We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pelicano
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sol Cayo Largo(Cayo Largo)
$204
$183
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Playa Larga(Playa Larga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pio Cua(Playa Giron)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Guanaba's nest(Playa Giron)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,022)
Filter reviews
3,022 results
Traveler rating
1,073
1,273
467
133
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
1,273
467
133
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszun zunla yanalobby barpizzafishchickenentre mareskids poolkids clubplaya sirenabeautiful beachbeach restauranta la cartebuffet restaurantocean viewpasta barany questions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 3,022 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is our second time at Sol Pelicano:) We stayed also with another couple the week of March 21-28 and once again had an amazing time!! This place has never been anything close to a "mediocre" resort!! ... The grounds are beautifully well kept, the beaches are out of this world amazing and the rooms are perfect for what you need on a vacation that, believe you and i, you wont want to be in when you get to this paradise:) ... We were amazed and pleasantly surprised at how many staff remembered not only our faces but also our names...thank you Gelvus for being so accommodating, as usual. Thank you to Erik at the Lobby bar for putting up with us and all our "banana mamas" and "Erik specials" hahaha The staff at the Ranchon for preparing things just the way we like :) and all the entertainment staff who work hard and keep smiling. Once again had a great couple days on the scooters and going into the village. If you can, i definitely recommend the sunset catamaran cruise, Lobster to die for:) .
So many good things to say, not enough room lol ... I think its a perfect place to bring family or if you need a break from the kids...meets both needs. See you next year Sarah and Jeff room 4424 and Clinton and Christine room 4430

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4424...great view of pool, exactly half way from the beach and the lobby bar!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Director General at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014
Google Translation

Chere Jeffrey:

Nous sommes reconnaissants que nous avons choisi pour vos vacances à Cuba et dans les Caraïbes.
Ferons parvenir votre opinion à tous nos employés, qui se réjouissent de savoir qu'ils ont répondu à leurs attentes une fois de plus. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir répondu à leurs attentes et ont été des vacances inoubliables. Merci beaucoup pour votre fidélité Nous espérons vous voir bientôt de retour à notre hôtel Sol Pelicano.

Salutations sincères,

Alejandro Jaime
Directeur Général
Hôtel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at the Sol Pelicano on March 20th for a week. I expected a little better with all these positive reviews however, be warned, if it is your first time there, most of the reviews are based on nostalgia rather than facts.

The hotel is kept clean, very clean, you can see the maintenance crew hard at work. The rooms are "ok" however, the bed are just plain horrible, but that's fine, typical of what I experienced in Cuba in the past.

The food is absolutely atrocious. The Snack bar always had something unavailable and they will feed you the excuse of being "on an island and sometimes resources are limited", I've traveled to other islands in the past (San Andreas in Columbia to name one) and never had that problem. Out of the 11 people in our group, 6 caught stomach bug. Raw meat is NOT handled properly, same tongs used to manipulate raw and cooked meats. Hygienic-sanitary conditions are never great in Cuba but I've always managed, they're just horrible at the Sol Pelicano. Just be careful with what you eat.

The pools were nice however, it was not very clean and it is showing age.

Prepare to Tip! But that's like this in Cuba, we were almost "harassed" to leave our stroller to one of the chamber maids who was quite annoying.

Cayo Largo is just an amazing place to visit, just don't expect a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MattD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Director General at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear client
Thank you for choosing Sol Pelicano Hotel for your holidays. I have attentively read your comments. About your comment in terms of the variety of meals and restaurants Buffet, we work with the chef to reverse this situation immediately and improve the quality and variety of these. On behalf of all the staff accept our apologies and it will certainly not be repeated again.
I hope you give us the opportunity to visit us again to reverse your opinions, we will work according to each of your words because that is our commitment to satisfy our clients so they can go home with the taste of having made the journey of their dreams.


I hope to see you again here.
Best Regards
Alejandro Jaime
Director General
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My review is late, we stayed for one week mid Jan. Just gets better and better. Yes we are return guests and no, we do not do the 'au natural'. We return for the staff. Who, over the years have become very good friends. Some we talk to through email on a weekly basis, or we 'ring' each other to let them know we are thinking of them. The beach, staff and relaxing paradise are why we return year after year. Hola to our friends, yusmila, Gelvyis, Yunior, Yanni, gonzalus, Adolfo, raybert, Tania, Mikeal and his wife, Giovanni, Jezus, etc. We look forward to our one trip a year we get to take. We love everything about this resort. If they run out of something, we understand, it's an island, it happens. Loved all the ongoing upgrades the hotel is trying to do. See you all again next season. Xxoo your friends Scott and Angela Mifflin

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MIffermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Director General at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sol Pelicano hotel again.
We are pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful holiday and that you plan on visiting us again.

We will congratulate Yusmila, Gelvys, Yunior, Yanni, Gonzalo, Adolfo, Raybert, Tania, Mikeal, Giovanni, Jesus and all worker for contributing on your wellbeing.
We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Best Regards
Alejandro Jaime
Director General
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pelicano for the first two weeks of March this year. Returning for our seventh time it is a wonderfully familiar place for us to go. It's exceedingly friendly staff and professional management team ensured that our stay was problem free and thoroughly enjoyable. We have visited many other Caribbean locations and tend to compare them to the hotel Pelicano and environs of Cayo Largo and believe our valuable vacation time is best spent on the beach in Cayo Largo. Warm water, cool white sand and spectacular long walks are the true treasures of this oasis.
The hotel provided us with a clean, well-appointed room and balcony. Firm comfortable beds, refrigerator and a large bottle of water each day. Hot showers at all times.
A choice of food and beverages are always available from the various restaurants found on the level well-kept grounds connected by wide sidewalks and creative pathways. For us Breakfast was fresh eggs, fruits and breads. Lunch was a mid-afternoon break from the beach for a crispy thin crust pizza near the lobby bar. Dinner was always enjoyable, at either the buffet with fresh handmade pasta, the Ranchon for melt in your mouth fresh fish or the Yaya for a formal dinner served by the impeccable Gonzalo and his staff.
The entertainment staff are engaged, courteous and happy. The quality of the nightly entertainment showed the hard work and practice of the dancers and actors. The audience was included many nights and the results were humorous and at times touching.
I could include a hundred details and tips, regrets and exultation's, but every visit is a different adventure and the days fly by. Knowing that each sunrise is going to lead to another relaxing, no stress day, is basic to my beach vacation needs. I enjoy the positive points and flaws each day brings to the resort. The island’s mistress is huge ocean allowing the flow of goods to the Cayo at its will, not mans. Cuba is Cuba and that must be accepted when visiting. No butter today? Well maybe I’ll be able to savoir the taste of the bread itself. If you want to watch the Simpsons and eat 10 oz steaks I know a nice trailer park in Florida you might like.
This is is my first review of any resort and I only do so because I told my friends I would. What goes around comes around and during all of our stays, the Pelicano has always treated us as thier friend and family, thus deserving of our praise.
If i was a dishonest person I would prefer to slam the hotel so we could keep it all to ourselves....

BillC
Je suis prêt

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Director General at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Bill,

Thanks for your impressions about recently stay in Sol Pelicano. We will keep on working hard in order to improve the standard for clients who choose us as beautiful and relaxing destination. I’ll do reach your opinion to all our employees, which rejoice to know that they have met their expectations once again. It will be a great pleasure to receive you once again for enjoy a dream sea and paradise beaches. Thanks for your loyalty and we are happy to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Alejandro Jaime
Director General
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

this was our first trip to cayo largo and the sol pelicano as many others have said beaches are beautiful, food was good the only place weve had better food in cuba was at paridisus in holguin but it cost a lot more, the room was spotless , thank you marlen, the drinks are good and not too bad for lineups, before we went i emailed and asked for a second floor with king bed as we had our 29th anniversary there, we got room 5211 just what i asked for thank you customer service, we only went to nightly shows twice just not our thing, you can walk the beaches with no one bugging you to buy stuff we really like that, met some great people, we went mar 14 - 21, will be back but i think next year will be for 2 weeks

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubateamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Director General at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for choosing us to spend your vacation. We are glad to know we have been able to provide you with enjoyable experience. Thank you post posting in this site. Please is just ring the bell for us to look after another excellent holiday with us. We hope to see you soon here in Sol Pelicano Hotel.

With Warmest Regards,

Regards,
Alejandro Jaime
General Manager
Hotel Sol Pelicano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews