We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A must do

Firstly, we have to thanks our tour operator and guide Cham for all the hard work he put into... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
johnbV7950ES
,
Chiang Mai, Thailand
via mobile
Wonderful introduction to Laos

We were picked up from Chang Rai exactly when promised, and helped across the border into Laos... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chris A
Read all 174 reviews
  
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
138
21
8
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
21
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng pak ou caves chiang rai slow boat relaxing trip public boat two days thai border border crossing boat captain beautiful boat hill tribe village english speaking guide visa process dropped off low season great trip
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 174 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I just completed the slow boat trip down the Mekong. Smile cruise were excellent right from the start. They were responsive to emails in a timely manner, and delivered as promised. Pick up at our hotel was prompt and from that point on they did a great job of looking after us. Our guide San was knowledgeable and spoke pretty good English. The tours provided with the package were good, appropriate in length and interesting. Shuttle to our hotel at the end was comfortable and well organized.

I would definitely do it again with them.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

The transfer from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai was confusing, and done by minivan staff with little or no English language knowledge. We only got a short 15 min. in Chiang Rai to visit the famous Vat Tong Khun. I was dropped off in Chiang Khong at the wrong hotel, and it took over two hours before being helped to the correct hotel, which was very nice. Pick up from hotel, drop off at border, pick up by boat guide all o.k. Very nice, clean riverboat with excellent staff. Only one Hmong village visit, where each kid wanted to sell their bracelets for every minute that we were ashore. As passengers we agreed that some benefits, like clothing, food or other useful things should be given to the villagers for these tourist visits. You might want to share with your own people. Lunches on board were excellent. Hotel in Pakbeng o.k. Day 3 we stopped in another village, but again no local handicrafts as said in your flyer. There we passengers offered pens and paper for the school children. Stop at Pak Ou cave and van pick up in L.P. o.k. Overall a great way to relax for a few days in amazing surroundings.

Date of experience: November 2015
2  Thank DutchessFrenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2015

We decided only the day before departure that we would take a Mekong Smile cruise from Luang Prabang to the Friendship bridge on the Thai border. We were recommended the cruise by some fellow travellers, who had travelled into Laos by this route. We were fortunate to be the only people on board, and had the most relaxing and enjoyable trip. Our guide, Pheng, was courteous, helpful and attentive. The couple who drove the boat and prepared the food were delightful. The food was tasty and generous, and our overnight stay on Pakbeng was fine. Overall, our two day trip was a very restful and enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank 120trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

We had an amazing time on our Mekong Smile Cruise. We were lucky enough to just have 5 of us on the cruise and we had an excellent guide , San, who spoke very good English and made sure the whole trip was very enjoyable. The driver and his wife ensured we were well fed (excellent food, the best I had in Asia) and navigated the boat to ensure we experienced the best of the river and surrounding villages/caves. I would certainly recommend taking this trip as a more luxurious way to explore the river..

Date of experience: June 2015
6  Thank Yv0nne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

We booked this cruise some time in advance and were a little unsure due to it being a relatively new company to do cruises along the Mekong. I was pleasantly surprised. There ended up only being four passengers on the boat, which made for a relaxed atmosphere. Our guide met us on the Laos side of the Friendship Bridge and helped us with the Visa. Once on board we were provided with details of the cruise (plenty of water, tea/coffee, fruit, etc) including the stops we would make during the two days.
During the course of the cruise we stopped at two villages (one each day) and met the local families that lived there which was both fascinating and sad (because of the conditions in which they live) - make sure you pack treats for the children, pens, paper, balls, sweets, etc.
The overnight stay in Pak Beng was interesting although the accommodation could be better. Walking around the village and the local market was an eye-opener.
Prior to reaching Luang Prabang we visited the Pak Ou caves with its many Buddhas. Again worth the time.
The meals were excellent, the tour well constructed (with plenty of time for relaxing) and our guide Kae really added to the great experience.

Date of experience: November 2015
6  Thank stevo9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews