We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A must do

Firstly, we have to thanks our tour operator and guide Cham for all the hard work he put into... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
johnbV7950ES
,
Chiang Mai, Thailand
via mobile
Wonderful introduction to Laos

We were picked up from Chang Rai exactly when promised, and helped across the border into Laos... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chris A
Read all 174 reviews
  
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
138
21
8
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
21
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng pak ou caves chiang rai slow boat relaxing trip public boat two days thai border border crossing boat captain beautiful boat hill tribe village english speaking guide visa process dropped off low season great trip
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 174 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

We booked this cruise some time in advance and were a little unsure due to it being a relatively new company to do cruises along the Mekong. I was pleasantly surprised. There ended up only being four passengers on the boat, which made for a relaxed atmosphere. Our guide met us on the Laos side of the Friendship Bridge and helped us with the Visa. Once on board we were provided with details of the cruise (plenty of water, tea/coffee, fruit, etc) including the stops we would make during the two days.
During the course of the cruise we stopped at two villages (one each day) and met the local families that lived there which was both fascinating and sad (because of the conditions in which they live) - make sure you pack treats for the children, pens, paper, balls, sweets, etc.
The overnight stay in Pak Beng was interesting although the accommodation could be better. Walking around the village and the local market was an eye-opener.
Prior to reaching Luang Prabang we visited the Pak Ou caves with its many Buddhas. Again worth the time.
The meals were excellent, the tour well constructed (with plenty of time for relaxing) and our guide Kae really added to the great experience.

Date of experience: November 2015
6  Thank stevo9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015

The 2 day cruise on the mekong is a very unique experience thanks to 2 stops (one per day) to visit villages (minorities). It was very interesting visiting them with our guide and you don't see any other tourists (we were only 4 on the boat, so it was very pleasant, we had many space!!). You also stop at the Batu caves before arriving at Luang Prabang, so you don't need to come back another day!

The food on board (lunchs) is also very good.

The guide was very helpful, every transfert was arranged (for instance when you arrive at Luang Prabang, a car is waiting for you to tranfer to your hotel).

This cruise is a very nice memory from our trip. It is of course more expensive than the public boat, but it is definitively worth it. Thank you very much for this!

Date of experience: August 2015
5  Thank soso258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

This option to cruise from Houei Xai to Luang Prabang is perfect for families and those looking for value for money. You won't be packed in with the mobs but sit in comfort with a great guide. Stops at ethnic villages. Top-shelf accommodation in Pak Beng. Highly recommended

Date of experience: July 2015
5  Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

Good value for money! Two days of the wonderful landscapes, good services and the nice people on the boat. They provide any kind of need and you can relax and enjoy the trip. You visit also two villages and the famous Pak Ou cave.

Date of experience: August 2015
4  Thank giacomom456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houmpheng D, Owner at Mekong Smile Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2015

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you had a nice experience on the Mekong Cruise and you could relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Don't make the mistake of rushing from Houayxai to Luang Prabang. This stretch of river needs time to really appreciate. Mekong Smile Cruises is a great option. They have great helpful staff and guides. Their itinerary makes very special stops in ethnic minority villages. Excellent lunch on board and we'll organised overnight in a good quality hotel in Pakbeng. More expensive than other options, but we'll worth it for those that want a personalised and unique experience.

Date of experience: July 2015
6  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houmpheng D, Owner at Mekong Smile Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Thank you for your kind review. I am very glad that you enjoyed the cruise. If you have friends who are visiting Laos please recommend us to them!
Thank you again,
Houmpheng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews