We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A must do

Firstly, we have to thanks our tour operator and guide Cham for all the hard work he put into... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
johnbV7950ES
,
Chiang Mai, Thailand
via mobile
Wonderful introduction to Laos

We were picked up from Chang Rai exactly when promised, and helped across the border into Laos... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chris A
Read all 174 reviews
  
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
138
21
8
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
21
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng pak ou caves chiang rai slow boat relaxing trip public boat two days thai border border crossing boat captain beautiful boat hill tribe village english speaking guide visa process dropped off low season great trip
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 174 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2015

After more than 5 months of traveling through Myanmar, Thailand and Laos we were prepared to take the normal slow boat from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang our last destination before we had to return home. Accidently we found a flyer of Mekong Smile Cruise and decided to try a more relaxed way. On March 1st, 2015, we were on the boat downstream to Luang Prabang. Although we were only two passengers Mekong Smile Cruise made this highly enjoyable trip possible. Everything was well organized, we got excellent food onboard and stayed over night in a very good hotel in Pakbeng. The boat crew was very friendly and helpful and we had a pleasant time with our guide. Finally the timing at the Pak Ou caves was perfect, we had them for our own.
We can highly recommend this cruise and the service provided by Mekong Smile Cruise

Date of experience: March 2015
6  Thank Beate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

I went on the Mekong Smile Cruise with my girlfriend from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. We had the best cruise thanks to Mekong Smile Cruises great staff. We saw many other boats, but they were very crowded and not as much space to the passengers as we had. I can recommend this to everybody!

5  Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews