We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
73
18
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
18
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner el salvador huge beer selection loud music nice bar beer list belgian waffles monkey lala rooms are very basic swimming pool minute walk from the beach excellent place to stay two nights enjoyed our stay the main street other places gilles
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A review of the bar.
We have no idea that a Belgian man owns a hotel and restaurant in El Tunco. A guy told us about the place during our dinner in a local eatery.
We were curious to see the bar, it wasn't far from our hotel. The location is behind from the main street. Coming in the evening is not pretty clear, they use dim lights.

We need our flashlight to see the beer list. They have some beers from Belgium, but the price is not cheap.
So I'll better drink the local beer instead.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ShavyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

I loved the place, really nice air con private suite, clean room and comfy bed. Beautiful property, swimming pool, attention was great, it´s located close to the beach and close to restaurants, bars and convenience stores. Actually I recommended to 3 other friend who went there and loved the place. By the way, super peaceful.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RicardoSena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I wanted a couple days at the beach away from the bustle of San Salvador, and Mopelia was the perfect fit for the most part (it was still a bit loud because of the adjacent Monkey Lala). The breakfast options were good, the beer list great, and the property overall was lovely. The staff gave me good recommendations on restaurants in the area, and for the most part I just sat in a hammock, walked around town, swam in the ocean (it's more surfing beach, but you can definitely swim depending on the tide), and read. Mopelia is only a 2 minute walk from the beach and feels more private than many of the beachfront places. The room was basic, but that suited my needs fine. Definitely bring your sunscreen and bug spray, though!

Room tip: Rooms closer to the beach are closer to loud neighbors...
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

Poor breakfast, poor room not really nice, missing some pictures on the wall,... completely overpriced. Wifi was good, pool not clean, beach no good for swimming, just for surfing. Beautiful sunset at the beach.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank enila07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst in El Tunco. When first finding somewhere to stay we saw that this place was fully booked however we took a chance and messaged them directly and they were able to give us a room. Definitely worth giving them a message on Facebook. Gil was very helpful.

Pros:
Big room with air conditioning. A must!
Good location, right on the Main Street
Side path directly to the beach towards Monkey Lala
Swimming pool was deep and a good size
Hammock outside each room was a bonus

Cons:
No sun loungers by the pool, would definitely suggest this to management

Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TheCurtaulks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews