We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely way to travel down the Mekong.

We took the 2 day, 1 night trip from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. Our package included a transfer... read more

Reviewed March 29, 2020
PlymouthPete19
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Boats N Laos!

Very relaxing experience from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang, well worth the money! The views are... read more

Reviewed March 1, 2020
elkinski
,
Surrey, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 216 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Huay Xai
from $156.50
More Info
from $104.68
More Info
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
173
26
9
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
173
26
9
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pak beng chiang rai pak ou caves his wife slow boat mekong river two days thai border border crossing great trip hill tribe village english speaking guide guest house overnight stop buddha cave thailand laos boat driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 216 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2015

After more than 5 months of traveling through Myanmar, Thailand and Laos we were prepared to take the normal slow boat from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang our last destination before we had to return home. Accidently we found a flyer of Mekong Smile Cruise and decided to try a more relaxed way. On March 1st, 2015, we were on the boat downstream to Luang Prabang. Although we were only two passengers Mekong Smile Cruise made this highly enjoyable trip possible. Everything was well organized, we got excellent food onboard and stayed over night in a very good hotel in Pakbeng. The boat crew was very friendly and helpful and we had a pleasant time with our guide. Finally the timing at the Pak Ou caves was perfect, we had them for our own.
We can highly recommend this cruise and the service provided by Mekong Smile Cruise

Date of experience: March 2015
6  Thank Beate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

I went on the Mekong Smile Cruise with my girlfriend from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. We had the best cruise thanks to Mekong Smile Cruises great staff. We saw many other boats, but they were very crowded and not as much space to the passengers as we had. I can recommend this to everybody!

5  Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2020
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews