We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful retreat in the tropical vegetation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Udupi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is a haven of peace in a magnificent vegetation. Rooms are very comfortable and big. It is necessary to greet all the work of plantations and maintenance of this hoteland. We wait for the swimming pool to return there. Magali of France

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Wild Woods Spa and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 344 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

"Wild Woods" has really blown our mind away. Nestled amidst nature, its truly a paradise. The resort has lovely gardens, varieties of fish, birds etc. The guests are treated royally & the food was excellent. All in all it is a great place to unwind & rejuvenate. We left the resort wishing we should have planned to stay on for a couple of more days. We will definitely plan to visit "Wild Woods" again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumesh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

words are insufficient to praise this wonderful resort!!! the wild wood spa resort can take its pride nestled on the streams with a breathtaking view of the western ghats. the setting of the resort is quite beautiful with lovely gardens and with nice fragrance of the nature covered with variates of flowers one can say it is "MAGICAL SITTING" . I enjoyed each and bit of the minute . Rooms were clean and neatly organized ,housekeeping excellent!!! The spa was great and fantastic, rejuvenating .The staff is outstanding and attention is paid to every little detail making you feel like royalty .the restaurant servers amazing food (fresh sea food) made by ex termly talented chef Mr.Rana who always smile and he is helping everyone to enjoy food.And we enjoyed the jungle trek ,rubber plantation,varieties of butterflies, birds thanks to Mr. Venkatesh and Mr Rohit for the trek the jungle trek made me feels like I'm on the top of the world .The resort definitely takes royal luxury to a new level it is "simply outstanding"
I just loved my staying in wild wood spa resort and i am really missing it a lot .My best wishes to Mr K.P Shetty and team for making our stay fabulous thanks a lot. We look froward to our next stay at wild wood spa resort its our home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushma162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We found this place through Tripadvisor, this is a great resort if your planning to take a break from the busy city life, its beautiful. Nature nature and nature... it's on the banks of a river. they have two properties, opposite to each other... we wished we could stay here for couple of days more.. the food was delicious.. i loved herbal idlis and kothmir chutney... it's was super yum... the rooms are ok.. comfortable... we stayed in bamboo cottage (you'll find insects..)... should have stayed in stone cottage.. the hospitality tops everything. the owner personally took care of kitchen and every small detail... its a must visit place if you are visiting karnataka,,, It's beautiful for photographer.. everywhere you look you find something to click...

don't forget to ask for directions before you start, it's a very tough place to find especially at night.. the boards are very badly placed.. we almost crossed the turning near the checkpost.. hope they do something about it..

Room Tip: Stone cottage... bamboo cottage has small insects :-|
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YashuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KP_Shetty, Public Relations Manager at Wild Woods Spa and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear YashuK

Thank you for having stayed with us & for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay & the food & we look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Regarding the insects we would like to clarify that being in a natural forest environment there are abundant insects in the open. However all our rooms have fixed nets on all windows & ventilators to stop insects from coming in. However very often the guests keep the cottage door open & this could possibly lead to an insect or two getting attracted indoors. Please note that there is no difference between the bamboo cottage & stone cottage except in the materials used for finishing. As a policy we do not use pesticides or do fogging due to the ill effects of the same on the ecology. Housekeeping checks all rooms in the evening during turndown service and removes any insects. We have also installed some LED lights in the riverside decks which are now attracting the bees & insects away from the cottages. Birds and bats are natural insect killers & keep a control on their population.

As regards the sign board, since it is placed alongside a highway, very often the view gets blocked by the trucks which also park there. We obviously cant shift the board since it is at the turn off nor can we control the parking of the trucks / buses etc. We are just adding some more boards on either side of the turn off which would let our guests know how far they are from the turn off. If required we even send our person to the highway to meet the guest & guide them in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Henceforth, when tourists crowd Goa, Goans will head to the 'Wild Woods'. If you're looking to unplug from the chaos that is urban life, then this is the place to rejuvenate and leave the rat race behind. My children loved the river trek, ample garden space, visit to the nearby rubber plantations and food. My wife and I enjoyed the Ayurvedic massage treatment. The staff was efficient and made our stay comfortable. The room was clean and the view is unbeatable. Every corner and turn around the property nudges you towards nature and greenery. The food is 5 star quality and the menu changes daily....i'm looking to unplug and come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a remarkable retreat tucked away, and I mean really tucked away, in the deep woodlands of East Karnataka (you get used to its location once you are there for a day or two but on arrival it is quite an adjustment to the mind and senses but actually in a positive way).

The retreat is the brainchild of Mr Shetty, the Managing Director. When there, he makes an effort to talk to all his guests and is helpful, even allowing us to use his 4 by 4 Toyota (with driver) to pop into the nearby, dusty hamlet called Shiroor about a mile away down a dirt road. Shiroor is a place with not much else except for some local shops like bakeries, one internet café and most astonishingly (you’ll know why I say this if you visit) one secure Cashpoint in its own air-conditioned room. But the more inquisitive traveller may find Shiroor appealing in its own right in the way we did, mingling with the locals at the bakery and then taking an autorickshaw back to the resort. All you have to say is “resort” and the drivers know. The ride back at night is fascinating as the local dwellers prepare for the night, and the flickering light bulbs and croaking and other sounds all add to the sheer atmosphere of being somewhere truly remote.

Back to the retreat. The rate at Wild Woods includes three meals a day. How good is that? The meals are an interesting array of meticulously prepared dishes; home-made food like your mother would make (well, mine is Indian) except in a hotel setting, ranging from the innovative (eg. a dish made from the leaf of the baby cucumber plant or Idli with hibiscus flower or jackfruit) to the locally sourced (tasty, fried river fish from nearby) to the more routine but delicious chicken and prawn dishes. The dishes are a blend of not heavily spiced Konkani, Udupi and South Indian cuisines which veteran taste buds will appreciate. I had my dinner with hot wholemeal rotis. Depending on trade, dinner will either be served to you as courses or offered as a buffet. Either way, you won’t be disappointed. Although if via the non-buffet route, and accepting that they don’t want to bombard your plate in an underclass manner, I felt that some of the meat/fish portions could have been a bit (only a bit) more generous. The dining room is interesting; surrounded by a lily pond and protected by wood pillars and netting to prevent those little beasties coming in to bother you.

The restaurant staff are friendly enough but may need a bit more training in how to engage with the client to standards expected of a high-class retreat. The same applies to the reception staff. I don’t think any of the staff have had previous hotel experience but certainly do try their hardest. The best member of staff for me was a delightful young man who, even though unable to speak, would communicate in the most friendly way by making sounds and hand gestures. He washed my T-shirts perfectly and gently and was so proud of the job he had done that he insisted I smell the fabric conditioner he had used ! He was amusing. He also took me for a walk around the grounds to show me the trampoline and explain about the various new developments. It is staff like him who make a short stay all the more special (unlike the others who were relatively remote in manner by comparison), so bravo to him and I hope Mr Shetty recognises this by giving him more of an opportunity despite his obvious disability.

Our konkan-style stone cottage was marvellous. Good, clean bedding (though the pillows were a bit spongy), a good LCD TV, good A/C, dark antique wood surrounds, interesting window shutters and items you would find in a five star hotel eg. hairdryer, good quality (“Biotique”) bathing products, a pot pourri bag for the wardrobe, a kettle with a good array of “Twining’s” tea etc The bathroom was spotless, the shower powerful and there’s a quaint ante (dressing) room which links the bathroom to the bedroom.

The resort is literally in the “wild woods”. There are monkeys that climb the trees, beautiful butterflies that flit from one flower to the next and bats at night who nestle up in their fruit trees. There is a mountain stream that runs through the resort and small open air chalets that you can sit in (together with a fan, amazingly) to view the water flow and perhaps do some reading or meditation as I did. The array of butterflies and birds that come visiting is noteworthy. There are various medicinal plants that are used in their ayurvedic massages and treatments.

Put simply, this resort permits a very real disconnect from the stresses of modern life and the grime and throng of the Indian city. It’s the perfect place to write a book or contemplate life. The fact that there was no phone signal or internet connection made our stay all the more special; rather than focus on one’s Ipad or speak to relatives, you are transported to how times used to be. But I understand that both the phone signal and internet connection are being sorted out. There is an excellent spa (please take advantage of the treatments).

I would advise being on guard if you walk on the dirt road outside of the retreat towards Shiroor. It is nice walk on a bright sunny day with breathtaking views of green rice fields, mountains etc however I did spot a black snake quickly retreat away from us (but it was deep in the woods and retreated probably out of fear). I am told this could either have been a rat snake or Cobra (yes!). But Mr Shetty pacified me by saying that this was a rare sighting and certainly you are unlikely to see one in the occupied grounds of the hotel. But if you do go trekking to, say, the beautiful waterfalls nearby (and there are leeches also) then wear good, protective footwear and be cautious.

For me, one major advantage of this retreat is its proximity to the famous Mookambika temple which takes only about 45 minutes by a good car. It is also only about an hour away from the stunning Murudeswara temple with its breathtaking 123 feet statue of Lord Shiva.

What looks like a relatively short journey on the map between Mangalore and the retreat is not. The journey back to Mangalore airport took about 2+ hours and I would recommend a very good car (eg. Toyota Innova). It will cost but the more you pay, the more comfortable and safe your journey will be as not all the roads are good (in fact some stretches are positively bad).

All in all, a peaceful, relaxing and remarkable stay and one where a stay of about five days or longer will really pay dividends. I plan to return.

Room Tip: Stone Cottage - well worth the extra you pay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PierreLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked the place as we wanted to spend a couple of days near Manipal and found the reviews good. It is slight uncomfortable drive for the first timers but once we reached there we found the place extremely comfortable and the hospitality levels were really nice. Mr.Shetty the owner of the resort is very passionate to make the stay comfortable for the guests. The entire staff is very well trained and the place is an amazing get away for any one looking to spend a couple of days away from the hurries of city life and the place has no mobile connectivity and that helps ! The owner of the resort does not believe in separate billings for food / water bottles and the package is all inclusive sparing us the hassles of signing bills every now and then. The food is very good and very homely and a very good spread for all meals.

We look forward to get back to this place for a longer holiday soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Baskar_2013_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Udupi
36.8 mi away
Paradise Lagoon
Paradise Lagoon
#2 of 23 in Udupi
183 reviews
43.0 mi away
Samanvay Boutique Hotel
42.0 mi away
The Ocean Pearl
The Ocean Pearl
#4 of 23 in Udupi
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
RNS Residency
RNS Residency
#1 of 1 in Murdeshwar
372 reviews
23.0 mi away
UVA Meridian Bay Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Hotel Mahalakshmi Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Woods Spa and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Woods Spa and Resort

Address: Kundapur Taluk | Near Mangalore, Udupi 576214, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Udupi District > Udupi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Udupi
Price Range: $101 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Woods Spa and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Woods Spa & Resort іѕ аn exquisite eco-friendly jungle getaway іn thе heart оf Kundapur іn Western Ghats оf Mangalore. Wrapped іn thе lush encirclement оf а tropical rainforest, уоu wіll dwell іn perfect harmony wіth nature, untouched аnd waiting tо bе explored. Quietly elegant аnd exclusive, thе wild woods spa іѕ а state оf mind wіth breathtaking vistas. All cottages аrе river facing offering уоu а splendid view оf thе stream.Thе biggest USP оf thе resort іѕ іtѕ proximity tо thе Arabian Sea Coast. It іѕ а mere 12 kms frоm thе resort. Visitors саn nоt оnlу enjoy thе waterfalls nеаr thе resort but саn аlѕо visit thе beaches close tо it.Our Ayurveda spa offers аll natural treatments derived frоm ancient techniques whісh incorporate оur natural products. Thе Ayurveda treatments аt оur resort wіll give уоu аn оvеrаll relaxed feeling. Wе provide а wide range оf treatments ѕuсh аѕ nutrition counseling, weight loss programs, аnd fitness counseling tо skin treatments. Experienced masseuse аt thе Ayurveda Spa wіll mаkе ѕurе уоu аrе іn good hands.so јuѕt unwind аnd relax аѕ уоu indulge іn thе wide range оf spa treatments аvаіlаblе іn оur spa.Wild Woods Spa & Resort іѕ а treasure trove оf nature wіth mоrе thаn 100 species оf birds, butterflies, flora аnd fauna. Photography іѕ оnе оf thе bеѕt hobbies thаt mоѕt people enjoy. It іѕ vеrу exhilarating tо uѕе photography techniques tо capture а breath-taking sunset оr а magnificent bird іn flight. Mоѕt оftеn photographers forget аbоut twо important factors іn tаkіng wildlife photos. Nоt оnlу оnе muѕt hаvе а complete understanding оf camera equipment, but аlѕо hаvе а thоrоugh understanding оf thе natural environment.Wild woods Spa & Resort offers plenty оf opportunities tо bе enthralled bу thе unfathomable mystery оf thе environment. It іѕ уоur ultimate escape tо а serene environment. Thе number оf places tо explore аnd thе variety оf activities thаt exist hеrе аrе limitless. Stay wіth uѕ fоr а whіlе аnd whо knows, уоu mау nеvеr wаnt tо gо bасk again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Woods Spa and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Woods Spa And Resort Udupi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing