We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise is just 4 hrs from Goa now!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Woods Spa and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Udupi
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise is just 4 hrs from Goa now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Henceforth, when tourists crowd Goa, Goans will head to the 'Wild Woods'. If you're looking to unplug from the chaos that is urban life, then this is the place to rejuvenate and leave the rat race behind. My children loved the river trek, ample garden space, visit to the nearby rubber plantations and food. My wife and I enjoyed the Ayurvedic massage treatment. The staff was efficient and made our stay comfortable. The room was clean and the view is unbeatable. Every corner and turn around the property nudges you towards nature and greenery. The food is 5 star quality and the menu changes daily....i'm looking to unplug and come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    72
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
184
67
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a remarkable retreat tucked away, and I mean really tucked away, in the deep woodlands of East Karnataka (you get used to its location once you are there for a day or two but on arrival it is quite an adjustment to the mind and senses but actually in a positive way).

The retreat is the brainchild of Mr Shetty, the Managing Director. When there, he makes an effort to talk to all his guests and is helpful, even allowing us to use his 4 by 4 Toyota (with driver) to pop into the nearby, dusty hamlet called Shiroor about a mile away down a dirt road. Shiroor is a place with not much else except for some local shops like bakeries, one internet café and most astonishingly (you’ll know why I say this if you visit) one secure Cashpoint in its own air-conditioned room. But the more inquisitive traveller may find Shiroor appealing in its own right in the way we did, mingling with the locals at the bakery and then taking an autorickshaw back to the resort. All you have to say is “resort” and the drivers know. The ride back at night is fascinating as the local dwellers prepare for the night, and the flickering light bulbs and croaking and other sounds all add to the sheer atmosphere of being somewhere truly remote.

Back to the retreat. The rate at Wild Woods includes three meals a day. How good is that? The meals are an interesting array of meticulously prepared dishes; home-made food like your mother would make (well, mine is Indian) except in a hotel setting, ranging from the innovative (eg. a dish made from the leaf of the baby cucumber plant or Idli with hibiscus flower or jackfruit) to the locally sourced (tasty, fried river fish from nearby) to the more routine but delicious chicken and prawn dishes. The dishes are a blend of not heavily spiced Konkani, Udupi and South Indian cuisines which veteran taste buds will appreciate. I had my dinner with hot wholemeal rotis. Depending on trade, dinner will either be served to you as courses or offered as a buffet. Either way, you won’t be disappointed. Although if via the non-buffet route, and accepting that they don’t want to bombard your plate in an underclass manner, I felt that some of the meat/fish portions could have been a bit (only a bit) more generous. The dining room is interesting; surrounded by a lily pond and protected by wood pillars and netting to prevent those little beasties coming in to bother you.

The restaurant staff are friendly enough but may need a bit more training in how to engage with the client to standards expected of a high-class retreat. The same applies to the reception staff. I don’t think any of the staff have had previous hotel experience but certainly do try their hardest. The best member of staff for me was a delightful young man who, even though unable to speak, would communicate in the most friendly way by making sounds and hand gestures. He washed my T-shirts perfectly and gently and was so proud of the job he had done that he insisted I smell the fabric conditioner he had used ! He was amusing. He also took me for a walk around the grounds to show me the trampoline and explain about the various new developments. It is staff like him who make a short stay all the more special (unlike the others who were relatively remote in manner by comparison), so bravo to him and I hope Mr Shetty recognises this by giving him more of an opportunity despite his obvious disability.

Our konkan-style stone cottage was marvellous. Good, clean bedding (though the pillows were a bit spongy), a good LCD TV, good A/C, dark antique wood surrounds, interesting window shutters and items you would find in a five star hotel eg. hairdryer, good quality (“Biotique”) bathing products, a pot pourri bag for the wardrobe, a kettle with a good array of “Twining’s” tea etc The bathroom was spotless, the shower powerful and there’s a quaint ante (dressing) room which links the bathroom to the bedroom.

The resort is literally in the “wild woods”. There are monkeys that climb the trees, beautiful butterflies that flit from one flower to the next and bats at night who nestle up in their fruit trees. There is a mountain stream that runs through the resort and small open air chalets that you can sit in (together with a fan, amazingly) to view the water flow and perhaps do some reading or meditation as I did. The array of butterflies and birds that come visiting is noteworthy. There are various medicinal plants that are used in their ayurvedic massages and treatments.

Put simply, this resort permits a very real disconnect from the stresses of modern life and the grime and throng of the Indian city. It’s the perfect place to write a book or contemplate life. The fact that there was no phone signal or internet connection made our stay all the more special; rather than focus on one’s Ipad or speak to relatives, you are transported to how times used to be. But I understand that both the phone signal and internet connection are being sorted out. There is an excellent spa (please take advantage of the treatments).

I would advise being on guard if you walk on the dirt road outside of the retreat towards Shiroor. It is nice walk on a bright sunny day with breathtaking views of green rice fields, mountains etc however I did spot a black snake quickly retreat away from us (but it was deep in the woods and retreated probably out of fear). I am told this could either have been a rat snake or Cobra (yes!). But Mr Shetty pacified me by saying that this was a rare sighting and certainly you are unlikely to see one in the occupied grounds of the hotel. But if you do go trekking to, say, the beautiful waterfalls nearby (and there are leeches also) then wear good, protective footwear and be cautious.

For me, one major advantage of this retreat is its proximity to the famous Mookambika temple which takes only about 45 minutes by a good car. It is also only about an hour away from the stunning Murudeswara temple with its breathtaking 123 feet statue of Lord Shiva.

What looks like a relatively short journey on the map between Mangalore and the retreat is not. The journey back to Mangalore airport took about 2+ hours and I would recommend a very good car (eg. Toyota Innova). It will cost but the more you pay, the more comfortable and safe your journey will be as not all the roads are good (in fact some stretches are positively bad).

All in all, a peaceful, relaxing and remarkable stay and one where a stay of about five days or longer will really pay dividends. I plan to return.

Room Tip: Stone Cottage - well worth the extra you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PierreLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked the place as we wanted to spend a couple of days near Manipal and found the reviews good. It is slight uncomfortable drive for the first timers but once we reached there we found the place extremely comfortable and the hospitality levels were really nice. Mr.Shetty the owner of the resort is very passionate to make the stay comfortable for the guests. The entire staff is very well trained and the place is an amazing get away for any one looking to spend a couple of days away from the hurries of city life and the place has no mobile connectivity and that helps ! The owner of the resort does not believe in separate billings for food / water bottles and the package is all inclusive sparing us the hassles of signing bills every now and then. The food is very good and very homely and a very good spread for all meals.

We look forward to get back to this place for a longer holiday soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Baskar_2013_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excellent resort. Well planned with every convenience of guests taken care of including free flow of mineral water. No room left for any complaints. The owner and manager take personal interest to ensure that guests are comfortable. All the staff, are courteous and helpful although not professionally trained. Great ambience with great food. What more can you expect? In short a paradise on earth and that too at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Any cottage is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you want to experience what an individual's passion and interest can achieve, then this is the place to be. The best I have ever seen in coastal Karnataka, Wild Woods is the brain-child of Mr K P Shetty, an entrepreneur who microscopically plans everything from the fish in the pond to the menu on the table. His enduring research, hard work, and innovative ideas have created this place, a botanical retreat of well-planned landscapes, excellent rustic cottages, great services and wonderful staff to manage it. In fact, Mr Shetty himself maybe your host if you are lucky, explaining his interest in horticulture, photography and above all, giving a great experience to families who would like to experience the beauty of nature.

The resort is well-planned, well-maintained and well-connected, with something in it for every kind of person, be it reading a book by the river, cycling around the countryside, kayaking in the river, trekking to waterfalls, driving down to the beach, or visiting the tourist desinations that surround this place. It is equidistant from the Western Ghats and the Arabian Sea, so you have a lot to explore , photograph and enjoy ! And for all others, there is the spa in-house !

Highly recommended and worth it !

Room Tip: Stone Cottages have a better river view than the bamboo cottages, though all cottages face the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raghunandanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent resort. The room-cum-cottage concept is very well executed with clean, spacious rooms and very well appointed bathroom / toilet and 24 x 7 hot-cold water at good pressure. The staff is helpful and courteous but need better training and polish. The cafetaria is nice and spacious with a good variety of food. We had butterflies during daytime and bats at night to give us company. The moutain stream flowing by is a wonderful place for a gentle swim, kayaking and zorbing which the kids enjoyed. Better safety infrastructure is required. The highlight for our family and friends was the 4 km trek up a mountain slope to a waterfall. We also drove down nearby to the stunning Beach View Point and then the kids had a good time in the beach further away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganguly_aniruddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

we enjoyed a lot... peace of mind, vry good plac who wnt relaxsation, hygeunic vry good maintianence n cleanness.. excellent food... everythin iz vry gud... al service r vry gud , n very gud plce fr wtchin varity of birds, diff type of plants n variety of colourful butterflies, environment iz gud fr family..:) thanks to mr.shetty n team. frm premanada kulal manglore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66excellent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Udupi
36.8 mi away
Paradise Lagoon
Paradise Lagoon
#2 of 24 in Udupi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
22.9 mi away
UVA Meridian Bay Resort & Spa
40.4 mi away
Paradise Isle Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sai Vishram Byndoor
Sai Vishram Byndoor
#1 of 1 in Paduvari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
17.9 mi away
juSTa Turtlebay On Sea, Kundapur Resort
41.3 mi away
Malpe Sea Front Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Woods Spa and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Woods Spa and Resort

Property: Wild Woods Spa and Resort
Address: Kundapur Taluk | Near Mangalore, Udupi 576214, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Udupi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Udupi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Woods Spa and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Woods Spa & Resort іѕ аn exquisite eco-friendly jungle getaway іn thе heart оf Kundapur іn Western Ghats оf Mangalore. Wrapped іn thе lush encirclement оf а tropical rainforest, уоu wіll dwell іn perfect harmony wіth nature, untouched аnd waiting tо bе explored. Quietly elegant аnd exclusive, thе wild woods spa іѕ а state оf mind wіth breathtaking vistas. All cottages аrе river facing offering уоu а splendid view оf thе stream.Thе biggest USP оf thе resort іѕ іtѕ proximity tо thе Arabian Sea Coast. It іѕ а mere 12 kms frоm thе resort. Visitors саn nоt оnlу enjoy thе waterfalls nеаr thе resort but саn аlѕо visit thе beaches close tо it.Our Ayurveda spa offers аll natural treatments derived frоm ancient techniques whісh incorporate оur natural products. Thе Ayurveda treatments аt оur resort wіll give уоu аn оvеrаll relaxed feeling. Wе provide а wide range оf treatments ѕuсh аѕ nutrition counseling, weight loss programs, аnd fitness counseling tо skin treatments. Experienced masseuse аt thе Ayurveda Spa wіll mаkе ѕurе уоu аrе іn good hands.so јuѕt unwind аnd relax аѕ уоu indulge іn thе wide range оf spa treatments аvаіlаblе іn оur spa.Wild Woods Spa & Resort іѕ а treasure trove оf nature wіth mоrе thаn 100 species оf birds, butterflies, flora аnd fauna. Photography іѕ оnе оf thе bеѕt hobbies thаt mоѕt people enjoy. It іѕ vеrу exhilarating tо uѕе photography techniques tо capture а breath-taking sunset оr а magnificent bird іn flight. Mоѕt оftеn photographers forget аbоut twо important factors іn tаkіng wildlife photos. Nоt оnlу оnе muѕt hаvе а complete understanding оf camera equipment, but аlѕо hаvе а thоrоugh understanding оf thе natural environment.Wild woods Spa & Resort offers plenty оf opportunities tо bе enthralled bу thе unfathomable mystery оf thе environment. It іѕ уоur ultimate escape tо а serene environment. Thе number оf places tо explore аnd thе variety оf activities thаt exist hеrе аrе limitless. Stay wіth uѕ fоr а whіlе аnd whо knows, уоu mау nеvеr wаnt tо gо bасk again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wild Woods Spa and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Woods Spa And Resort Udupi, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing