We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely way to travel down the Mekong.

We took the 2 day, 1 night trip from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. Our package included a transfer... read more

Reviewed March 29, 2020
PlymouthPete19
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Boats N Laos!

Very relaxing experience from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang, well worth the money! The views are... read more

Reviewed March 1, 2020
elkinski
,
Surrey, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 216 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Huay Xai
from $155.89
More Info
from $273.85
More Info
from $104.27
More Info
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
173
26
9
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
173
26
9
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng chiang rai pak ou caves his wife slow boat mekong river two days thai border border crossing great trip hill tribe village english speaking guide guest house overnight stop buddha cave thailand laos boat driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 216 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2016

Every aspect of this river boat cruise was wonderful. All details and logistics are pre-planned so you need only to relax and enjoy the scenery. You will certainly find cheaper means of getting between the countries but if you want a non-crowded boat with excellent tour guides and the ability to really enjoy your experience, opt for a trip with Mekong Smile Cruise. They assist with obtaining visas, offer private drivers between Chiang Rai and Huay Xai (included in the cost), and ensure you arrive to your hotel in Luang Prabang. Highly recommended tour company!

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank sletchwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

The unusual cold spell in Lao end of January beginning of February was paramount in changing our travel dates and it became necessary to carry on our journey on Chinese New Year. Not our preferred choice but we got on to the internet and Mekong Smile cruises offered a slow boat trip von Luang Prabang to Huay Xai. We booked and then quite a few things did not proceed as initially foreseen; payment via internet was not possible, the Hotel in Pak Beng was fully booked, and communication via the net was cumbersome. We initially expected the worst, but then everything worked like a charm. We were picked up at our Guesthouse in Luang Prabang spot on time, and amazingly we were the only guests on the boat. We assume this is due to the fact that: a.) Most travelers are going downstream, b.) Chinese new year and c.) the boats have to go upstream to Huay Xai to pick up the next load. But who is to complain, we had the guide all to ourselves, plenty of space to feel really comfortable, a competent skipper and his wife as a very attentive cook. To report about the Mekong, the people living next on it and the wonderful scenery would take much more time and space, but should be done by every serious traveller.
There is no doubt that not all Slow Boat Trips are like this but it was an experience and we can recommend Mekong Smile Cruises anytime.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank 851herberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

We booked a trip down the Mekong River through Mekong Smile to facilitate our journey from Thailand into Laos. We were picked up from our accommodations in Chiang Rai, Thailand and driven to the border. Once in Laos, we were greeted by another representative from Mekong Smile, who guided us through the visa process.

The cruise itself was relaxing. There were only five guests, including myself, on the boat, which gave us ample room to move about. This was a stark contrast to some of the other slowboats we saw, which were packed.

Kit, our tour guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable about our stops. Additionally, the food served on the boat (lunch on both days) was some of the best Lao food we had.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank paharris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016 via mobile

A 2 day cruise on the Mekong River. Our peregrine guide and local tour guide Mr Tui accompanied us from Laos border to Luang Prabang. Our overnight stop was in Pakbeng. We were lucky enough to see the working elephants going for a swim in the river at 6.30am

Tip : sunhat, sunscreen, water, warm clothes cold wind on river, include lunch to be provided by boat owner

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

We had a great cruise - just as described. The people were very nice, food was excellent, excursions as promised and the weather was great. I highly recommend this tour. It exceeded all of my expectations.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank 810JulieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews