We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
73
18
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
18
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner el salvador huge beer selection loud music nice bar beer list belgian waffles monkey lala rooms are very basic swimming pool minute walk from the beach excellent place to stay two nights enjoyed our stay the main street other places gilles
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 104 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

This hotel accommodated all our needs and more. The hospitality is great, location great, and food is home cooking from the heart with a different selection every night on the menu. Hotel Mopelia, is a home away from home. If you have or never been to El Salvador this is the place to welcome you as a great host of the country. Most of the employees are bilingual because of all the visitors to this part of El Salvador come from Europe and the United States. However, Spanish is the first respected language in El Salvador so brush up. The weather is warm, and the hotels facilities and staff ( family run business) accommodated all your needs to feel right at home and welcome. There are other restaurants, hostels, and night life close to this hotel location, and don't let me forget the beach is within walking distance. However, if you are not an every day beach person the hotel has a pool on the property accessible for every day use. Rooms come with A/C or not. Rooms are all ways clean and bright and the refreshment bar on property for an adult refreshment is near by. I will be back I promise, and I hope to bring and share this beautiful place with other guest (-:

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Paradise563782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Nature in the heart of the Town all around. One can breath the jungle everymorning at Mopelia and go to sleep with sound of waves. Did I mention the owner is Belga? Well guess where one can find the best waffles in El Salvador, hands down.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

It's a cheap option in El Tunco. The room is small, the mattress is not good at all. The ventilator wasn't working too good but we got a new one from the owner. The owner is a very nice guy. The room was simple, but like I said, it's a cheap and Ok option in El Tunco.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chriscamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

My room was clean but very basic. I found the general areas needed some cleaning up - things just looked messy and unkept. I have had much better rooms for less money in other parts of El Salvador. I am a senior traveler and it seemed the surfer kids staying there enjoyed their access.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Adventureglo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Spent a few nights here in April and it's got such a great vibe. The multilingual owner is very welcoming and laid back, not to mention great to chat to as well.
The rooms are fairly basic but clean and you don't need much more.
The pool is great and it's a 2 minute walk right on to the beach.
They also have a shower as you come back in to the grounds to get all the sand/saltwater off which is a nice touch.
What really sets this place apart is the bar, with craft beer from around the globe and even 3 types of cider! It's a nice communal area for eating / drinking too.
If you're going to El Tunco, you have to stay here!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 474SimonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews