We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Our Second Home”
Review of Hotel Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To Our Second Home”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Cannot wait to get back to all our friends at Sol Pelicano, Cayo Largo.
Starting with Victor and Jesus in the dinning room, Yailin who managed our money on the front desk, Sera in the store, Roberto on the beach who maintained our beach chairs everyday.
Migel who shows us his skills with his sand carvings, to Yamile on customer service that looked after our stay and had us the return guests parties. Alexandro the hotel manager who keeps everything running top notch.
Let us say the beaches are the best as we have been at other locations in Cuba. There was always plenty of fresh meat, fruit and vegetables and egg omelettes for breakfast every morning.
Lets not forget the 10 days out of 14 that we had pizza and wine for lunch a favourite with us.
We were treated as if we were relatives and not guests at the Sol Pelicano.
We will be back next year at the end of Jan. and early Feb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adams89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Estimated :

Thanks for your valuable comments about our resort and the great staff It is a placer for us to know that you has spent a wonderful vacation and we are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations.
We sincerely welcome and hope to see next Jan. and early Feb with us.
Contact in advance to welcome and support you deserve.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    1,208
    427
    115
    63
See reviews for
617
1,507
69
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Suite facing the sea. Beautiful view from all windows. Food was excellent as long as you eat what the Cubans do best: fish & seafood, chicken, beans, rice, salads, fried plantains, crepes, breads, pastas, pastries and fruit! The calamaris in tomato sauce at lunch were fantastic. This place is a true paradise on earth. Don't miss out on visiting Abuela Augustina, the gardener who grows the decorative plants for the resorts on the island. She keeps a baby crocodile in a pen, which you can photograph (a peso is welcome!). She lives near the old stone tower just to the right of the theatre at the resort. Ask the staff -- they'll give you directions.

Alejandro, please note that soap in the public bathroom dispensers would be a good thing! There never was any, and people were getting gastric upsets (I work in public health). All those dirty hands and buffet-style dining just isn't right!!! (And how do the staff wash their hands??? Some questions are better left unasked...)

Don't buy the Caribbean Night sortie unless you like tacky themed birthday parties for children. We were totally misled by our TMR rep to think we'd be seeing an Afrocuban dance performance, where instead we were "entertained" by some people dressed up as pirates. It was embarassing for me & for them.

The sunset catamaran cruise is excellent, though. Definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Facing the sea: 43 and 49 blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 630Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Estimated 630Michelle:
It's great to know who has spent a great vacation in our hotel enjoying the full Natural beauty of Cayo Largo.
It is our main objective and Should Achieve the greatest joy, relaxation and satisfaction in our guests.
We have taken the necessary measures in all areas regarding soap in the public bathroom.
If you want to return, please contact us in advance so we can give you the assistance you deserve.

Best Regards,

Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

April 5th -12th 2013. Here are the facts that may help you choose this resort or not.People go to this resort for the STAFF and its great location! We met people that have been there up to 7 times, that itself is a huge statement! 5 mins from the airport, stunning beach on an island you don't have to worry about crime or traffic! I don't think there is a safest place you can spend a week! I saw negative comments about the water sport, the food and the rooms and service, so let me give you my point of view.Yes, it is true, for water sports you must go to the marina (15mins) free transportation is provided. It's actually a great idea and much better that way! You can swim, float on the water at the beach without having to worry about some surf board, peddle boat or catamaran running you over! Yes, its true the beach at the Sol Pelicano can have waves, so the fact that there is no water sport there is much safer and better! The beach is still better than Cancun, and less dangerous, the water is really good with little seaweed but it is a fact,it's not as calm as Varadero, but Paradiso beach has very calm water (15 mins),beach has no shade whatsoever, something Cuba should think about, for that reason we avoided that beach. Sirena is a very large beach,you are better to just stay at Sol Pelicano, at least you can eat and drink there and the beach is just as good there. Sirena has rocks at the bottom, at Sol Pelicano you can walk into the water without worrying you might brake a toe, it's all soft sand!There is plenty of shade and chairs. Food; the buffet is not that bad, negative comments I saw, forgot to take in account the price they were paying & that you are in Cuba. Yes, you might not get bacon, peanut butter, ketchup or butter often, but neither will you find those in many countries, if you have traveled! Just bring your own. Cuba is not a culinary destination. It is quite edible, plenty of fresh produce and choice and they do their best with what they have. We even had gourmet cheese three nights in a row. Use your imagination, I took some fresh parmagiano & salmon one night and took it to the pasta bar, asked him to put it in my sauce, I had the best pasta dish! Many of us, would make Philly sandwich! Yes the a la carte is not really worth it but its a change and if you are still hungry you can always go to the buffet after! Best grilled mahi-mahi (lunch) is at the beach bar, many will say the calamari is good (I don't eat it), thin crust pizza beside the lobby bar is great and the only place in Cayo Largo you will find made to order pizza! Great espresso and cappuccino coffee at the Lobby bar ( a rare find in Cayo Largo) and service is great. I saw recent comments about the service, well if you have an attitude & you don't tip them, you deserve to wait, these people work 12 hr shift 20 days in a row for 45 pesos a month, unlike other resort where its ok not to tip, those resort are lot more expensive than Cuba, in fact you may not think you have to pay for tips, believe me its included in your cost, but its not the case here. When you go back home, most people tip the waitress and waiters anyway, so why wouldn't you in Cuba? They are not stress like we are, a little wait might not kill you! If you read comments the service is bad there, it is rare and only a few of the staff have no smile and may be slow but here in Canada, no one is perfect either! All the staff names you see comments on Tripadvisor are real. Make notes of these names, because they are the creme de la creme staff there! You need to look at the staff in general and nothing beats this place! Even the gardeners have a smile. The rooms are clean, just don't expect Javex clean! You spend little time in your room anyway, our cleaning lady was fantastic &very good.The towels, yes its true don't expect fresh beach towel everyday, or fresh towels in your room, it just wont happen, but they try their best and you have to go often to see if they received new towels. But if you dry your towels on your balcony everyday you will be find, as your towel don't really get that dirty since beach chairs are provided. Many eco places ask you not to change your towel everyday, so just do your part and don't expect new towels in your room. The massages at Sol Pelicano are amazing, and believe me, after Bali it is hard to find any massage good! Jacqueline was amazing and very good, best massage ever and for $25 you cant go wrong! I had one every day! The sunset cruise is really worth it, great excursion, there aren't that many in Cayo Largo. I didn't do the dolphin, I am against dolphin in captivity, he looked so sad...hope they free him one day. The sol Pelicano in Cayo Largo is your best value for your dollars, 100%, don't forget you are getting a very fair value for what you are paying and more, you will want to return just like we do. If you don't than you should spend more $, go to another destination, its the best you'll find in Cayo Largo! Also, if nudity bothers you, you should stay at any other resort, because the Pelicano offers both lifestyle. It is not a 4 star like they say but you are not paying for a 4 star either, we go often to resort that cost $2500 each a week, and I would say overall I prefer Sol Pelicano and cant wait to return! My negative comment; don't ask for wake up call, you'll miss your flight! The mattress are very hard and basic ok for a week, any longer I would bring a foam mattress cover! Bring your unwanted clothes, shoes, luggage etc, you will make a lot of people happy!To management; you should make smoking and non smoking section in the beach bar, pizza and pool bar as well as a non smoking section at the beach. Not very pleasant to eat beside smokers. You should also provide sand buckets for their cigarette at the beach, this beautiful beach is polluted with cigarette! You should also offer massage near the ocean, in special huts where it is still private with the breeze and the ocean, right there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadastealady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Estimated Canadastealady:

Thanks for your valuable comments about our resort and the great staff It is a placer for us to know that you has spent a wonderful vacation and we are pleased to know that we fulfill your expectations.Take into account your comment regarding the smoking areas.
We hope to see you again in our Hotel to enjoyment of our beautiful beaches Cayo Largo will be always an unforgettable experience.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur, Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We totally understand why people return to Pelicano time and time again, and this trip only being our second to Pelicano, we have vouched to return a minimum once a year.

If you don't have an understanding or knowledge of the Cuban culture, lifestyle, politics of the state and expect/demand 5 star Beverly Hills service at Cuban prices, then this place is not for you, so please don't spoil others trips by being: high maintenance, pushy, demanding, chronic complainers or unreasonable non-tippers.

Most of the reviews summarize Sol Pelicano very accurately.

YES - most of the people are beyond amazing.
YES - there are very reasonable and healthy food choices for everyone.
YES - the buffet is not a short order restaurant which delivers your food steaming hot to your table.
YES - the grounds and property are tired and no longer "brand spanking new".
YES - there are a few mosquitos and flies (and crabs/iguanas/cats and pelicans too)
YES - the beaches are amazing and the best we have ever experienced.
YES - there is not an endless supply of beach towels
YES - there is an enormous waste problem with tiny plastic cups going into the garbage (pls bring reusable insulated cups with you)

If you are looking for a week (or two) to shut down, kick back, forget about the rat race and the go-go-go modern civilization mind set, meet some amazing fellow travellers and fantastic Cuban people, all at a very reasonable budget, then Sol Pelicano is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PatNLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Gerente at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Estimated PatNLaura;
Thank you for choosing Sol Pelicano for your holidays, we are pleased to know that your expectations were met.
Thank you for your loyalty and we extensive their words to all our staff, who are Cuban characteristic sympathy of dreams made ​​their observations. Cayo Largo is an little island but with a nature like no other.
We sincerely welcome and hope to see next time with us.
Contact in advance to welcome and support you deserve.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are going to be returning for the 3rd time. The rooms are very clean and maintained everyday. The buffet has something for everyone, the table are covered with damask tablecloth, and the dishes really spotless. Cleanness is very important to me, and it is to my 4/5 standards. We ate calamari and fish everyday for lunch in the restaurant by the beach, it was very good news tasty. The coffee shop is open 24/7 which let me awaken anytime and enjoy one of the best capaccino made by the friendliest staff at 4or5 a.m. NOW THAT'S NOT EASY... The only complaint was we arrived at 11 am and did not get a room until 2 or 3 o'clock. The resort was not full so I felt a room could of been given to us, leaving that early u need to be able to stretch out.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the pool were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danica432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Danica432:
We do appreciate your comments and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we enjoyed time our services and the beaches of Cayo Largo.
We note your comments to better our services every day, sorry you had to wait to enter her room, as our check-in is at 3.00pm.
We always try to do my best to give them their rooms ahead of schedule.
We see it again for the fourth consecutive time. If you want to return, please contact us in advance so we can give you the assistance you deserve.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were at The Sol Pelicano from March 29th - April 5th. We travelled with 2 teenage girls - ages 15 & 16. A request was made through our travel agent, at the time of booking, for adjoining rooms. We also emailed the hotel to confirm the adjoining rooms. Upon check in we asked the front desk clerk three times if the rooms were adjoining. She assured us that they were. The rooms were not adjoining and furthermore there was another room in between ours! This was not acceptable to us but the hotel refused to change our rooms, claiming that the hotel was full. There was a whole bus load that checked in when we did and we find it difficult to believe, based on our request, that they could not have at least given us rooms that were side by side. We contacted customer service and although they were very friendly, they were of no help to us. We were told...tomorrow! I'm sure you can understand our concern having two young girls, who were inexperienced travellers, not being with us! On the evening of our second day they offered to move us to rooms that were at least beside each other and at that time informed us that the hotel did not have any rooms that were adjoining. The only rooms they offered were on the third floor and since my friend is waiting for knee replacement surgery, this was not a possibility for us. Had we known that there were no adjoining rooms we never would have booked this hotel. We arranged to meet with the manager, through customer service, to discuss this situation and some other concerns that we were experiencing. We did not have high expectations going into this meeting but felt it necessary to voice our concerns. Alejandro, you totally impressed both of us. You listened to us respectfully and assured us that you would personally look into our concerns and you did! We were disappointed with the buffet restaurant. When we arrived for breakfast each morning around nine, the food was cold and was not being replenished. This also happened, if you were to arrive later, for lunch and dinner. When we asked for food items we were told there was no more. After our meeting with Alejandro this changed considerably. His presence, in the buffet, was very noticable. At times he was seen actually replenishing the food himself! We are in agreement with other rewiews we have read regarding the flies on the food and the bartenders who ignore you, if you are not tipping. The beach towels were a problem most days and were often not available. We felt sorry for the"towel man" as it was not his fault and he was so pleasant to us. The weather, while we were there was perfect. It is a beautiful beach and even with our negative experiences, we were able to enjoy our time in Cuba. The hotel is fortunate to have Alejandro for a manager as we believe his motivation and willingness to listen to customers and act on their concerns will lead to more improvements in the future. Thank you to our hard working waiter Roberto, in the buffet restaurant, who looked after us so well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Marilyn H:
You chose a wonderful place to vacation, as you said Cayo Largo is known for its beaches.
Thank us know your experiences so that we can reverse what is within our reach. We reviewed and analyzed every detail to which was referred to in the commentary, on which we will work to meet the expectations of our customers.
We hope to see you again on Sol Pelicano with his family and also contact your remarks were followed with great interest.

Is you decide to visit us again, please contact us as soon as possible to give you the service you deserve.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
+53-45248333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only one word describes Cayo Largo....PARADISE.
The resort is simple, yet clean...decent food...love the pizza bar...and lunch by the the pool...great restaurant right at the beach...also a buffet style restaurant for all meals, and an Italian syle restaurant that needs reservations. Buffet wait staff was phenomenal, and always had our table waiting, with drinks! All the staff from the wait to the lobby to the animation to the bar...were fantastic.
Pool is lovely and always lots of seating.
The beach is out of this world...powder sand (like talc)..and clear fairly calm water.
You can also visit a few other beaches by "mini train", not too far off, that have the water sports - and STARFISH...water is calm like your bathtub....
Buildings are low rise and the overall layout of resort is easy to get around and everything is close.
The island is quiet, but the animation staff will tell you how and when and where to go for a little more excitement.
The island is very natural and that is why it is so beautiful. We will be back...and the price is amazing for what you get out of this holiday. I have travelled to Varadero, and it doesn't come close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susgucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Estimated susgucci:

What I can say your words! Thank you, we are proud to know that you enjoy this heavenly lugan, with white beaches and pristine nature.

extended his words will do all our staff are the ones responsible parties for you to feel at home.

waited again here on Sol Pelicano to enjoy a vacation like no other.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime
Hotel Sol Pelicano
Cayo Largo del Sur-Cuba
director.general.spl@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
288.1 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,372 reviews
174.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
109.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 64 in Varadero
7,005 reviews
175.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,022 reviews
112.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelicano

Property: Hotel Pelicano
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Largo
#3 Family Hotel in Cayo Largo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pelicano 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing