We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely place

This was a fun little place to visit! Pretty flowers, nice to just stroll around on a calm... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Departure819534
Fabulous Interior and Brilliant Guides

Four of us visited Syon House and Gardens on Wednesday and what a wonderful surprise it was. Free... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
FoodCultureFun
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 338 reviews
  
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
193
99
16
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
99
16
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden centre robert adam stately home long gallery room guides steeped in history percy family beautiful grounds henry viii queen victoria hilton hotel lovely walk large conservatory kew gardens drawing room across the river public transport
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 323 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We went last Sunday...it has easy parking....there were problems with the scanning of the tickets which held queue up.The lighting up of the trees were fantastic with the reflections in the water,then there was only 3 musical light instalations.
Becareful of the paths as alot of it isnt lite up which is Very Dangerous if you have young kids or wheelchairs,there were no stewards to be seen when you were walking around.There were these silly little kids displays under some of the trees which made the event look cheap.
Shame there werent stalls as you walked around.
Make sure you use toilet before you go in.
They need to put more into this event....Christmas at Kew a thousand times better

Thank 210coull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a fun little place to visit! Pretty flowers, nice to just stroll around on a calm afternoon. Their gift shop is cute and has some lovely things to bring home.

Thank Departure819534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us visited Syon House and Gardens on Wednesday and what a wonderful surprise it was.
Free car parking on a sunny day was a bonus as we’d brought a picnic, which we were told we could take into the gardens, where there are lots of benches with delightful views of the Great Conservatory or of the lake and Kew Gardens across the river Thames.
Take a walk around the lake to fully enjoy the location and get the sense of how the family lived from 400 years ago.
However the crowning glory is the House which is quite imposing from the outside, but so unusual inside.
Each room is so different although all designed by Robert Adam and the room guides have such great historical stories to impart.
And it only costs £13 to visit both Gardens and House!
There is a garden centre there as well with a cafe.
There are lots of public transport options to enable your visit which is a must.

1  Thank FoodCultureFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I are both HHA (£80.00...visited 20 properties this year....great value) and NT members and decided that we would visit Syon House first (Property may seem dull from outside but is interesting and informative within and worth visiting) and Park (nice stroll around the lake and conservatory is impressive) and then onto Osterley Park (rather disappointed) approx 15mins away.
Car parking very good but check web for days and times open.

1  Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The most relaxing area in Isleworth with the delicious food from garden centre I’ve spent a good three hours relaxing

Thank Sahar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently attended a wedding hosted at Syon House. I arrived already well-lubricated and was pleased to be greeted on the front lawn by champagne, cocktails and a zealous function band who had clearly mastered the art of falsetto. The House is a fantastic venue.

However, I would recommend all visitors bring a Hi-Vis safety jacket, helmet and ear defenders as there are many low flying aircraft.

(Warning: DO NOT drink too much alcohol if you watched the movie Dunkirk before your visit or you may find yourself disgraced as you emerge from the hedges covered in mud after confusing a low flying aircraft with a Stuka Dive bomber.)

1  Thank Clopin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only visited the house due to the fact that i visited on the hottest day of the year and too hot to be outside. I had found details by looking for places to visit on the website and i'm so glad that i took the time to make this visit.I found the history and details of the occupants of this house , past and present very interesting. It didn't take me too long to complete the tour of the house, and the garden in the quadrant is such pleasant surprise.Colours of the flora were white and complimented by the green foliage. Such a restful area, despite the constant fly past of airplanes heading towards Heathrow. Well worth a visit.

Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a treat it was to visit this stately home. A bit of a trek to get there from east London but well worth the journey. This is a privately owned house and park and it has been carefully maintained by the generations of Percys. The gardens and parkland was designed by Capability Brown and the interiors renovated by Robert Adam. There are artworks and portraits bringing the history to life. Best of all, the stewards in every room are enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly. There is a lot of pride in the heritage of this house. Well worth a visit.

Thank RobsonNcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We started with the garden. It is more of a park with a spectacular lake. A great walk in the sunshine. The great hall is worth the entrance fee alone, a Robert Adams extravaganza. The next room was the Ante room, a riot of gold leaf with an outstanding floor. The next really memorable room was the Long Gallery (the younger daughter of the Earl of Northumberland was taking some friends around -she normally lives in Hogwarts!) There were a number of outstanding paintings, especially of the Stuarts. A great day out. Not suitable for a young family unless precocious.

Thank nosmo-king-1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is really one of the great houses to visit. It is not the largest, but it does house some super treasures. Many of the items of furniture are superb and the paintings are great too.
We found the room attendants very friendly and informative.
The grounds are also well worth a walk around including the lake if you have time.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews