We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special place to stay.”
Review of Botha House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botha House
Ranked #1 of 1 Pennington B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very special place to stay.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A really lovely quiet place to stay. Very authentic and historic. Marianne welcomed us with an unplanned and much-enjoyed meal on Christmas day, it is one of the most relaxed hotel rooms I have stayed in, except that it feels like a house and the guests are all new friends.

Room Tip: Take the best suite, it is worth it for the private balcony and star-gazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The setting is nothing short of spectacular. A short drive down an up aves road gives way to a stunning view of a golf course and beyond it the Indian Ocean. Turn left and you enter through the gates on the grounds of Botha House. My daughter, along with a friend, ended our 15 day exploration of South Africa at this historic house. Settling into room 2, we had a large room filled with antique furnishings with a balcony that provided endless hours of soaking in the brilliant blue cloud dotted sky with the ocean gently colliding with rocks. The staff was welcoming and the food delicious. Don't leave without some of their excellent granola. It is a peaceful setting from which you can explore more of the south coast or just spend a day reading on the patio or on the beach. I loved the fact that there were no TVs or telephones in the rooms. We were well cared for during our 3 night stay. Don't miss this gem in Pennington. Tony, Nancy, and Charles will take good care of you.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a large suite with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust2travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our second visit to Botha House and we were definitely not disappointed. Our “home away from home”. What a gem! Magnificent views and walks on the adjacent golf course, this guest house is away from the maddening crowd. For some the fact that there is a five minute drive to the beach and that there are no TV’s in the bedrooms may be a problem. We however found that being away from all the holiday makers gave us the peace and tranquillity we needed and the lounge TV was perfect for our needs. Lovely home cooked meals, swimming in the pool and playing games on the balcony was a wonderful way to spend our afternoons. The guest house is steeped in history and is beautifully decorated and very well taken care of, bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. Thanks to Tony particularly for taking such good care of us. Our daughter Hannah particularly enjoyed you helping her beat all of us at scrabble….. We will be back.
The Labuschagne family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our weekend at Botha House and the celebration of our daughters wedding was all we could have wished for. The house is well positioned with sea and forest views and its seclusion provides a feeling of peace and tranquility. The selection of rooms is varied and all are tastefully decorated, clean and very comfortable. The food was tasty and the service was friendly and efficient. Every member of staff contributed to making our stay a very enjoyable one. I would definitely enjoy a return visit.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are luxuriously large and comfortable with balconies offering great sea views. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixopo, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My daughter was recently married at Botha House. I don't think we could have chosen a better destination. The location, proximity of accommodation for guests from afar and the fact that all the brides and grooms parents as well as the bridesmaids were able to make Botha House theirs for the week end was very special. All in all it was a very pleasant experience for us and I must compliment Tony and his staff for their friendliness, help when we needed it and for making us feel totally at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had our wedding at Botha House on 5 October 2013. The staff and venue were 5 star, they were professional, kind and attentive. Our wedding was incredible- we rented out all the rooms and had the house just for us and our guests, and it was a dream come true. The house is absolutely beautiful as are the forests and beaches surrounding the house. We could not recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: The two suites are huge, with the most beautiful bathrooms and terraces. The other rooms are also l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fantastic welcome, great family atmosphere and the most friendly people you can meet during your stay. Tony is the utmost host and encourages the ambiance of a very homely guest house, I cannot think of a better place to stay if visiting the South Coast of KZN. Well done and thank you for making our stay one of the most pleasant we can think of.
Peter and Cathy Miller

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennington
1.1 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
7.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
8.0 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
13.7 mi away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 9 in Umkomaas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botha House

Property: Botha House
Address: 1 Don Knight Avenue | Umdoni Park, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pennington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Botha House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botha House, originally built for the first state president of South Africa General Louis Botha, was complete in 1920. Today it sits proudly overlooking the Indian Ocean, the waves crashing on the rocks below, as a luxury guesthouse. With 6 bedrooms, this grand old home can accommodate up to 12 guests. It is perfectly situated to explore all the KwaZulu-Natal South Coast has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing