We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely way to travel down the Mekong.

We took the 2 day, 1 night trip from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. Our package included a transfer... read more

Reviewed March 29, 2020
PlymouthPete19
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Boats N Laos!

Very relaxing experience from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang, well worth the money! The views are... read more

Reviewed March 1, 2020
elkinski
,
Surrey, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 216 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Huay Xai
from $156.50
More Info
from $104.68
More Info
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
173
26
9
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
173
26
9
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng chiang rai pak ou caves his wife slow boat mekong river two days thai border border crossing great trip hill tribe village english speaking guide guest house overnight stop buddha cave thailand laos boat driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 216 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2016 via mobile

A 2 day cruise on the Mekong River. Our peregrine guide and local tour guide Mr Tui accompanied us from Laos border to Luang Prabang. Our overnight stop was in Pakbeng. We were lucky enough to see the working elephants going for a swim in the river at 6.30am

Tip : sunhat, sunscreen, water, warm clothes cold wind on river, include lunch to be provided by boat owner

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

We had a great cruise - just as described. The people were very nice, food was excellent, excursions as promised and the weather was great. I highly recommend this tour. It exceeded all of my expectations.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank 810JulieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016 via mobile

We had planned to go with Mekong Smile Cruises as we had read the good reviews and the price seemed good.
When we showed up at the office in Hua Xai friday 22/1 and wanted to join the boat leaving saturday 23/1 we were told there were no boats leaving until 30/1. As they had no reservations they did not run the boat.
We ended up going with another company, and that was great too, but I write this as information for others that travel without a schedule, so that you know it's not just to show up.

Date of experience: January 2016
4  Thank eleonorer568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houmpheng D, Owner at Mekong Smile Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Thank you for your review, we apprciate any feedback. We are a very popular cruise and have a large public demand so would reccommend anyone wanting to join the Mekong Smile Cruise to book in advance, i am sorry if this caused any distruption to your travels and hope you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

This cruise could not have been better. From the moment I was picked up, until I was dropped off at my guesthouse after the cruise, I could not have asked for anything better. The boat was beautiful, the guide was knowledgeable and fun, and always available to answer any questions. The food was excellent, and non - stop. The Captain obviously knew his job very well - this river requires good navigational skills. The stops were informative, and well planned. The scenery was above and beyond what I expected. Everyone on our cruise considered it a perfect 2 days.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Adventureglo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2016

A fantastic trip on an clean nice boat, with good food and people that cared for you every step. Drivers were on time, everyone was helpful, the scenery was perfect, something We would really recommend. Good value!

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank 691maritat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews