We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
El Tunco
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
77
19
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
19
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta el salvador belgian waffles the food is great clean pool bacon burger nice bar beer list monkey lala minute walk from the beach the main street beers chill hammocks gil craft backpackers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 110 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Cheap, clean rooms with a discount for a longer stay. The staff were very friendly and super helpful staff - giving great information and terrific food in the restaurant. I was only going to stay two nights but it turned into a week. I spent a lot of time in my hammock! If you want a tranquil place to get away from it all this is the spot!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank emilycH3129TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

This place was already on our radar because of the good reviews but we still checked quite a few other places on our walk from the highway. Not only is it closest to the beach, but the price was better than most, the vibe is wonderful, it is spread out in a large garden (with a pool and hammocks), and the owner is super nice and helpful. We almost changed our plans to stay longer just because of the Mopelia. This place would be great for anyone, not just the young surfer crowd.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank LesliesTravelSnacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Mopelia. Whilst the rooms are very basic inside, everything functions well and it was all we needed for our four days by the beach. The waves are just 50m away and we spent most of our time there and filled the rest by lazing around on the hammocks at Mopelia and jumping in the pool. We are not huge party people so were almost talked out of El Tunco - but we are so glad we ended up going. We slept easily, even over the weekend, at Mopelia, given its position about 200m from the main strip. There is a bar over the back fence that plays loud music on Fridays and Saturdays but in our room (which was the closest in the whole hotel to this bar) it didn’t bother us. The beach is also perfect for swimming, surfing, bodyboarding... whatever. And the sunsets -wow. We loved it. And chilled out Mopelia was a big part of that. Gilles the owner is also a very lovely guy and is running a very smooth operation. Highly recommended. And thank you Gilles for your kindness.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank amysh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Thank you so much. It was very nice having you. We have the guests we deserve I guess...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2018

We got a villa with A/C and a small terrace with hammock facing a nice pool with around 50 USD. Beach was 50 m and the heart of El Tunco maybe 200 m away. To call this a hotel may be misleading, as most people stay in shared dorms. Breakfast was good and
the same place seemed to be the place to be in the evening; good food and the largest selection of beers in 'town'. We got to El Tunco accidentally with quick change in plans, but could not be happier to see and experience this place, and stay in Mopelia.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DoubleX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in mopelia for 3 nights and had an amazing time. Very close to the beach and lots of hammocks to replace and chill in. Also very delicious belgian waffles and a a huge beer selection. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews