We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
73
18
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
18
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner el salvador huge beer selection loud music nice bar beer list belgian waffles monkey lala rooms are very basic swimming pool minute walk from the beach excellent place to stay two nights enjoyed our stay the main street other places gilles
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 104 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2015

I spent 10 days in the suite, which is like a 1 bedroom apartment, last week. It is such a nice spot. Love the hammock on the patio. The view of the ocean from the patio is stunning through the trees. I sat there and zoned out watching the ocean for hours and hours!The restaurant had good food and a crazy beer selection. The pool is smaller but so refreshing. There are the hammocks in the shade and some lounge chairs as well that you can move into the sun. I loved having the floaters to lounge on in the pool and read my book. Super close to the beach. Never felt unsafe at the hotel or in town. It was my second time in El Tunco and would come back to Mopelia in a heartbeat. Gilles the owner and his family were great helping me with a couple phone calls I had to make locally for missing bags and taxi service. Only small downside of the suite was the tv had very few English channels but who wants to watch tv when you are in a little sliced of heaven?

Room tip: The suite is great if you want to splurge (in relative terms). the rooms at the back are also closer to the pool and the walkway to the beach is right there.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Cheers to the most easy going guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. The room was great and had AC and it was also very clean and spacious. We also had a hammock on our front porch and there were lots of hammocks in a shaded area by the pool. The pool was also amazing and the beach was a 5 second walk from the front gate. The best part of our stay here was the owner. He was so very helpful with any question we had and so so so kind. He also has a fantastic selection of beer at the bar and is great at recommending which beer you may like. Overall we loved our stay here and also loved el tunco. We will be back one day!

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 586amandaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Thank you Amanda. It was nice having you. ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015

My wife and I spent 16 restful days at Hotel Mopelia. Excellent service, delicious food and the best sleep we had in months. Hotel Mopelia place was just what the doctor ordered for a much needed vacation.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

This is a great place to stay if you want to relax and unwind. Basic rooms, but lots of hammocks and a decent pool. The owner really makes this place special - he is relaxed, helpful, and a pleasure to chat with.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2014

We spent two nights here and it was a really great experience! Super chilled out and right next to the beach. Hammocks are everywhere and the pool is nice and inviting. The Belgium waffles are fantastic! And the 40-odd kinds of craft beer make this place a must to stay at. This place was one of my favorite places that I stayed.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharkgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews