We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rossmount Inn
Nearby Hotels
Picket Fence Motel(Saint Andrews)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Andrews Motor Inn(Saint Andrews)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint Stephen Inn(St. Stephen)
$62
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winsome Inn(St. Stephen)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granite Town Hotel(Saint George)
$93
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
192
72
20
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
72
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatordining roomnew brunswickthird floorst andrewstasting menulong drivewayvegetable gardendining experienceantique furniturewalking trailsfresh berriescomfortable roomssmall bathroomshort drivesalmonview of the bay
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 294 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed in several B&B's this trip and I think Rossmount Inn was my favorite location. The Inn itself is very historical and beautiful with many unique antique pieces. The in ground pool looked inviting but it was a bit too cold for us to try it. Our favorite aspects were the bar on site and the incredible, incredible restaurant. DO NOT miss the food at this place. We are New Yorkers and spend some time in NYC - this place is top notch - the chef is amazing.

Highly recommnd the dinner, the breakfast and oh yes, the inn itself. We took their "Whale Watch" package and did a Zodiak tour on Fundy Tide Runners. Great package included accommodation, whale watch, dinner and breakfast for an incredible price.

Really loved this place. If you have the time, hike the trail behind the Inn and see the beautiful views of Saint Andrews.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_TravelersNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This is a beautiful historical inn. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The beds are
heavenly. We were amazed by the dinner - creative, delicious and a great value. We
came with two children and even though the inn is rather posh our children were given
first class treatment. This hotel has elegance and grace without the stuffiness. The price
is so reasonable, the dining is so amazing, this hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie19560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The Inn is ok.

the room is adequate but small.
bed was very soft.
shower had very very low pressure, both nights and not because other people also showering.
the chest of drawers has a musty smell - didn't use - should remove and replace even if it is an antique?
attractive inn and grounds.
Not at ALL handicapped accessible or convenient. 22 steps just to front door. no elevator. 2 stories once inside.

large wide hall which seemed attractive with chairs, chess game, etc. but at night people sat out there and talked. so if you want to go to bed early and get up early an issue re noise.

also has AC. the bed is made with a duvet, the in thing lately. makes no sense in the summer. have to crank up the AC to be cool.

nice views. and pool - didn't use.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Although it is a beautiful and pleasant place to stay, come to the Rossmount for the extraordinary food. It is comparable to the best restaurants in Dallas! Even my husband who doesn’t like “fou fou food” was surprised at how much he enjoyed the lobster appetizer on a celery root and pickled beets base.

This stately inn is set on a hillside overlooking the bay at St. Andrews, New Brunswick. The 3 story inn was reconstructed in 1961 from an 1867 building that burned down. The public areas were restored with original woodworking and ornate chandeliers. Although there are a lot of stairs due to its hillside location, the building was interesting and the beds were most comfortable. I wish we had more days to stay here, for both the food and the beds.

One favorite dish was Naked Lobster poached out of its shell in butter with a hint of vanilla and imaginatively accompanied by tender sweet peas and a potato pierogi which complemented it perfectly. I loved the deconstructed halibut ceviche which featured large flakes of halibut with pureed vocado and jalapeno sauce. An indescribable salmon dish was the best I have ever had!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

After reading all the glowing reviews of this Inn, my husband and I booked a short stay at the Rossmount. What a disappointment! We fled after one night! There are some positives - the hosts are most gracious; the dining room has delicious meals (for dinner - forget breakfast!); and it is built high up on a lovely setting. But the negatives are many:

The broken, dingy and dangerously snapping front door should have been our first clue - this Inn needs work. The 'reception' area where you check in is dank, dark and musty. A huge leaky tank of lobsters (not great if you're a vegetarian) greet you when you check in. Yes there are lovely antiques - but an overall musty, damp, and dark atmosphere is overwhelming. Everything is in need of repair - peeling paint, broken eavestroughs (which dripped water) and moldy floors. Paper and leaves were all over the pool which was not attended to at all. Despite this rather dreary atmosphere, we really wanted to give this Inn a chance - after all it got a high rating.

Our room was tiny - no closet space and the bathroom was miniscule - complete with a moldy bathtub. I've seen nicer washrooms on airplanes! When I tried to shower, a screeching sound came through the pipes and the water pressure was nil! This was not the luxury/relaxing experience we sought.

Dinner was fabulous - the Rossmount is really a wonderful restaurant - and it was packed with people in the very non-descript dining room - but we thoroughly enjoyed an excellent dinner. We decided perhaps we'd overlook our 'room' issues and try for breakfast....again - dull, dreary and below average. The only offering is either a Continental breakfast - a small bowl of muesli or bacon and eggs. A few patrons asked for other food - sorry - not available.

Needless to stay we cut short our visit . If you are looking for a good dinner, this is the place for you. As far as offering clean, well appointed, cheery and comfortable rooms, the Rossmount is a big disappointment. Furthermore - be aware: there are no facilities (eg. ramps, elevators) for anyone with a physical challenge - rather very steep high flights of stairs. Overall, we would definitely not recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dray_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews