We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A must do

Firstly, we have to thanks our tour operator and guide Cham for all the hard work he put into... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
johnbV7950ES
,
Chiang Mai, Thailand
via mobile
Wonderful introduction to Laos

We were picked up from Chang Rai exactly when promised, and helped across the border into Laos... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chris A
Read all 174 reviews
  
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
138
21
8
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
21
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng pak ou caves chiang rai slow boat relaxing trip public boat two days thai border border crossing boat captain beautiful boat hill tribe village english speaking guide visa process dropped off low season great trip
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 174 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2015

We went on the Mekong Smile Cruise for 2 days from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang and enjoyed this relaxing trip very much. A special thanks to the boatsman and his wife. Lunch was really good!
Han and Jeannette Rademaker

Date of experience: May 2015
8  Thank Jeannette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houmpheng D, Owner at Mekong Smile Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Thank you for kind review. We would love to hear how to make your next trip a 5* experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015

We travelled with Mekong Smile cruises from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang downstream on 21st Feb for the 2 day cruise and it was fantastic. As the company is only new its not as well known yet and we were fortunate enough to be the only ones on the boat so we had the guides undivided attention. Bounthan (we named him Johnny) was very informative, but he gave us quiet time when needed. We were suppose to go with a competitor but are so very glad we didn't, we seen those boats along the river and they were all full.
Our guide, boat captain & cook were very professional and accommodating. The lunch provided was very tasty and plentiful, the cook is a very good cook, and the boat captain amazed us with the way he handled his boat. We had a reservation at the Mekong riverside lodge for the overnight stay at Pakbeng and Johnny told us the elephants come down to bathe at 6.30 in the morning, we seen them and heard them trumpeting to each other, it was the highlight of our trip through Laos. My partner loved cruising down the Mighty Mekong. We would highly recommend the Mekong smile cruise company, I want to thank the staff for a very memorable 2 days.

Date of experience: February 2015
9  Thank Kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015

After more than 5 months of traveling through Myanmar, Thailand and Laos we were prepared to take the normal slow boat from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang our last destination before we had to return home. Accidently we found a flyer of Mekong Smile Cruise and decided to try a more relaxed way. On March 1st, 2015, we were on the boat downstream to Luang Prabang. Although we were only two passengers Mekong Smile Cruise made this highly enjoyable trip possible. Everything was well organized, we got excellent food onboard and stayed over night in a very good hotel in Pakbeng. The boat crew was very friendly and helpful and we had a pleasant time with our guide. Finally the timing at the Pak Ou caves was perfect, we had them for our own.
We can highly recommend this cruise and the service provided by Mekong Smile Cruise

Date of experience: March 2015
6  Thank Beate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

I went on the Mekong Smile Cruise with my girlfriend from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. We had the best cruise thanks to Mekong Smile Cruises great staff. We saw many other boats, but they were very crowded and not as much space to the passengers as we had. I can recommend this to everybody!

5  Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews