We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most Peaceful Vacation we ever had...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Udupi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most Peaceful Vacation we ever had...”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Beautiful rooms…very friendly staff…kid friendly…Great Food…
Loved this place..we had a perfect family vacation..and everything was just perfect I don't think there is much scope of improvement or there is anything to crib about in this place…we are definitely going back again…

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudeepta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    76
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
190
67
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The team at wilds woods spa are passionate, and I think passion percolates from the extremely passionate Mr Shetty.We stayed at the property from 5th March to 7March(2 nights), albeit we realised we should have spent a couple of more days to explore and feel the resort optimally.

Passion and service culture are overwhelmingly exhibited at this place, they are so apparant that the moment one enters the property you can feel the same. The owner Mr Shetty has very tastefully designed the whole place(am assuming this) with so much focus to sustainability and Nature. The thoughtfulness of not having a mobile tower(which some of us may find irritating ;) ) enables one to see and hear the most amazing birds inside the property. Insect lovers can go gaga over the amazing citing of butterflies. The food at WWS is a culinary treat and and can tingle your sensation to the next level, like a feeling of waking up with delight the moment you put the first morsel in your mouth. Unlimited & variety of food every meal and every day. F&B team comprising of Mr Murugesh, Chef Rana's team, Prithvi and the others who served us were ensuring we taste and enjoy every thing that was made which felt as if it was made only for us.

Daily evening sessions of Yoga stretching by Doc Lalit is a sports enthusiast delight. He volunteered to discuss any medical problems and suggested certain recommendations to lead a healthier life.My son was estatic of the small water body next to the restaurant, where all of us indulged in a fish pedicure treatment.

In addition there is a table tennis table, books to read, kayaking but personally my husband was over the top when he saw some great trail bikes(one suggestion would be to have bikes for smaller children as my son felt left out albeit he enjoyed the double ride with this father. A special mention of the trekking facility available at WWS, this was a memorable trek for all us including my 7 year old son, very nicely organised with a guide who thoughtfully carries fruits, sandwiches & water for you and your personal camerman ;) . Another interesting thing all of us enjoyed doing was fishing, and this could be done in the property. There are beaches close by to this property, Murudeshwar temple, all in all this is a perfect spot for a perfect holiday.

Another interesting element of thoughtfulness is the fact that they called us to ensure if we needed any direction to reach the hotel and not once but till the time we reached the property.
The property is vast, with a newer section being developed with some naturotheraphy centre. We are eager to get there when its ready.
The fact is, Mr Shetty wants to do so much, and I must say the step is definitely in the right direction to become one of the better hospitality names in this part of the world as its been a while I have known of a beautiful, top class resort in Mangalore.

Good luck and C you when you get there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jarita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KP_Shetty, Owner at Wild Woods Spa and Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello Jarita
Thanks for taking your time out from your busy schedule and writing such a detailed and wonderful review about our resort.We will be adding several activities,facilities and amenities in the coming months to keep you engaged throughout the day.

With regards to the children's bicycles we will take your suggestion into account and introduce them as soon as possible .
Lastly we hope you will visit our resort again in the future and enjoy your stay to the fullest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are looking for comfort in the deep forests and no civilization, there would be less things better than this.
This is a perfect place for a short visit as there are multiple scenic visits in the 50km radius. The hospitality, food quality, comfort quality is top notch.
The reasons for taking out 1 point -> 1. The place is not scenic in itself; 2. Not a big fan of the bathrooms...

A must visit

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a good bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mordernduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KP_Shetty, Owner at Wild Woods Spa and Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello
This is with reference to the review you had written for wild woods spa and resort.We are sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding the bathrooms in the cottages.In the coming months we will be refurbishing the cottages #4 and #5 one of which you may have stayed in.we Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

d location is serene n beautiful! my room had a wow river in front ....a simple walk at dis resort will literally clear off all d stresses in ur head! d owner ....MR SHETTY is a SWEETHEART & A GENTLEMAN! .... he gave us a personal tour of his love for d most amazing never b4 seen flower plantations dt he nurtures throughout d year! ...many flowers hd me n my group like totally jaw dropped .... :-) we wer a group frm MUMBAI wanting 2 get out of d city life .... n believe me WILD WOOD SPA IS JUST D BEST PLACE 2 FORGET UR WORK LIFE N I MEAN TOTALLY FORGET!
I FELL IN LOVE wid WILD WOOD SPA ...N WNEVR M AT KARNATKA M SURELY VISITING AGAIN! n will advise ppl 2 just chk d place out n c 4 urself! :-)

Room Tip: stay in front of d river :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUNTYBABA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi Readers

This trip was a family trip oriented at bonding for the newly weds. Boy!! What a time we had. Iam from Auckland,NZ and places like these baffles me. In the sense, we Indians travel outside the country to distress when we have a serene place like this a days trip away.This place oozes class with its finesse. The keenness to little details is mind boggling. A 5 star set up with accomodation and never ending Breakfast,lunch and Dinner menu. The staff are uber friendly and extremely helpful. Plenty of activities to be done both indoor and outdoor. Kayaking, Archery, Cycling, trekking, Table Tennis, Fishing to name a few...

Only downfall is no internet or connectivity to outside world. Landline is the only means, but hey fellows isn't that what you want on a holiday. Nobody to chase you!! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The property is nestled in the midst of nature a great botanical retreat. It is extremely tastefully designed and beautifully maintained. The landscape, architecture and detailing of the place are remarkable. We just stayed for a night in the family cottage, the time spent seemed insufficient. Must stay for at least 2 nights. We were extremely touched by the hospitality. The staff is extremely courteous and always on their toes to help and please their guests. They are all so friendly and so helpful even before one enters the property the people here help you make your journey interesting. The food is to die for the flavour, colour and texture were all perfect. Ours was an all paid package, they had a set menu. We received prior calls from the resort to learn our preferences, all of which were served to us. Mr. Murugesh and his staff made the food tastier by serving it with love and care. There is a stream flowing along the property where kayaking and coracle rides can be enjoyed. It offers a good range of indoor games. The master bed in the family cottage is a little small for 2 indian sized adults. Last but not least I must mention Dr. Lalit a certified naturopathic doctor helps people de-stress here, his session is one not to be forgotten for a very long time. This place has a lot of positivity and a lingering feel good factor even after leaving wild woods.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shomika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

it was a family trip, me, my wife, my parents, sister and brother in law.
It was an awesome experience, excellent hospitality with 5 star cottages with all required amenities.

we took a train from bangalore, and resort staff picked us from bhatakl railway station.

The best part about resort is the food, awesome food, with excellent hospitality, as we went during a festive weekday, crowd was less and chef would make us the food which we asked for, wide spread food veg and non - veg for all the meals, lot of sport activities including kayak in the small river flowing through the resort, they are expanding the resort with private smiming pools in each villa.

lot of beautiful beaches and temples close by.
we got to see yakshagana too in a near by village.

a definite visit place for people in karnataka and south india.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vignesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Udupi
36.8 mi away
Paradise Lagoon
Paradise Lagoon
#2 of 23 in Udupi
154 reviews
42.9 mi away
Samanvay Boutique Hotel
41.9 mi away
The Ocean Pearl
The Ocean Pearl
#4 of 23 in Udupi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
RNS Residency
RNS Residency
#1 of 1 in Murdeshwar
362 reviews
22.9 mi away
UVA Meridian Bay Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
Hotel Mahalakshmi Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Woods Spa and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Woods Spa and Resort

Property: Wild Woods Spa and Resort
Address: Kundapur Taluk | Near Mangalore, Udupi 576214, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Udupi District > Udupi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Udupi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Woods Spa and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Woods Spa & Resort іѕ аn exquisite eco-friendly jungle getaway іn thе heart оf Kundapur іn Western Ghats оf Mangalore. Wrapped іn thе lush encirclement оf а tropical rainforest, уоu wіll dwell іn perfect harmony wіth nature, untouched аnd waiting tо bе explored. Quietly elegant аnd exclusive, thе wild woods spa іѕ а state оf mind wіth breathtaking vistas. All cottages аrе river facing offering уоu а splendid view оf thе stream.Thе biggest USP оf thе resort іѕ іtѕ proximity tо thе Arabian Sea Coast. It іѕ а mere 12 kms frоm thе resort. Visitors саn nоt оnlу enjoy thе waterfalls nеаr thе resort but саn аlѕо visit thе beaches close tо it.Our Ayurveda spa offers аll natural treatments derived frоm ancient techniques whісh incorporate оur natural products. Thе Ayurveda treatments аt оur resort wіll give уоu аn оvеrаll relaxed feeling. Wе provide а wide range оf treatments ѕuсh аѕ nutrition counseling, weight loss programs, аnd fitness counseling tо skin treatments. Experienced masseuse аt thе Ayurveda Spa wіll mаkе ѕurе уоu аrе іn good hands.so јuѕt unwind аnd relax аѕ уоu indulge іn thе wide range оf spa treatments аvаіlаblе іn оur spa.Wild Woods Spa & Resort іѕ а treasure trove оf nature wіth mоrе thаn 100 species оf birds, butterflies, flora аnd fauna. Photography іѕ оnе оf thе bеѕt hobbies thаt mоѕt people enjoy. It іѕ vеrу exhilarating tо uѕе photography techniques tо capture а breath-taking sunset оr а magnificent bird іn flight. Mоѕt оftеn photographers forget аbоut twо important factors іn tаkіng wildlife photos. Nоt оnlу оnе muѕt hаvе а complete understanding оf camera equipment, but аlѕо hаvе а thоrоugh understanding оf thе natural environment.Wild woods Spa & Resort offers plenty оf opportunities tо bе enthralled bу thе unfathomable mystery оf thе environment. It іѕ уоur ultimate escape tо а serene environment. Thе number оf places tо explore аnd thе variety оf activities thаt exist hеrе аrе limitless. Stay wіth uѕ fоr а whіlе аnd whо knows, уоu mау nеvеr wаnt tо gо bасk again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Woods Spa and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Woods Spa And Resort Udupi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing