We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay for a 'luna de miel'”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for a 'luna de miel'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Due to the great location, nice rooms, clean pools and good food-options, this is a hotel that will meet your expectations if you're not the type of person that is bothered by families with children, and an over-the-top (but nice to see the stars) tower... We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the perfect ending of an unforgettable trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Iona_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    1,178
    413
    110
    59
See reviews for
598
1,477
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I booked a last minute getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Sol Pelicano from May 6th to May 13th. This was our 24th trip to Cuba but only our first to Cayo Largo. The price was right and after reading many positive reviews from other visitors, we booked Sol Pelicano. It is fantastic to be a five minute drive to the resort from the airport and check in was very smooth. On first impression, this isn't the prettiest resort you will find, it is getting a bit tired and the landscaping is sparse, but get beyond that and you will have a wonderful vacation. We were given a second floor room with an ocean view as we had requested through our travel agent. The room was very clean and we were well taken care of all week by our maid. The mini fridge was stocked with water and pop which was replenished daily.
The resort was not busy as they were in the last couple of weeks of operation before closing down for the summer months, so we were very pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of the food. The buffet, pizza outside the lobby bar, and the two a la carte restaurants were fantastic for all meals with a great selection of food. Now the three things that keep us going back to Cuba are first the beautiful people, the fantastic beaches, and the Cuban culture and music. Once again, we were not disappointed. All of the staff were wonderful, friendly people, but I would like to mention a few; Ernesto and Julian at the beach restaurant/bar, Angel and Alberto at the pool restaurant/bar, Fidel and Yosvany at the lobby bar and Raybert in the buffet restaurant were all exceptional. The big wow factor is some of the most beautiful stretches of beach you will find anywhere! As I mentioned we love Cuban music and there were excellent live musicians playing around the resort on a daily basis.
We will definitely return to Cayo Largo again and would highly recommend the Sol Pelicano for a relaxing vacation.

Bill G.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberval, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Being home away from home. A very professional and caring staff for their customers. Merci is the only word that come to my mind.
Gracias a las criadas. Gracias a los cocineros .. Gracias a todo el personal en general. Hope that the translation of Google work ok;-)

Merci encore Alain/Nelson

Room Tip: If you can. Try to be as close as you can from the beach. This is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been to Cayo Largo 7 times over the last 5 years, and wanted a change this year and so Sol Pelicano was our choice. Our check-in went smoothly, but our room was not what we expected and we were successful in changing it the next day, as we prefer the second level but omitted to request it in the first place. Our room was clean, great ocean view, the housekeeping staff was diligent and were greeted with forever smiles from the gardeners and maids.
We are avid divers, and this year again, we were not disappointed. As we are savvy to the area, we came prepared, that is lots of sunscreen, DEET for the “no see-ums” which worked it’s wonders, and brought the good old “HEINZ 57” to have with our favorite fries. The food was good, with adequate variety, the buffet restaurant has a nice layout, has the feel of a more intimate setting and is well dressed (tablecloth, utensils, décor) depending on the meal hour. We tried the international a la carte and enjoyed the meal and ambiance.
We had the pleasure of meeting Alejandro who was quite visible during our 2 week stay, ensuring quality service, food presentation/service and interacting with guests.
We plan to return in 2014, likely in April, and will be requesting a second level room with a balcony (as some rooms have no balcony) in either block 43 or 49 (rooms 15, 18, 19, 20 or 21 works for us!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Joanne R:
Thanks for that special comment in tripadvisor. We are very proud for having the opportunity to have you with us and reached your expectations. That’s why we expect you to give us the chance to have you again in November when Sol Pelicano open its doors to face the high season 2013-2014, we ask you to contact us before you come to give you all the assistance you deserve.
Best Regards
Director
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pleicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Reception was friendly and very helpful, sometimes you needed to advise on solutions to a problems like changing rooms for us. All their staff seems to have a lot of problems with English, and even some French. The maids cleaning the rooms are very picky with their gifts, she left a gift of reading glasses in my room, she could have given to people that might have need of them.
The rooms were small, and so were the bathrooms. The rooms are always clean and tidy, you only get 1 bottle of water and nothing else, even if you ask.

The beach is beautiful, very hard to walk on, especially if you have difficulties walking. The waves are very high and dangerous for any child or invalids, you can go to Playa Sirena. But be careful, get in front of the line to and from the boat, Stay in line, even when they tell you it would be only fifteen minutes till the next boat, when actually five minutes. Then coming back to the marina for the bus, the boat was a half an hour late to pick us up, then the busdriver refused any passengers, the tram driver refused us , but all of a sudden the taxis started arriving. If you do go make sure you have 2 pesos per person for the taxi. I was so incensed with this event, I went directly to the reception and demanded to see the manager, instead I got the customer service office, the ladies were very patiently listened to me with our limited language with each others tongue. They made me feel that my feelings were important to them and they tried to fix it.
The buffet and the International restaurant were terrible. I never had so much eggs at breakfast before, but nothing was palatable. Some one sould take the salt barrel from all the restaurants, there's salt and pepper shakers on the tables, there were a lot of older tourists there, and even if people were all heathy, fit specimen, their blood pressure and water retention would be lethally tested after eating at any of their restaurants. The waiters in the buffet were wonderful, Gustavo even bought Ketcup for our breakfast out of his on pocket/
Mosquitoes galore, especially at nite, BRING the insect repellentsss. They fog the hotel twice when my friends and I were there, they must be using fake stuff, didn't work.
The representative from TMR was very abrupt and prejudice against anglos,was never at our hotel when she was suppose to be.
Can't believe this hotel is #1 out of 6 hotels in Cayo Largo, I would hate to see the other hotels.

Room Tip: Bring your own faceclothes, insect repellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boopsryder3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear boopsryder3777
You chose for your vacations one of the most marvellous places with a 99 % of repeater clients every year. We are very sorry because we couldn’t reach your expectations. I can assure you that we will be working in every point that you mentioned to improve all our services.
We would like you to give us the chance to have you in Cayo Largo again and change your opinion about us.
Sol Pelicano will open in November to wait for the next high season 2013-2014, so we expect that you are one of the first persons to come and open the resort with us.

Best Regards
Director
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pleicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent staff and night entertainment, beach activity, very clean rooms and pool. Efficient and wonderful smiling employees. This was our 7th trip to Cuba but first time to Pelicano. We come to this country for the weather, the beach, the sun and for the wonderful people and not for the food, nevertheless the food was hardly acceptable, maybe it was due to low season or something else. Overall we had an excellent time and an excellent weather.
Long live Cuba!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jackybat:
It is a great satisfaction for us to reach your expectations during your first visit to Cayo Largo.
Your comment in tripadvisor gave us the sign that we are in the right way.
Our main work is to satisfy our clients. The difficulties to operate in this special island test us day after day. I will communicate your words to each of our workers because they are the ones who made your vacations unforgettable. Cayo Largo is a natural paradise, perhaps the unique with beaches completely desert and quite.
We are waiting for you again next November when Sol Pelicano opens its doors waiting for the 2013-2014 season


Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I and my husband spend the Christmas holidays here. It was our fourth time at Sol Pelicano. The rooms are very clean and maintained every day. The buffet has something for everyone....I really don’t understand people that complain that they don’t eat well here. Thanks to Vladimir for the best pizza ever. He’s always open to suggestion for the topping of the pizza. We love the staffs, very helpful, and always smiling and they remember you from previous visits. Thanks the Lord for the lobby bar...best coffee con leche ever.
Everything is very smooth there and I credit that to the manager, Alejandro, how is the head and heart and of the place...his everywhere, always ready to help. Thank you for making sure that we enjoy our vacation!!!
One single complain, the mattress are very hard, so I hope that next time there (December 2013) they have foam mattress covers. If not, I would bring one with me. 2 weeks is a long time you don’t sleep comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anca a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Gerente at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Estimated anca a:

Thank you very much for choosing us. Your comment is source of inspiration for our continued work. Satisfying our customers is the main objective. We take into account your signage with respect to the mattresses.
Hope to see you on your next vacation to enjoy the natural beauty and good service of Sol Pelicano.

Best Regards
Director
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pleicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
174.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,243 reviews
175.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
361.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,468 reviews
175.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelicano

Property: Hotel Pelicano
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pelicano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing