We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cosy place, their profits go to the mountain people!”
Review of Daauw Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huay Xai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Daauw Home
Ranked #1 of 14 Huay Xai B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A beautiful little place with a very warm atmosphere. The bungalows are made out of wood and have nice paintings inside. Every bungalow has private bathroom with hot shower and a balcony with hammock to relax. You can use free towels and refill your waterbottle for free. The bungalows are simple, but clean and natural-looking.The family welcomes you as you are part of the family and there's a very cosy atmosphere with good music and a campfire. Also there's a guitar available, so many nights there is live music played by travellers.
The view from the terrace is amazing, you can see the Mekong river and sunset.
All their profits go to the Woman Empowerment projects for the Mountain People. If you're travelling on your own, it is also the perfect place to meet other travellers.
The restaurant serves traditional Hmong food and you can choose to sit and eat with the Hmong family if you want to. Also they serve very tasty Mojilao's with Lao Lao Whiskey, fresh mint, sugarcane and sodawater.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maikie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Based on all the five dot reviews we booked into this place prior to arriving in Huay Xai. Once we arrived though we found a very basic shack with dirty sheets and moved on to a different guest house.

To be fair, the owner did offer to replace the sheets. Further the restaurant looked very inviting and the people were certainly nice. Take my review with a grain of salt since I didn't stay the night but I felt compelled to provide another point of view to balance out the otherwise glowing reviews. It sounds like the Daauw Home provides for a great experience to connect with some local people but just know that the accommodations are basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delilahs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My stay at Daauw home is, for me, my favorite part of Laos. The people are warm and fun, the children are too cute for words, the project's mission is stable and focused. By staying at the Daauw Home, you not only support the local mountain women, but you get to meet and interact with the women the project currently assists. It is a fantastic way to leave the touristy hostel behind and meet the H'mong people who live just beyond the average tourist's reach. During my stay, I visited a number of mountain villages, I learned to cook a H'mong meal, I grew very close to many of the people living there. Honestly, stay here. It's clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, and has the added benefit of being socially responsible. So, enjoy the home-cooked communal meals, grab the house special - a Moji-lao - and meet the real people of Laos at the Daauw Home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is where you need to go if you are tired of being at a professional arms length from proper hotels. This is where you need to go to experience the Laos home. There are quite a few hmong people originally from a mountain village living here where many, many, sweet and adorable children. They will invite you to eat communal meals with them, include you in their family outings, and treat you like family. Honestly this experience was the most genuine and truly heartwarming experience I'd had. I miss them so much. That is the highest recommendation I can give.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChineseCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Want to experience laos but have only a couple of days? Want to really get to know the Hmong people first hand? Experience homestay without having to go to the mountains? Learn about the local music, take a ride to the local market, cook with the family? How about giving a bit back? Taking just a day off your trip to contribute? Paint a wall, teach a lesson, support a woman in need? If any of these appeal to you, Daaw's house has to be your first destination in Laos.
We could talk about the beautiful private secluded huts, the hammocks, the comfy bed, amazing views from your porch, but really the main thing is the opportunity for real encounter with the beautiful Laosians.
We spent remarkable 3 days at Daaw's house with our two young children. It was a life changing experience and one that will have an effect on our and their lives for ever. Thank you Lara and Ntsua!

Room Tip: Any of the huts would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I originally booked a night's accommodation ahead of going to The Gibbon Experience. I ended up staying on after my return to help out the project that also runs from here.

First the accommodation here:
Huts are basic but clean, each has a shower, a little verandah and a hammock. There's also free clothes washing facilities in the shelter, and free drinking water too. if you ask nicely, breakfast can be made available for a small charge - the best scrambled egg baguette you'll ever have!

Everyone at the Daauw House is really friendly, the staff are superb, friendly and there is a warm family feel to the place. At night the campfire is lit and everyone sits around chatting over a beer before bedtime. I found it a very welcoming place.

The temple can be a little noisy in the morning as the monks come together to chant, but you'll hear that wherever you are in Houay Xai. The fact that you're set back off the main road means you're a bit removed from the hustle and bustle and that is a great plus.

I found it a bit odd that someone would query the pillows here, this place is aiming to support and fund the project (details below) and is not about 5 star accommodation. Every penny goes back into the project that is run out of the Daauw House. Come and stay here if you want to give something back to the community, in particular to the H'Mong community of Laos.

The Daauw Home is part of the Project Kajsiab (http://www.projectkajsiablaos.org/Kajsiab/Homestay_Information.html), and the accommodation, the restaurant and the area downstairs were all built by volunteers passing through Houay Xai. Spend some time here and learn about the community you're funding through your stay. It is awesome what Lara and N'Zoua are doing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarvegetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in Daauw Home last November and did some volunteeringwork. This was the first place on our one year trip that really felt as home! We experienced how easy life can be. Every evening there was a delicious mountainmeal with natural vegetables from the mountains. The Hmong people are great. By having a diner or just a drink you can support this great Charity project and you'll be sure of a very special evening.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Iris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huay Xai
0 mi away
Thaveesinh Hotel
Thaveesinh Hotel
#1 of 8 in Huay Xai
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Houay Xai
Riverside Houay Xai
#3 of 8 in Huay Xai
141 reviews
0 mi away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#2 of 8 in Huay Xai
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 7 in Chiang Khong
302 reviews
0 mi away
Little Hostel
Little Hostel
#1 of 8 in Huay Xai
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hom Pho Guesthouse
Hom Pho Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Huay Xai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daauw Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daauw Home

Address: Temple Hill, halfway up stairs to the left | about 100 m on your right side you see the Daauw Home name painted on the wall, Huay Xai, Laos
Location: Laos > Bokeo Province > Huay Xai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Huay Xai
Price Range: $0 - $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daauw Home has beautiful wooden bungalows painted just halfway up the temple stairs to the left for 60,000 to 80,000 kip, shower and toilet inside, balcony with hammock and a relaxing terrace overlooking the Mekong River. There are also Tents for 40.000 kip. Because it is halfway up the main street only a five minute walk you feel you have actually arrived in the valleys and mountains of Laos. All profits go to their Woman Empowerment Activities for the Ethnic Minorities in the Mountains of Laos. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing