We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
El Tunco
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
77
19
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
19
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta el salvador belgian waffles the food is great clean pool bacon burger nice bar beer list monkey lala minute walk from the beach the main street beers chill hammocks gil craft backpackers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 110 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent location next to the beach and run by a cool Belgian called Gilles and family. The kind of place where they go the extra mile, lifts into town to buy stuff and booking anything you need locally. You can even borrow his guitar and wile away the afternoon strumming, great value and comes with a pool

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Mpeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here for one week and have to say the place is one of those places where it's hard to leave from. Rooms are excellent value for the money. Beach is just few seconds away from the hotel and they have a nice pool also where you can jump in for refreshing start for the day. Bar is really good theres a good selection of different types of beers. They serve also really good belgium waffles for breakfast. Owner Gil is really helpful and cool person. Definetly i will come back here before my salvador trip is over..

Room tip: Theres some rooms with shared bathroom for 10usd and others with own bathroom for 20.. Stayed in both and they were all good.. Theres also rooms with AC and all rooms have hammocks outside. They have 1 room also with sea views.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Run by a lovely Belgian and his family, this place has a homey, friendly feel to it. It's a big sprawling garden - absolutely stunning grounds with a big, lovely pool at one end. There are plenty of places to sit by the pool, shade or sun and you can walk out to the beach in about 30 seconds. I stayed in a private and they're very nice (ensuite bath for $20, you can't beat that). with a patio and a hammock to lounge in to your hearts content. This is not a big time party place, you can do some partying in the bar and go back to your peaceful room. People don't seem to get out of control here, at least when I was here! The restaurant is nice, roomy and not too pricey. The food and coffee is delicious and you can get lots of amazing beers too, some craft brewed. I highly recommend the place. I was there for Christmas and the owner arranged a delicious Christmas Eve meal for everyone. It was truly lovely and I really enjoyed my stay!

Room tip: I had a private by the pool and it was perfect. Quiet at night too.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank International_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed 3 weeks. Totally safe, secure, chilled and pleasant. The owner runs a great place. Rooms are clean and comfy. There are hammocks on all verandas. Lots of space and a clean pool. I would definitely recommend this place to everybody.
Oh and there's no babies \ children running around in nappies!

Room tip: 20$ per night is with ensuite bathroom. V good room.
Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank darren k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles O, Owner at Hotel Mopelia, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

It was a pleasure having you Dal....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Mopelia is not a bad hotel and Giles is very personable. The staff tend to be friendly and the general atmosphere is familiar. I have never seen babies running around in diapers at Mopelia and I believe that someone exaggerated while writing their review. All of that said, it is nice that Giles has broken ground on another small building to accommodate travelers, they have been asking for such a place for a long time. The person who paid $45 for a room and found that the price wasn't justified, well no one made them take the room. Frankly, I have witnessed a number of people turn away at the price, but that is also often the only room left when the place is all booked up. Nonetheless, there are other accommodations in El Tunco and hotel and hostel owners are in a race to build more rooms to accommodate tourist.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews