We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
El Tunco
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
77
19
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
19
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta el salvador belgian waffles the food is great clean pool bacon burger nice bar beer list monkey lala minute walk from the beach the main street beers chill hammocks gil craft backpackers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 110 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

The best hotel in El Tunco! Great accomadation, great service, great restaurant. The owner is very warm and genuine and happy to help, he even set us up on an excellent day trip with a locql called Carlo. Highly reccomend staying here!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Galit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a family feel or a true local spot in El Tunco, Mopelia is it. Gilles, the owner, is super cool and one of the most knowledgeable people of El Salvador, travel, music... and life in general.

Hotel Mopelia has a huge garden and plenty of space between rooms. The Bar at the entrance to the property has a huge beer selection and tons of games to play. Many of the guests I have met return here Year after Year to hang with Gilles, his family and the other regulars.

The rooms are clean but a bit rustic, however you don't hang out in your room in El Salvador. Each bungalow has a patio. There is a pool and plenty of hammocks as well, not to mention the Pacific Ocean is a 20 meter walk.

While rainy season is quiet in Tunco, dry season l, December to May, has a steady flow of expats, tourists and locals coming to stay.

Stop in, have a beer, check the place out for a weekend, but be aware, you could end up staying for years like we did.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank 399grahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here tonight, we all went with pasta related options which were nice! Beer selection is huge too!!
Nice relaxing spot with good music. Didn't stay the night but looks like a nice spot. Owners are very friendly - English speaking of your Spanish is weak.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Lendinghand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

Hotel Mopelia is in a great location just seconds to the beach. There are many places to eat within walking distance including at the hotel itself, but only breakfast and dinner. They pride themselves on having a large variety of beers, although when we were there, their stock was diminished. This is to be expected with so many people staying there and drinking. Good for you!

We had a stand alone cabin with AC and private bathroom, but the best part was the hammock on the front porch. We could have used two hammocks since my travel companion and I had to fight for it. Because of the hot weather, the pool was on the warm side, but again, what can you do?

We enjoyed our stay there and would do so again if ever back in the city. Cheers!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgranzow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this property for two nights in a private room with bathroom. I ate breakfast and two dinners they were all delicious. The beer selection was excellent. It had private parking and was right in the middle of everything. The grounds are nice with a pool and a workout station. The rooms are very basic but I highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews