We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful trip”
Review of Hotel Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been travelling to Pelícano for more than ten years, sometimes two or three times a year. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this is the place. The island is all about the beach. The staff make it an amazing holiday, whether it is your first trip or your twenty first. There is always fresh fish at the Rancho overlooking the ocean. The barbecue at the pool was very good. The food always seems to be improving. Yoel, along with Roberto and Gonzalo ensured our meals were always perfect. Our room had been recently renovated and was excellent. The staff ensure that you do not ever wait. These two weeks ensured we will again be returning in the new year. Nancy & Dave, Ontario

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Client

Thanks for your positive reviews about our Hotel and the staff. We are pleased to know your expectations were filled once again, hoping to see you as soon as possible . We wish you a Happy New Year.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,878)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pelicano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 2,878 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

where to start the beach is just wonderfull with white sands where you can walk for hours nude or not people very respectfull. the ranchon our favorite restaurant not really for the food but for the staff just wonderfull espacially Yanni and Noel two gentleman, with those guys you feel just like home.the buffet is simple but good.the animation staff is very friendly.the clanless of the room is real good always little surprise after your maid pass.You can count on the staff if you have a problem ready to do their best.It was our 3rd time at the pelicano just don't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank apple692048597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear customer,
We are glad to know that spent a pleasant stay at our hotel Sol Pelicano, enjoying our unique beaches of Cayo Largo and our services. Thank you very much for bringing us their insights and comments, which are always well received and treated with the greatest interest in improving sleep quality and expectations of our customers.
Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have vacationed in Cuba for the last 10 years in a row. The last 3 I have gone to Cayo Largo - twice to Hotel Playa Blanca, this year we tried the Sol Pelicano. A very short trip for us, only 4 nights. We flew Canjet from Toronto Dec 17 - 21st.

The thing I love the most about Cayo Largo is the fact that there is no bus ride after the flight. We take a cab from the airport and are checking in 10 minutes later. Impressed with the organization at the front desk. Rooms already assigned, key cards activated. We paid for a safety deposit box ($2/day), signed our names, and off we went.

I wont go into great detail about Cayo Largo itself, as I have in previous years. Instead, just a few observations about the Sol Pelicano as this was our first visit there.

Rooms are worn. Bit of a musty smell when we first entered, but not bad. Air conditioning worked very well, as did the mini-fridge and TV. We had room 4102, right beside the pool and buffet, which we found very convenient. The hotel was maybe half-full, so noise was never an issue. Hotel provides a large bottle of water, shampoo, body wash, box of kleenex, umbrella.

I liked the size of the pool at this resort. 1m in depth throughout, lots of chairs (new ones!) and shade, and a seperate kiddie pool with a playground. Also some covered double beds around the pool for napping. There is a jacuzzi tub which is actually hot (usually cool water at Cuban resorts).

Food was tasty and plentiful, though we didn't sample everything. We ate breakfast in the buffet (egg station, selection of meats, cheese, cereal, pancakes, fruit, juices, etc). Lunch we ate at the snack bar (Zun Zun) by the pool. They have a barbeque mid-day with whole fish, chicken, sometimes pork or rabbit. The snack bar itself has hamburger, hotdogs, fries, sandwiches (tuna, ham & cheese, vegetarian). Late in the afternoon we would find ourselves at the pizzeria beside the lobby bar. Delicious thin crust!! We went to the buffet for dinner every night. Huge selection of food with a meat grilling station (chicken, pork, beef, fish), a pasta station, and a carving station (roast chicken, pork, etc.). Everything else in between. We sat at the same table every time and became friendly with our waiter, Victor. Fantastic at his job, he always had our drink order ready before we even sat down. I miss him already, lol!

What impressed me the most about this resort in particular was the staff. I know everyone says the staff is so great wherever they go in Cuba, but this is the first time I have found staff to go out of their way to learn your name, smile when serving you, and ask everytime if there is anything else you need/want. Most of the staff at this resort speak english very well, and maybe the extra confidence they have in this language allows them this friendliness? Just a thought :)

PM me if you have any questions and I'll do my best to answer :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank zimmyNorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was my 4th trip to Sol Pelicano but definitely not my last. The staff (not to mention the incredibly cute hotel mascot labrador Havana) are always genuine, friendly and respond promptly to any requests, ie. towels, taxi, etc.. From the beach you get the views of the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. Cristal clear water and velvety soft sand. Make sure you make a day at the Playa Sirena or Playa Paraiso. No all inclusive service there but there is a small restaurant and the beach seems to go on forever. Calm clear turquoise water and star fish galore. Great for photography enthusiasts. The food is basic but good. Pasta bar and pizza were my favorite. There was always a good selection of food, no one went hungry. Have lunch at the Ranchon on the beach for grilled fish or chicken and a wide selection of salads or fries while overlooking the incredible view. Always a table available or a small wait of a few minutes .Alejandro the GM is always there and he will go out of his way to cater to you. He is an asset to the hotel as he makes you feel like part of the Pelicano family and keeps the staff on their toes, always with a bright smile. He organized a repeat visitor dinner at the pool with lobster, wine and entertainment. Everyone had a great time and were so appreciative of the thought and efforts the staff and Alex put into this evening. Much appreciated!!! The ZunZun bar at the pool is also open for lunch, Alberto oversees operations there and again makes you feel welcome. We rented a jeep to travel to and from the main town (marina) to come and go as we pleased, but you can also take the taxi for 2 pesos for this 5 minute ride. There you will find a disco where you can party with the hotel staff, who are more than willing to teach you to learn a few new steps and take in the authentic Cuban music and culture. There is a turtle refuge with a donation of 1 pesos, a bank, a clinic, a rum and cigar shop and a small museum. Overall, the hotel is clean, staff go out of their way to please and food and drinks are plenty. If you are looking for great beaches, relaxation and great people this is the place. Keeps me going back again and again... Make sure you say Hi to Alejandro (Alex), he will make you feel more than welcome. Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElaineCharles1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear customer
We have read your comments and suggestions about our hotel services and the attention of workers. We are comforted to know that despite the difficulties you keeps the mood of coming back so, next time we'll try to provide you with better services.
Best regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Although this resort is in need of some re-vamping and is a little as you would say rough around the edges it is authentic and inviting. The staff went well and beyond to make us feel welcome and made sure our needs were met. I must say that i love the cuban culture and people. They are genuine and authentic and always friendly.
Dont expect amazing food people! This is cuba. The pizza was my favorite and as usual i stayed away from any red meat.
The beach was absolutely stunning!! WOW . Pelicano has the best beach out of all the resorts on the island. You could walk down the beach and keep going for at least 1 hour.
If your in the party mood then dont come here. Cayo Largo is an island with 6 resorts so it doesn't have a crazy nightlife. There are nights where you can go party in the Marina where there is the disco and all the staff of all the resorts tend to join and it is lots of fun.
Overall there was more positive aspects then negative. I loved the rustique features of the island and the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steph514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear customer,
We are glad to know you spent a pleasant stay at our hotel Sol Pelicano, enjoying our unique beaches of Cayo Largo and our services. Thank you very much for bringing us their insights and comments, which are always well received and treated with the greatest interest in improving quality and expectations of our customers.

Best Regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I arrived in April of this year. Overall I had an alright time. I will seperate my review into positives and negatives

Positives:

- The resort was clean, our rooms were clean, maid service was good.
- I just LOVED the pizza, it was delicious! I had it a minimum of 2 times a day, it was great.
- The entertainers were very good, always doing activities. Unlike previous resorts i went where the activities never hapened as planned, this resort activities are always happening, and the entertainers are good at motivating the sun lovers to leave their chair
- The grill beside the pool was really good. The grilled chicken, the rice, the pork, all of it was great.
- The grill at the buffet was really good, they grill you chicken beef and pork. They put a vegatable medley, and it tastes good.

Things I did not enjoy:

- This is a place for the older crowd or families. Because of the much older crowd it lead to my next problem...
- The resort was boring after dinner.,, There was not much to do at all, If you wanted to experience any kind of night life i strongly suggest going on the bus to the club area on the island if you have interest in doing something at night, My issue with this is your drinks cost money, the bus costs money, so it can get costly. The resort itself literally has nothing to do, no one is out and if you want to sit in the 24 hour bar and have a drink, all the lights are off lol, its pitch black. My mom dropped hey money on the ground and couldnt find it because it was so dark lol, we had to find someone to turn the lights on.
- For those of you who are english speaking, you may be the only ones ha. It is mostly spanish speaking on the resort, The week i was there it was mostly people from argentina. I dont knw if they just dont speak any english or they do and they just dont want to talk to me, but they seemed ot not be big fans of us while we were there lol
- Other than the grill that i mentioned above, the buffet was not very well done. Im not saying the food at the resort as a whole was terrible, the a la cartes were decent, the pizza and grill was great, but the buffet was not overly good.

We got this resort for a really good deal. We enjoyed our stay, but it wouldnt be somewhere we would return at the moment. Maybe I will return one day with my own family and kids but as a 20 year old guy, wouldnt be my choice again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank CambridgeKyle_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, Gerente at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear client:

Thanks for your comments, we´ll work hard to improve our services and to reach all our custumers expectations.We´ll take into account all the details you describe to offer a better service at everytime.

Best regards
Manager
Alejandro Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The resort is tired, it is rough around the edges it is authentic, it is natural.

This private island is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy. We loved that you can go anywhere on the whole island with no wallet and drink and eat as everywhere is all inclusive and included as all hotels are owned by the same people.

Watching the turtles come on the beach at night to lay their eggs was amazing as was all the giant crabs that came out at night around the hotel gardens.

The food isn't good, very basic but I still gave this place a good rating as it is pure unspoilt paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank PinkDiamondDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
112.1 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,443 reviews
174.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
175.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,082 reviews
51.0 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#1 of 13 in Playa Larga
209 reviews
112.8 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelicano

Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range: $110 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pelicano 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing