Review of Shwe Tha Zin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shwe Tha Zin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Sittwe B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2012

One night in this centre town hotel. Deluxe room on 4th floor 25m2 and bathroom 4 m2. Facing the main street with small balcony. Breakfast room on 5th floor and higher is roof terras with 360 degrees view over town. No elevator.
In the trees opposite the road hang flying foxes-bats who start screeming near dark when crooing crows want the branches to land on. The process is reversed early in the morning when the foxes claim the branches back, which may wake you up around 5:00 hrs, but by then you are awake anyhow because you are bound to retire by 21:00 hrs.
No road traffic at night.
Can make hot water in an electric thermos to make your own tea or coffee if you bring these.
Although 4 satellite dishes no international news channel.
Blankets are heavy chinese acril and cause sweating. Shower does not get warm (very refreshing).
Two nice seafood restaurans next door with good fish dishes. Also many other small shops.
Breakfast is cooked with noodles but simple.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep after 05:00 hrs, ask a room on the rearside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Shwe Thazin for one night in November. This hotel is very good for the simple and remote location it is in, in my opinion.

My room was not large, but complete, bed was good and firm, and the aircon worked well. They have a generator so there's 24-hour power which was welcome in the hot and humid town.

Hot shower was working well. Cleanliness was OK and comparable with my other Myanmar hotel experiences (overall clean, however the floors don't get mopped with soapy water, just dusted it appears; I noticed this in other hotels in Myanmar too). Service was friendly and good, no complaints.

There's no lift (presumably as lifts tend to be by far the largest consumers of power, and with the wobbly power situation in the town, it would not be practical), so if you can't walk stairs too well you may want to ask for a room on a lower floor.

The breakfast was very basic (like in most hotels in Myanmar) and nothing to write home about.

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here with my aunt. The building was decently maintained. Cleanliness was hit and miss, but as with everything in the country when I traveled, this is not something that should surprise you. When you get out of the main cities or tourist hot spots of Yangon, Mandalay and Inle Lake service levels begin to drop towards local standards. Don't get me wrong, the place is still well maintained, but don't expect to find a Sheraton or anything like that. When you travel countries like this it is advisable to bring a sleeping sheet and towel yourself. Both can be very lightweight and compact, this will ease the minds of travelers used to more western style accommodations.

We stayed here just one night and we were able to go up on the roof and watch sunset and an awesome display of fruit bats and another local bird species dueling it out over some trees across the road. Food in the restaurant is alright., beer is cheaper around the corner in one of the little shops.

Room Tip: The same tip applies for all of southeast Asia, if you a looking for quiet, as for an "inside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Must preface this by saying, I have stayed in some really cheap places in my travels, that we clean!! The sheets, rugs, towels were dirty!!! The staff was surprised by my husband ALL sleeping in the restaurant! Seems as if 'someone' could have been 'doing laundry'! No excuses for dirty!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and the manager was very cooperative and helpful, I had some issues with locals but he never said no despite the fact people were against him on having a Muslim to stay in hotel and the day they were full,they arranged a room for us in Nobel hotel, small but a homely place to stay, no elevators and not pristine clean but the food was good and location is excellent, almost everything is on walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mehboobalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here two nites on the way to Mrauk U and two nites on the way back. Small but comfortable room. Friendly staff, good service, nice little restaurant (nothing fancy but enjoyed the food). I liked Sittwe and glad I spent a bit of time there rather than rush to and from Mrauk U. Lookout point is great at sunset whist sipping a Myanmar Lager or coconut juice. Locals great and friendly - enjoyed their company - spent time with both local Arakanese buddhists and Bengali and Rohingya muslims

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Looked fine on arrival. Saw little else as was sick - not their fault.
Pros
Hotel looked fine, Clean comfortable room. Good bathroom much used. Seemed well organised hotel.
Cons
Didn't see any. Fellow travellers had no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittwe
0.0 mi away
Mrauk-U Hotel
Mrauk-U Hotel
#4 of 4 in Mrauk U
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Memory
Hotel Memory
#1 of 8 in Sittwe
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiss Guest House
Kiss Guest House
#4 of 8 in Sittwe
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Noble Hotel
Noble Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sittwe
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Tha Zin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Tha Zin Hotel

Address: No.250, Main Road | Kyae Bin Gyi Quarter, Sittwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Sittwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sittwe
Price Range: $31 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shwe Tha Zin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Shwe Tha Zin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing